We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Forth View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forth View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb views!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very much enjoyed a one night stay at this hotel. The dining experience was wonderful particularly if you love fish dishes! All the courses were so well presented particularly the desserts. The 'hamper' starter was certainly a talking point of the evening. There was such a relaxed atmosphere from all the staff.

The view from our window of the lights of Edinburgh and the adjoining coast line was an interesting end to the evening. In the morning the view over the Forth was even more spectacular in the sunshine. Overall a super stay in every way!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandlekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from yet another lovely stay at Forth View Hotel. This was a treat for my birthday and it certainly was! We enjoyed spectacular views of the Forth from our bedroom window, enjoyed some drinks out in the beautiful garden and then enjoyed an outstanding lunch in the hotel's restaurant, Room with a View. We have dined here before and each time is even more impressive than the last. All dishes are carefully presented with colours and flavours that show some real research and thought has gone into it. We also appreciated the service, the friendly staff and the calm atmosphere. Everyone is very attentive and I would like to give a special mention to Pauline and Hannah who always go out of their way for their guests. Thank you so much, we will be back quite soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shosho75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just home from a 2 night stay in this lovely hotel overlooking the Forth towards Leith,Edinburgh and East Lothian. Beautiful setting and very relaxing watching the boats and ships sailing up and down the river. All the staff in the hotel were welcoming,friendly and very helpful. And Misty the Border collie was a star! Excellent breakfast set us up for the day and we spent one day in Aberdour visiting the castle,the harbour and having a look in the antique/gift shops and the next day at Falkland,another lovely place with a beautiful palace. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurapaterson786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a lovely little haven in a brilliant setting. Everyone there is friendly and attentive and make you feel very welcome.the room we stayed in had amazing views across the forth,which was relaxing in itself as we sat in comfy chairs admiring it with a gin and tonic. Food in the seafood restaurant was possibly the best we have ever eaten and we would recommend it to everyone. If you want a unique experience, good service,smiling people and delicious food (both dinner and breakfast) then forget posh hotels that are all the same, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front with amazing views and great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cara009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My hiusband and I spent an extremely pleasant evening at the Forth View Hotel for our wedding anniversary. We travelled from Edinburgh and arranged to be picked up at the station in Aberdour and taken the short and then very steep single track road down to the hotel. We couldn't have picked a better time for our stay as the weather was beautiful. On arrival we were shown to our seaview room, which we had paid extra for, and were very glad that we did, as the views across the Forth to Inchcolm Island, the Forth bridges and Edinburgh were outstanding. We had a pleasant early evening stroll along the coastal path into the town and back and sat in the garden with a gin and tonic whilst perusing the menu. The restaurant specialises in seafood and we chose the starter for two people which was a delightful selection of seafood - crevettes, crab soup, salmon mousse etc and arrived in a picnic hamper. This was followed by the half lobster with salad, chips and two sauces and the baked sole with saffron potatoes. We shared a great cheeseboard and finished off with espresso martinis. We also had two bottles of wine. The total bill for two was £120. We felt this was great value for such good food. The dining room although small was full and with the sun shining through the windows and the very charming service from two young waiters we had a great meal. We took the second bottle of wine to our room and sat on the two comfortable armchairs admiring the views across the Forth and listening to the seals.

Our room had a double bed and single bed and the bed was very comfortable. A small flatscreen TV and tea/coffee making facilities were provided. A hairdryer is provided. We also had a very large bathroom. This isnt 5 star accommodation but very clean and generous. We awoke to the most beautiful morning and lay in bed with coffee admiring the views. Breakfast was excellent - we had full scottish but kippers, scrambled egg and smoked salmon are also available along with a selection of cereals, fruit, fruit juices etc.

We so enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning. This is a charming family-run hotel in an amazing location on the headland with beautiful gardens.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMcK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stopped here as an emergency and sneaked into the last available double for three days. We were told it was not ensuite and it was said to be a small double. The room was actually a generous size and had everything. Extra pillows tea/coffee etc plenty storage space and a TV we did not use. Room was warm so perfect excuse to open the window and hear the water lapping as you drift off to sleep. Breakfast was better than most modern hotels we have used. Plenty of fresh fruit with different berries. Husband had the full cooked breakfast every day - thoroughly enjoyed and excellent service throughout. All staff were very helpful and friendly.
Look forward to returning.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Camille J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

A wonderful cosy hotel in a stunning setting. Excellent food at award-winning "Room with a view restaurant" and equally high-quality breakfasts. A sheltered garden area with the waves lapping at the shore.

Very clean and comfortable rooms with beautiful views across the Forth to the Edinburgh skyline. Great for watching ships go by from your window and bird-spotting. Leave the car behind and catch the train to Aberdour, as the friendly owners will collect you and your luggage from the station, and do everything to make stay go smoothly.

The hotel is located right on the Fife Coastal path and there are lovely beaches to the east and west, with a choice of cafes nearby. We had a fantastic time and can't rate the Forth View Hotel highly enough. Thank you to Hannah and her Mum.

Room Tip: Ask for the ensuite with sea view - it's got armchairs right by the window - and a luxury renova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdour
0.6 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberdour
371 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
183 reviews
7.8 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
6.4 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forth View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forth View Hotel

Property: Forth View Hotel
Address: Hawkcraig, Aberdour KY3 0TZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Forth View Hotel Aberdour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing