We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hideaway in the East Neuk”
Review of The Dreel Tavern - CLOSED

The Dreel Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful hideaway in the East Neuk”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Nipped in for lunch whils we were up travelling in the area. Wonderful charming bar with equally friendly enthusiastic staff.
A good selection of real ales were on offer, as well as the usual suspects.
Food was excellent, the chowder looked extremely tasty, and the better half thoroughly enjoyed it.
As frequrent visitors tpo that part of the country, we will be back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XGourmetdinerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    76
    16
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely food. We had the sea bass and the chowder. The chowder was gorgeous. Lovely staff too. Ideal place for a quiet, romantic meal. Thank you x

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graham n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Visit to Dreel Tavern”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Booked table for 4 persons , as we are on holiday in Anstruther however we have eaten there many times but tonight the food arrived only to find that the choice we had chosen Japanese Curry with Nan Bread and rice , was very limited on the plate, enquired why only too be told that this meal was very popular and the kitchen had limited supply of this choice therefore the smaller portions . The price was rather expensive for what we got !! Doubt we shall go back during our holiday.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinclair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice little pub”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Staff were very warm and inviting. Good selection of ales available and was impressed to see the young guy behind the bar made the G n T the proper way!
We didn't have time to eat, but the food, on paper, sounds very unusual, almost everything has some sort of booze in it, seems to be a lot fusion stuff going on. I have heard that it is very good though!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissScarlett90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A lucky find on our walk from St Monans to Crail and a fab place to stop for a pint. This is everything a pub should be. The young man behind the bar was lively, fun and very helpful, even let one of our party crank out a few tunes on the piano much to everyone's amusement. It is old, quirky and we loved. Oh, and the beer's good too. Perfect.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FoodandTravel-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dreel Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing