We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bank - Anstruther
Ranked #1 of 9 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed bank holiday sunday and loved this hotel. Unfortunatly could only get booked for 1 night as would loved to have stayed for another. Room was lovely and clean, modern and had lovely view. Had meal in hotel on the night as fish and chip shops were jam packed but we wernt disappointed. Very good standard of food. Lovely breakfast. Friendly staff. Will definatly be staying again, one of the best hotels ive stayed in. No onsite parking but there is a free carpark close by.

Room Tip: All rooms look to be a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBear457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

although was staying for one night as previously stayed in seascape, lower largo (which was good too!) - it was a living room cum bedroom and we were so relaxed staying there for the evening. staff were pleasant upon arrival and at breakfast time - although we had anstruther fish supper - a braw place to stay overnight really

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deefiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we had a mum & daughter weekend rooms were lovely& ,clean view was amazing staff friendly and food brill thanks. Short walk to harbour best stay I have had in a hotel. best view is from the back of the hotel you get the sea view so peaceful you wont be disapoited.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the back they have sea views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianemailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed overnight Friday 23 May, as we were meeting up with relatives in Anstruther the next day. We really enjoyed the stay.
From booking to check out the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. I'd booked the room via a website booking agency - but I had emailed the hotel re booking a table in the restaurant for dinner - got a quick reply and yes, table reserved for the requested time. Check in was smooth, the room was beautiful - and absolutely spotless - a lovely bathroom, big fluffy towels, loads of space, very comfy bed and a real 'quality' feel without being OTT - We have paid more than double the price for similar quality in 4* hotels, so for B and B this was exceptional value. Dinner was pretty good - posh pub food basically and a big and varied menu to choose from. The views from the restaurant and the garden at the back are gorgeous. Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked to order - but huge (I couldn't finish mine!) . The only downside was that we were in a front facing room so noise from the bar and the pub across the road pretty grim until 2 or so in the morning - otherwise a near perfect overnight break. We'll be back.

Room Tip: try and book a room at the back overlooking the harbour on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyeGhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Visited as husband was attending conference in St Andrews, room was very clean and comfortable,large bathroom. Reception and service first class. Food both at diner and breakfast were lovely .We enjoyed it so much that we have booked again in August for 2 nights to attend family wedding . Thanks

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Holimoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in room No 1 which is huge and has great views over the harbour and beer garden.
Our first night sleep was disturbed at 1.00 in the morning by the local football team shouting at the top of their voices and singing loudly whilst banging on tables. Rang down to the bat and the poor manager admitted she could not stop the noise but she would try. Local residents were out shouting and asking for the noise to stop. It eventually did at 1.30. Next morning we discovered the owner and his son were mainly to blame for the unruly behaviour. Wr were offered a free night as compensation so we agreed to stay for the remainder of our booking.
The breakfast is the best you could hope for, and we ate in the restaurant twice and the food was lovely
All the staff were really nice and very professional.
We hope the owner takes a leaf out of the staffs behaviour and thinks of his paying guests

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are best Room No 1 is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevekathybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a music gig. Everything was great but the room we had was at the front of the pub which really was a shame because the views from the back over the harbour are stunning. So if you go ask for a room with a view! Breakfast really nice and really friendly staff. Would recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.5 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
6.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,317 reviews
10.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 9 in Anstruther
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 9 in Anstruther
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bank - Anstruther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank - Anstruther

Address: 23-25 High Street East, Anstruther KY10 3DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bank - Anstruther 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bank is situated with one of the finest views in Anstruther where the Dreel Burn merges with the Firth of Forth. The Bank offers something for everyone's tastes whether it’s from our Bar Lunch and Bar Supper menu, or a drink from the largest selection of real ales, draught beers, wines and spirits in the area. The Bank was refurbished this year developing into a family run hotel with quality and service in mind, with leather seating, open fires, 2 large screen TVs showing sky entertainment proving a big hit with locals and visitors alike. Homely, traditionally home cooked food prepared from quality local produce served in our Restaurant area and also in the Garden Bar. The large mature gardens offers what has been described as a "Sun Trap" surrounded with substantial stone walls for privacy. The beer garden is open when weather permits and offers a children's play area to keep all the family happy!!!We are only 9 miles from all the famous golf course in St Andrews, but we also have Carnoustie, Kingsbarns and Charlton on our Doorstep. If your here to sightsee then a day out to Edinburgh is a must or why not have a days walking following the "Fife Coastal Path." Our Guest Rooms: We have a eight en-suite guest rooms that can be converted into singles, twins, doubles and we have one family room sleeping two adults and two children in adjoining bedrooms. All of our guest rooms have been decorated to the same standard throughout and provide what can only be described as a "Pure luxury." We have sky entertainment, Large Screen TVs, Hospitality Trays, complimentary Shortbread & Mineral Water, Hair Dryers, room Safes & Fridges and a range of Bath Soaps. We offer our rooms on a bed and breakfast basis with breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Bank - Anstruther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bank - Anstruther Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing