We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bank - Anstruther
Ranked #1 of 10 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a couple of nights at the Bank in Anstruther this week. We had bought an on line voucher for two nights bed and breakfast as well as dinner on the first night.
I believe the place has recently changed hands and been renovated. They have added a beautiful new glass dining room overlooking the harbour. What an improvement!
Our room, also overlooking the river, was recently decorated and spotlessly clean, with a great view from the window. (see photograph)
All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good too.
All in all, we felt we had had a great wee holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin Ewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    94
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
63
242
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Visited here for lunch and glad we did the menu is extensive and the prices very affordable. The staff are friendly and attentive and the food tasted excellent. I would highly recommend this for something to eat. The new conservatory was a bonus as well as this overlooks the Firth of Forth and Anstruther so the views were superb as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickdekikkerfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
793 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Looking around for a different place to our usual haunts on a Friday we dropped into The Bank in Anstruther . The new dining room has been built looking over the river mouth at the West End of the Harbour . With one of the best views out over the water. The Extension is only been open for 5 weeks and does not disappoint. A very enticing Lunch Menu with our party very taken with the quality and service . The price doe not break the bank ,definitely be back this is very high standard . We had a look at the a la Cart menu and were suitably impressed

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigluscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crail
Level Contributor
197 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Have never stayed here but pop in frequently for coffee and food. Just want to say the staff always make you feel so welcome and are so friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them, the place always looks so clean, food is good, view amazing and a very good atmosphere, good comfortable seating and they make children very welcome. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cossyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Bank had wonderful newly remodeled rooms with HUGE bathrooms and nice views of the coast. A great beer garden/patio out back and LOVELY breakfasts were the highlights. Wonderful staff as well, very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Can't believe I forgot to review The Bank. We stayed there in late May 2013, I think in Room 1 - anyway, it was a huge, quiet room at the end of the corridor with a lovely view over the harbour, with an equally huge and beautifully reonvated bathroom. The price was exceptionally good value for the quality. The only downsides is that breakfast is the pub, which feels a bit odd, and reception is at the bar and you have to go out onto the street and in through another door to get to the rooms. But the staff were helpful and kind, and none of that was really a problem. We found an on-street parking place quite easily, a 2-hour space with no restrictions after 6.30 - it might have been harder if we'd been staying more than one night. It was nice to explore Anstruther and have a different experience to over-priced St Andrews!

Room Tip: Ask for harbour/sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkLoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a great place to stay, newly refurbished in a modern style, friendly staff and good food choices for breakfast. It's next door to the public bar area and restaurant with its own separate entrance. Rooms at the back have a sea view but avoid a room facing onto the road as traffic and noise prevents a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.5 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
277 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 10 in Anstruther
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 10 in Anstruther
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bank - Anstruther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank - Anstruther

Property: The Bank - Anstruther
Address: 23-25 High Street East, Anstruther KY10 3DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bank - Anstruther 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bank is situated with one of the finest views in Anstruther where the Dreel Burn merges with the Firth of Forth. The Bank offers something for everyone's tastes whether it’s from our Bar Lunch and Bar Supper menu, or a drink from the largest selection of real ales, draught beers, wines and spirits in the area. The Bank was refurbished this year developing into a family run hotel with quality and service in mind, with leather seating, open fires, 2 large screen TVs showing sky entertainment proving a big hit with locals and visitors alike. Homely, traditionally home cooked food prepared from quality local produce served in our Restaurant area and also in the Garden Bar. The large mature gardens offers what has been described as a "Sun Trap" surrounded with substantial stone walls for privacy. The beer garden is open when weather permits and offers a children's play area to keep all the family happy!!!We are only 9 miles from all the famous golf course in St Andrews, but we also have Carnoustie, Kingsbarns and Charlton on our Doorstep. If your here to sightsee then a day out to Edinburgh is a must or why not have a days walking following the "Fife Coastal Path." Our Guest Rooms: We have a eight en-suite guest rooms that can be converted into singles, twins, doubles and we have one family room sleeping two adults and two children in adjoining bedrooms. All of our guest rooms have been decorated to the same standard throughout and provide what can only be described as a "Pure luxury." We have sky entertainment, Large Screen TVs, Hospitality Trays, complimentary Shortbread & Mineral Water, Hair Dryers, room Safes & Fridges and a range of Bath Soaps. We offer our rooms on a bed and breakfast basis with breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bank - Anstruther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bank - Anstruther Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing