We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spindrift

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spindrift
Ranked #2 of 10 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
dunoon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a really special B&B, Christine and Ken are excellent hosts, the whole place is spotless and very comfortable - feels like and is a home away from home! Food very good, nothing seems to be any bother very friendly and we are sure to return.

Room Tip: We found room No.3 to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    24
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
118
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My second trip in 3 years and can honestly say that the Spindrift was as good as ever. Spotlessly clean and thoughtful touches in the rooms - up to date monthly mags , nice toiletries , well stocked
tea and coffee tray.
I really like meeting in the lounge for a pre dinner drink at 6.30pm so that you can chat with the other guests and choose from the menu before eating at 7pm. The food is really good . The breakfasts too are excellent with an excellent and varied choice .
Great value for money and would not hesitate to go again. The whole area is beautiful and the Spindrift is right by a lovely coastal walk into Pittenweem as well as being a short walk from the centre of Anstruther itself.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

What a well run B&B I could not fault the rooms, food, service or staff. Christine and Ken work hard and efficiently to produce a first class establishment. The breakfast and evening meal were tasty and well presented. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnross37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had two rooms as we were staying for a couple of nights to go to a music festival in the town. Our room was spacious and lonely and clean although the decor was a bit tired the bathroom looked as though it had just been refurbished. My sons bedroom was smaller but had a modern scheme he did not have an en suite but the room next to him was a separate bathroom. Breakfast was amazing with great fruit salads with strawberries and blueberries, there was special award winning produce and organic yogurts and each day they had a special on such as scrambled eggs and smoked salmon or smoked haddock with poached egg. If I had any gripe it was that breakfast is only served between 8 - 9 and check out is at 10am for some of us who were out late it was a bit of a struggle. The honesty bar in the lounge was a great idea we had a drink when we arrived and there was a great selection of spirits and beers to choose from. We never ate there in the evening as the meal time did not suit us as we needed to be at our venue for 7 pm but I am sure it would have been delicious. Will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We were in room 3 it was nice and big with a bath and shower although the shower was not that powerf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a wonderful B&B run by Christine and Ken who obviously work hard at getting things just right to make sure that their guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay. Everything from the warm hospitality to the cleanliness of the establishment and the standard of the food is excellent. We had dinner on both nights of our stay and our meals were outstanding. Breakfast was also a treat with a wide selection to choose from. Ken's award winning porridge went down particularly well with our party.
A special mention must be given to the girls who staff the dining room. We were so impressed with how friendly and polite they were - a credit to Christine and Ken . We didn't meet any other staff but I'm sure they would be just as helpful and friendly.
Thank you to everyone for the most relaxing and enjoyable stay. We hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This bed and breakfast is one of the best I have stayed in recent times . Everything about this place has been done with the customer in mind. Room was excellent as was the food that was presented both at evening dinner (which was optional) and the breakfast the following morning.
Both owners and staff were very pleasant and the honesty bar in the lounge was pleasing.
Would stay there again without any hesitation

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forthwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
279 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This place is perfect, well thought out, welcoming for guests and I can not imagine not loving it. The honor bar in the guest parlor was ingenious! (such a great idea but we didn't encounter one anywhere else) The guest parlor itself was a great amenity. Beds great and our room which did not have a view, was still comfortable and beautiful and pleasant. Breakfast was also great. Do not think twice about choosing to stay here. It's a definite thumbs up. The biggest drawback is that you have to leave.

My exact notes: Gracious manse with spacious rooms, guest parlor, lovely lovely lovely!
Team of house maids who tackle the cleaning as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bravo-cinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
7.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
2,975 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
8.6 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 10 in Anstruther
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brackness House Luxury B&B
Brackness House Luxury B&B
#4 of 10 in Anstruther
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spindrift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spindrift

Property: The Spindrift
Address: Pittenweem Road, Anstruther KY10 3DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spindrift 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spindrift is an imposing Victorian residence built in 1870 for a Tea Clipper Captain, with many original internal features carefully restored, offering 8 bedrooms with en suite/private facilities. Only a short walk to Anstruther harbour and village centre. The Spindrift is personally run by Ken & Christine Lawson. A relaxed atmosphere prevails and it is our aim to provide you with high standards of service and housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Spindrift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spindrift Anstruther, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing