We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a fantasic location”
Review of Aberdour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The beautiful location of the hotel and the warm of the people service has made a nice stay in Aberdour. Comfortable beds, clean room, great food and the beautiful coastal surround and gardens. We will repeat for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karlillius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Aberdour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

From my first step inside Aberdour Hotel I was treated to the best friendly experience. The staff were more than that, they were "family". I happened to be experiencing some difficult and distressing issues at that time and these good people gave me the fullest, most compassionate support. Their efficiency must also be mentioned, staff was able to fully organise a change of international flights, transport to Edinburgh airport etc. On a lighter note - I was most impressed by the cleanliness, the very comfortable bedroom and the facilities offered within the hotel. The food was amazing and the menu was world class - unbelievable in a small village hotel. If I were to return to the area again I would definitely not be able to pass by without staying at least a night or two. I have the fondest memories and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone - I mean anyone!

Catherine Jones, Queensland, Australia.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a seaside haven. A very pretty village with lovely beaches.
The hotel is on the main road so easy to find. It is very friendly with a great menu. It is not pretentious just comfortable.
We had a courtyard bedroom which was large with a king sized bed. We had a good bathroom and we were very happy in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are spacious
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Candida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As the Aberdour festival was on when we arrived unknown to us food was not being served after 5-30 as they were setting up for the musicians. We arrived 5 minutes after this but thanks to Kate (think that was her name) she allowed us to order and we were glad she did as the food was 1st class.As we were staying in the area we went back the next night and were greeted by the same happy lady and the food was just as good

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tonyholland233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Small bedroom in a small hotel in a small seaside village in Fife. It was all very much what we expected, but we were very impressed by the food and the friendly and helpful staff, which increased our rating.
Could have done with more lighting, bigger mirror and hooks/storage in the bathroom'

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennyr604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Someone else's hair in bathroom sink in bath and hand basin on arrival. Shower did not work but was fixed following day. Was not told of breakfast times or check out when we arrived. We had to leave for Edinburgh by 7 which they knew but this seemed to be a problem so we had to leave late just to get breakfast. Service was very slow at breakfast despite the fact they knew I had to get to work over the bridge. The owner was heard to call an elderly lady a "pain in the a...." in the kitchen when she changed her breakfast order. Very unprofessional - customers give him an income and should be treated with respect. Sheets were not changed in the 6 nights we were there, used towels remained in the bath and not replaced with clean ones.
The food in the restaurant however was good and the service there also good. However the hotel is overpriced for the standard on offer. Better value for money in a b&b in Central Edinburgh so would not recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonNZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerAH, Owner at Aberdour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Well ! "Sometimes it just all goes wrong" It's a shame you didn't mention the extra attention we gave you and your daughter. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

Regards Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We ate in the hotel during our stay in the village enjoyed a very good meal. Their version of tapas involved dishes from around the world including a Brazilian fish soup, Southern fried chicken leg, Moroccan lamb etc We had a selection of six dishes and they were all very good making it a fun and different dining experience. Would have to agree that the décor could do with a freshen up though.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank foxton_russian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdour
0.1 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
183 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
287 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
823 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdour Hotel

Address: 38 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range: £75 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel focussing on fresh, local food and providing a warm welcome to residents & diners alike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aberdour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdour Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing