We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Has a Certain Style!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bank - Anstruther
Ranked #1 of 10 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St.Andrews
Level Contributor
342 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“It Has a Certain Style!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Bank's recent refurbishment has brought it up to being a serious contender for attracting both guests and passers through, seeking a pleasant atmosphere, and good food, without excluding "Locals."
It's attractive and very clean outside appearance does much to add to this delightful fishing village.
I was pondering on that "Certain Style" as I sat in its delightful Beer Garden, which fits in so well among the surrounding buildings.
You have to walk down to it, which just goes to show how much digging there must have been to fit all in. It's rumoured that smugglers used this neck of their woods, to do what smugglers do. It's very close to the once rather splendid Smugglers Inn (and which surely could do with its own refurbishment!)
There's something distinctly "continental" about The Bank, particularly at its back; and in the "brownness" of the pleasant Bar.
The Dining Room is very elegant and there are 8 en-suite rooms, if you're seeking accommodation.
I was merely seeking a coffee. If I have a criticism, it would be that the £2.50 could well do with being served with a square of Tablet, or some such added "sweetie."
Just a suggestion. All else looked like very good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    94
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
63
242
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights and found staff and hotel were above our expectations. Had a room overlooking the water which was a bonus. Breakfast was lovely. Position excellent, for walking to village and coastal walkway. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A seaview is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorro16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We are frugal senior citizens who would rather invest in longer trips over luxury hotel rooms, but we loved The Bank. The staff was friendly and helpful and our Room #1 was huge with a comfortable bed, table and chairs and lovely views. I succumbed to the 'spa' bath after nothing more strenuous than photographing puffins on the Isle of May and towels warmed on the towel rack were a nice surprise. Breakfasts were exceptional. I was served perfect poached eggs twice - the best I have ever eaten. We also received sample portions of nearly everything on the menu: kippers, smoked haddock, porridge with cream...and everything was excellent. Our appreciation extends to the village of Anstruther, which we enjoyed exploring and the residents who were friendly, helpful and loquacious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly1548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed bank holiday sunday and loved this hotel. Unfortunatly could only get booked for 1 night as would loved to have stayed for another. Room was lovely and clean, modern and had lovely view. Had meal in hotel on the night as fish and chip shops were jam packed but we wernt disappointed. Very good standard of food. Lovely breakfast. Friendly staff. Will definatly be staying again, one of the best hotels ive stayed in. No onsite parking but there is a free carpark close by.

Room Tip: All rooms look to be a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBear457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

although was staying for one night as previously stayed in seascape, lower largo (which was good too!) - it was a living room cum bedroom and we were so relaxed staying there for the evening. staff were pleasant upon arrival and at breakfast time - although we had anstruther fish supper - a braw place to stay overnight really

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deefiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

we had a mum & daughter weekend rooms were lovely& ,clean view was amazing staff friendly and food brill thanks. Short walk to harbour best stay I have had in a hotel. best view is from the back of the hotel you get the sea view so peaceful you wont be disapoited.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the back they have sea views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianemailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed overnight Friday 23 May, as we were meeting up with relatives in Anstruther the next day. We really enjoyed the stay.
From booking to check out the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. I'd booked the room via a website booking agency - but I had emailed the hotel re booking a table in the restaurant for dinner - got a quick reply and yes, table reserved for the requested time. Check in was smooth, the room was beautiful - and absolutely spotless - a lovely bathroom, big fluffy towels, loads of space, very comfy bed and a real 'quality' feel without being OTT - We have paid more than double the price for similar quality in 4* hotels, so for B and B this was exceptional value. Dinner was pretty good - posh pub food basically and a big and varied menu to choose from. The views from the restaurant and the garden at the back are gorgeous. Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked to order - but huge (I couldn't finish mine!) . The only downside was that we were in a front facing room so noise from the bar and the pub across the road pretty grim until 2 or so in the morning - otherwise a near perfect overnight break. We'll be back.

Room Tip: try and book a room at the back overlooking the harbour on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeGhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.5 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
6.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,978 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 10 in Anstruther
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bank - Anstruther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank - Anstruther

Property: The Bank - Anstruther
Address: 23-25 High Street East, Anstruther KY10 3DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bank - Anstruther 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bank is situated with one of the finest views in Anstruther where the Dreel Burn merges with the Firth of Forth. The Bank offers something for everyone's tastes whether it’s from our Bar Lunch and Bar Supper menu, or a drink from the largest selection of real ales, draught beers, wines and spirits in the area. The Bank was refurbished this year developing into a family run hotel with quality and service in mind, with leather seating, open fires, 2 large screen TVs showing sky entertainment proving a big hit with locals and visitors alike. Homely, traditionally home cooked food prepared from quality local produce served in our Restaurant area and also in the Garden Bar. The large mature gardens offers what has been described as a "Sun Trap" surrounded with substantial stone walls for privacy. The beer garden is open when weather permits and offers a children's play area to keep all the family happy!!!We are only 9 miles from all the famous golf course in St Andrews, but we also have Carnoustie, Kingsbarns and Charlton on our Doorstep. If your here to sightsee then a day out to Edinburgh is a must or why not have a days walking following the "Fife Coastal Path." Our Guest Rooms: We have a eight en-suite guest rooms that can be converted into singles, twins, doubles and we have one family room sleeping two adults and two children in adjoining bedrooms. All of our guest rooms have been decorated to the same standard throughout and provide what can only be described as a "Pure luxury." We have sky entertainment, Large Screen TVs, Hospitality Trays, complimentary Shortbread & Mineral Water, Hair Dryers, room Safes & Fridges and a range of Bath Soaps. We offer our rooms on a bed and breakfast basis with breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bank - Anstruther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bank - Anstruther Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing