We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfy stay”
Review of Aberdour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

It was my boyfriend who picked this hotel, and I hadn't checked the site or the area beforehand.
The lady who checked us in was incredibly welcoming and helpful in helping us to settle in.
Probably had the biggest bed I've ever slept in, and the evening meal was delicious.
if you're looking for a warm welcome, great food and a really nice trip away, I'd wholeheartedly recommend this spot.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LauraAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Aberdour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Popped into the Aberdour Hotel for an evening meal and a drink. My wife had sea bass, scallops on a bed of cous-cous which she really enjoyed. I had breaded haddock, chips and salad. Deserts were delightful too - it's a joy to eat food cooked to such a high standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Based upon excellent reviews, we booked this hotel as a treat due to it being my good ladies first long distance walk 8 miles with back packing kit was sufficient for a first attempt, we arrived in good time and were delighted to be upgraded to a Courtyard room, which was spacious and peaceful. After sitting availing ourselves of fine wine whilst soaking up the rare glorious Scottish sunshine in the courtyard, we booked then readied for dinner.
Personally I chose the Venison and am pleased to state that it was the best Venison tasted after 24 years of living and travelling Scotland's coasts and interior.
We will definitely stay here again when in this area, without hesitation we would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in the Aberdour area, either on business, hiking, golfing or holidaying.

Room Tip: The Courtyard rooms are at the rear of the hotel therefore more peaceful than those near the road at...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinP1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Decent room, excellent nights sleep despite being above the main road. The bar was busy and I'm not surprised given the menu which is varied and innovative. The food did not disappoint either with the "posh" fish and chips being a highlight.
Breakfast was fairly basic though tasty and well cooked.
Friendly and helpful staff throughout

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sarahlearmonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was in the area for work for 2 days and had this place recommended to me by a work colleague who has eaten there several times. I stayed in one of the rooms out the back, up the steps from the courtyard. It was very spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. There were a few issues such as broken window catches and the shower was small but overall they didn't detract from the experience. The real highlight was in the main hotel where the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food is unusual, varied and of exceptional quality for this type of establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Away for a night with work and needing a room I chose the Aberdour Hotel based on some of the reviews.

Driving in to the village it is easy to drive past the Hotel, and it took a couple of passes to find a parking space.

The staff were very friendly on arrival, I wasn't left lingering at reception and was efficiently checked in and shown to my room. The room was fresh and clean, if a little dated. But is was quiet and perfectly comfortable and overall good value.

Rather than stay in the hotel I went for a game of golf on the lovely local course which I would recommend for the views over the forth, particularly the front 9.

On return I had a meal in the bar which had a varied and interesting menu. The food was tasty and and the beer well kept.

The TV in the room was pretty tiny and the wifi signal not great, but it just encouraged me to get a good nights sleep and after a hearty breakfast in the morning I felt refreshed and ready to go.

If you are looking for premier inn printout rooms, or luxury hotels, this isn't for you, but somewhere with a bit of character and a friendly welcome, I would fully recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PeterB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

AberDOUR's mainstreet is a bit, as is the exterior of the hotel. We were taken through the courtyard behind the hotel and up old stone stairs into a splendid spacious room. Much better than anyone would have expected from the outward appearance of the hotel. We ate in the bar with the locals. Very full, so the locals know a good thing too! The food was the same experience as the room - much much better than expected from outside appearances. Breakfast was fairly standard, but well done. Lovely walks along beside the golf course and down to the delightful harbour. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Overall, a real find. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdour
0.1 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
182 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
287 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
820 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdour Hotel

Address: 38 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel focussing on fresh, local food and providing a warm welcome to residents & diners alike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aberdour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdour Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing