We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, wonderful views and friendly service”
Review of Room with a View

Room with a View
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Aberdour
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Room with A View, Seafood Restaurant situated within the Forth View Hotel in the coastal village Aberdour, Fife. Enjoy succulent scallops, wholesome halibut & Fresh Langoustines and many more delicious seasonal seafood dishes cooked to exquisite perfection. Whilst also enjoying the small but special menu you can enjoy the spectacular views of Edinburgh and the river Forth whilst listening to local Classical Guitar player Nick Rees on the sound system (who also plays live on occasion). Every seat offers a view of Edinburgh or Aberdour Harbour or climbers on the Hawkcraig Cliffs. On a sunny day it is nice to enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the garden area or eat Al fresco
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, wonderful views and friendly service”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

After enjoying several meals here, my wife and I booked this restaurant for a family celebration. Our guests were delighted by its quiet charm and wide range of choices on the menu. Many thanks to Hannah and her staff, whose understated efficiency helped to make this a truly memorable occasion.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    58
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hugely Special - A real hidden gem”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This Mothers Day treat needed to be more special than last year when my mum was battling with cancer. Room with a View is a restaurant she had always wanted to visit but had never told me, it was pure good fortune that after reading the reviews on here I decided to book a table for us both.... and boy am I glad I did.
The food was astounding, the view beautiful and the service excellent.. especially with the ride to and from the car park, a huge bonus for us as mum who finds it difficult to walk for long. There were lots of personal touches, coffee and fudge in the lounge, Misty the dog to keep us company and we were each given a primrose as we left.
We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“You couldn't get closer to the sea”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

There's a lot to like about Room With a View at The Forth View Hotel
1. The location right beside the sea, with fantastic views in one of our favourite spots on the Fife coast. We'll be back for that alone.
2. The friendly, helpful service
3, Relaxed atmosphere
4. The really interesting menu, presented in a different way
5. The lovely art work of the local area and the hotel
6. Fresh home-made bread to start with
7. The fact it's so close to where we live!
But on the down side it's not the cheapest locally by a way (e.g. compared to The Wee Restaurant) and although I read they are replacing chairs etc, one member of our group found the chair very uncomfortable and the decor is more shabby than shabby chic, (IMO). The drive down is also not for the faint-hearted. As regards the food, a couple of the mussels in my risotto starter were really gritty, although the dish had a lovely flavour and we all thought the potato wedges had a definite pre-cooked taste to them. The Eton Mess was just delicious however and the meringue perfect!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank arrbee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenage
1 review
“We had a delicious meal, beautifully presented and the service was excellent.”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The setting and view was stunning. The food was imaginative, delicious and beautifully presented. The service was excellent. I loved it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ignore the bad reviews.Fabulous Place.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

First of all I would like to take the opportunity to say that the person who has written the poor review for this restaurant is dillusional and clearly does not know good food,service etc when they recieve it.
After being encouraged to book a meal by friends we eventually did.We were def not disappointed.The service and food was def the best Fife has to offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Room with a View also viewed

 
Aberdour, Fife
 

Been to Room with a View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing