We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobody could NOT not love staying here, we hated leaving”
Review of The Spindrift

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spindrift
Ranked #2 of 9 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Nobody could NOT not love staying here, we hated leaving”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This place is perfect, well thought out, welcoming for guests and I can not imagine not loving it. The honor bar in the guest parlor was ingenious! (such a great idea but we didn't encounter one anywhere else) The guest parlor itself was a great amenity. Beds great and our room which did not have a view, was still comfortable and beautiful and pleasant. Breakfast was also great. Do not think twice about choosing to stay here. It's a definite thumbs up. The biggest drawback is that you have to leave.

My exact notes: Gracious manse with spacious rooms, guest parlor, lovely lovely lovely!
Team of house maids who tackle the cleaning as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bravo-cinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    24
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
126
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This B and B had everything you could wish for, except that it is not within easy walking distance of the town ( not their fault!) I have two odd criteria for B and B, Marmite on the breakfast table and a hook on the back of the bedroom door, both admirably fulfilled! The rooms were very warm , well furnished ( if ours was a trifle small - but then the ensuite had a bath, so who cares for one night ?) with every little welcoming touch - we could even get fresh milk for our morning tea. There is a spacious lounge with an astounding variety of malt whiskies ( and everything else you could wish for) at the honesty bar - what a good idea, other establishments, please copy. Breakfast was splendid - fresh fruit and yoghurt and everything else you could think of. Christine was very helpful about local attractions and places to eat. We did not eat at Spindrift for our evening meal, but the menu looked interesting and reasonably priced. All in all , quite excellent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Simply the best B&B we have stayed in. We stayed 5 nights over New Year and it was just great. The room was adorable, great view over the Firth, modern spacious En Suite Bathroom, warm and cozy. Honesty bar a total bonus! The hospitality of Ken, Christine and the entire staff was just simply the best. Terrific breakfast including Ken's award winning porridge and the excellent choice of menu. Walking distance into beautiful coastal town Anstruther. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongue, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Beautiful, elegant house and rooms. Excellent en suite bathroom. The lovely lounge and honesty bar are a great asset. Very good breakfast - great selection to choose from and local kippers very tasty. Wish we could have stayed longer. Barney Border Collie made very welcome too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was our third trip here and everything is consistently good, a very friendly welcome, fabulous accommodation with clean and luxurious bed and bathroom, great breakfast selection and quality, convenient parking, not far from St. Andrews for golfers.
All in all FIRST CLASS.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakvilleian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Only stayed for one cool windy night, lots of character in the wood panelled Captain's room. Not a huge room but very comfortable, if you don't mind 3 flights of stairs it's worth it for the unique experience. Breakfast selection and quality was very good. With 8 rooms it's larger than the average BnB, but breakfast service was very good.

Room Tip: the wood panelled Captain's room is unique, a bit of fun. Not a huge room but very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoSnowInPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Made the mistake of only booking one night at The Spindrift at the end of a touring holiday of the Highlands. It really is a welcoming and friendly place and we would have liked to have spent more time there. Our room was well appointed, the bed very comforable, and we enjoyed a pleasant view across the fields from our window.
The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of main meal options together with fresh fruit, cereals and porridge. The only down side is the very limited parking facilities which can involve some shuttling back and forth to extricate ones car however it worked fine during our stay and we would certainly visit The Spindrift again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiganMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
7.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,159 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
9.6 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 9 in Anstruther
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#7 of 9 in Anstruther
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spindrift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spindrift

Property: The Spindrift
Address: Pittenweem Road, Anstruther KY10 3DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spindrift 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spindrift is an imposing Victorian residence built in 1870 for a Tea Clipper Captain, with many original internal features carefully restored, offering 8 bedrooms with en suite/private facilities. Only a short walk to Anstruther harbour and village centre. The Spindrift is personally run by Ken & Christine Lawson. A relaxed atmosphere prevails and it is our aim to provide you with high standards of service and housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Spindrift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spindrift Anstruther, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing