We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Anstruther, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SYDNEY01
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Myself and 3 friends had a girls weekend away at Chesterhill House. The property was beautiful with amazing views back over Anstruther. We spent a lot of time sitting in the conservatory looking out at the Isle of May. This is my second stay here, the last time being with my husband and 2 children. I would love to come back again with either friends or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlslade
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great destination, Anstruther is perfect base for exploring the beautiful East Neuk, Chesterhill adds to the pleasure.”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a delightful, generous, ground floor apartment with a safe walled garden with only the Firth of Forth on the other side. Uninterrupted views across to the May Isle and of the shore line around the harbour. Rockies at the golf club ( good affordable food) is a few steps away as is a small sandy beach ideal for youngsters.
In a few minutes you can walk round to the harbour, crossing on the old stepping stones when the tide is out, to enjoy award winning fish and chips.
The apartment is right on the route for the Fife coastal walks. Although if the kids get tired of walking check out the Land yachting on St Andrews West Sands: this was the highlight of our activities... "the best thing ever" says Cam age 11. (check out 'Blown Away').

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry1976
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Second visit to Chesterhill :-)”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I previously stayed at the Chesterhill apartment in August 2012 with my nephews and decided to take my Mother-in-law for a Birthday treat. There were four of us, we had a very relaxing short break, and once again would not hesitate in recommending this as your choice of accommodation in Anstruther. My Mother-in-law's own words were that it had exceeded her expectations. We dined at the local Golf Club (almost next door!), which I would highly recommend for "high tea" - excellent value and beautiful food. Debbie was also very helpful during our stay. Thanks again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. Glad you all had a good time and thanks for visiting us again. You are always very welcome.
Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel L
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautifully appointed apartment with lovely views”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We really liked the mix of old and new in this apartment. There was lovely original features in the old part of the building (complete with open fire) but the added advantage of a modern kitchen/conservatory -(complete with heated floor)added on. Everything you could want was provided. It was fabulous seeing the sea just over the garden wall and it was only a two minute walk to a good beach and to the coastal walks. I would certainly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style of the apartment and view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
88Gillian...
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
“Clean, tastefully decorated ground floor apartment with stunning sea views”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Thank you Debbie for allowing us to stay in your beautifully decorated and immaculately clean home. We found the house to be well equipped with tasteful furnishings,comfortable beds and a much appreciated powerful shower (something I have found sadly lacking in many vacation properties). The house has a bright, modern feel without losing its charm or period features. Debbie your thoughtful touches throughout the apartment makes it warm and welcoming; by day, we sat in the conservatory watching the waves crash on the harbour wall and by night, we sat toasting our toes by the coal fire. Anstruther and all its amenities are on the doorstep. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect property or perfect location to spend our week's holiday..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea views from conservatory
Liked least: It was dark when we arrived and the lock box was in the back garden. A sensor light would have been helpful.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the apartment kept you warm and comfortable. Hope you visit again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen_Kin...
West Calder, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely garden apartment all on the one level, three large bedrooms and an impressive cosy lounge. Everything you could possibly need in the well stocked kitchen/conservatory – a lovely place to sit and admire the views of the harbour. Decorated and furnished to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. It’s a stone's throw away from the golf course, where we had a nice meal at the Rockies Restaurant. High quality accommodation, stocked with a selection of books, DVD's and games. The perfect place to bring in the New Year. Owner was very helpful and we will definitely be back. Would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole apartment was very spacious
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Looking forward to your return at some point in the future.
Best wishes. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin C
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“An outstanding property in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 31 December 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We absolutely loved the gorgeous beach-side location, it was within easy walking distance of the harbour and local shops. The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable and the garden beautiful. It was a child-friendly property with everything you could possibly need, a real home from home. We can't fault this property in any way or recommend it enough. I just wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its homely feel
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2013
Hi. Thank you so much for posting this review. It is very much appreciated and we hope that you return one day in the not too distant future. Thanks again. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing