We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel just avoid football team celebrations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bank - Anstruther
Ranked #1 of 9 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
oldham UK
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great hotel just avoid football team celebrations”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in room No 1 which is huge and has great views over the harbour and beer garden.
Our first night sleep was disturbed at 1.00 in the morning by the local football team shouting at the top of their voices and singing loudly whilst banging on tables. Rang down to the bat and the poor manager admitted she could not stop the noise but she would try. Local residents were out shouting and asking for the noise to stop. It eventually did at 1.30. Next morning we discovered the owner and his son were mainly to blame for the unruly behaviour. Wr were offered a free night as compensation so we agreed to stay for the remainder of our booking.
The breakfast is the best you could hope for, and we ate in the restaurant twice and the food was lovely
All the staff were really nice and very professional.
We hope the owner takes a leaf out of the staffs behaviour and thinks of his paying guests

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are best Room No 1 is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevekathybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    103
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
66
254
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a music gig. Everything was great but the room we had was at the front of the pub which really was a shame because the views from the back over the harbour are stunning. So if you go ask for a room with a view! Breakfast really nice and really friendly staff. Would recommend

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We decided at short notice to have a night away. We arrived in Anstruther and on a previous visit we had looked at The Bank. To enable us to find out if there was availibilty we had to enter a busy bar which was quite off putting. The staff at that point became very helpfull we booked in and we were escorted by a very nice friendly girl to our room which was next door. The room was dressed to a very high standard. The room was spotlessly clean with toiletries available for the use of guests. Towels were soft and fluffy. We ate in the restraunt for our evening meal which was true value for the money. The red mullet was the best I have ever had and the steak came on a stone which was a first time experience for my partner. Breakfast was also super so a big thankyou and yes we will be back.

Room Tip: No Parking but free parking was available a few minutes away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A super place to stay. I would be a frequent traveller to the Fife area and have stayed a quiet a variety of establishments, some good, some awful, some now closed down! When I've been in Ansturther I've nearly always popped in to this place for a drink. Sky sports behind the bar is normally a good enough reason. I had never stayed in The Bank as it is normally above my business allowance, however, this time I found the the rates were to suit, so I booked immediately. Definately wasn't disapointed! My ground floor room, number 6 was fantastic, very big, very clean, very comfortable. I didn't get a free drink as I see in one of the other reviews and now I feel a bit left out! In actual fact I want for a wander down along to the harbour and got some lovely fish and chips in the Anstruther Fish Bar, which is certainly worth a visit by the way. Anyway, back to The Bank, breakfast was super, bagels, eggs, bacon and black pudding, I mean, what's not to like, all served with a smile by the lovely Emma. Great Scottish hospitality altogether!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkdoggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Went in and had a fish supper high tea. Bad move.

The fish was small, it came with some chips, cooked from frozen, coleslaw, red onion, peas and a withered salad. This is food from the 1970's that I never thought existed.

The toast was the cheapest bread you can get, the scones, just de-frosted and the selection of cakes were at best tasteless.

The tables were crammed together so tightly that you had to get up every time someone at the adjacent tables wanted to move.

What a waste of money

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capitaltraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Only stayed one night, wish it had been more.

The rooms were modern and clean. The highlight was the adjoining bar. We were given one free drink with our stay. The drinks after were reasonably priced and tasty.

Parking could be an issue during the heavy season. However, we found a wee lot just a few blocks away

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just stayed 2 nights in room1 and could not fault anything about our stay in this hotel. The room with a sea view had an enormous bed, hairdryer, tea and coffee with walkers shortbread, a safe and fridge with complementary bottled water. The bathroom was enormous with a spa bath and shower and lots of toiletries. We had dinner both nights and the food was amazing, we were served by very cheery helpful staff. The breakfast was so good it filled you up for the rest of the day. We also enjoyed a few drinks in the bar and were well looked after their too. We would recommend this hotel it was the best.

Room Tip: Ask for room1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.5 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
6.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,197 reviews
10.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#4 of 9 in Anstruther
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 9 in Anstruther
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bank - Anstruther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank - Anstruther

Property: The Bank - Anstruther
Address: 23-25 High Street East, Anstruther KY10 3DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bank - Anstruther 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bank is situated with one of the finest views in Anstruther where the Dreel Burn merges with the Firth of Forth. The Bank offers something for everyone's tastes whether it’s from our Bar Lunch and Bar Supper menu, or a drink from the largest selection of real ales, draught beers, wines and spirits in the area. The Bank was refurbished this year developing into a family run hotel with quality and service in mind, with leather seating, open fires, 2 large screen TVs showing sky entertainment proving a big hit with locals and visitors alike. Homely, traditionally home cooked food prepared from quality local produce served in our Restaurant area and also in the Garden Bar. The large mature gardens offers what has been described as a "Sun Trap" surrounded with substantial stone walls for privacy. The beer garden is open when weather permits and offers a children's play area to keep all the family happy!!!We are only 9 miles from all the famous golf course in St Andrews, but we also have Carnoustie, Kingsbarns and Charlton on our Doorstep. If your here to sightsee then a day out to Edinburgh is a must or why not have a days walking following the "Fife Coastal Path." Our Guest Rooms: We have a eight en-suite guest rooms that can be converted into singles, twins, doubles and we have one family room sleeping two adults and two children in adjoining bedrooms. All of our guest rooms have been decorated to the same standard throughout and provide what can only be described as a "Pure luxury." We have sky entertainment, Large Screen TVs, Hospitality Trays, complimentary Shortbread & Mineral Water, Hair Dryers, room Safes & Fridges and a range of Bath Soaps. We offer our rooms on a bed and breakfast basis with breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bank - Anstruther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bank - Anstruther Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing