We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off to see the Puffins”

Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Anstruther
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The crew on the boat were great and knew what they were talking about.. The boat was a nice little boat with a snack bar and gifts to buy.. The ride over to the island was about 45 min long we saw seals and different birds on the way over... Once we got to the island i was so excited my goal was to finally see a Puffin... I saw hundreds of them and the views from there were just beautiful... It was very beautiful day a bit windy so dress warm and layers and also take wet ones or something just in case of a bird surprise I highly recommend taking this boat tour...

Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G, Owner at Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for a detailed and positve review. We are really glad you enjoyed the trip and hopefully we might see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"day trip"
in 25 reviews
"arctic terns"
in 22 reviews
"great trip"
in 22 reviews
"snack bar"
in 10 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 10 reviews
"on arrival"
in 12 reviews
"bird life"
in 15 reviews
"knowledgeable crew"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful island"
in 7 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 11 reviews
"nesting birds"
in 10 reviews
"return journey"
in 11 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 4 reviews
"sick bags"
in 5 reviews
"great weather"
in 5 reviews
"wonderful wildlife"
in 5 reviews
"breeding season"
in 7 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect amount of time on the island and to see so many puffins was amazing. Lovely to see all the other birds as well. The guys on the boat were very knowledgeable as were the people who monitor the birds on the island. A must do if you ever get the chance.

Thank KGR247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G, Owner at Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Really glad you enjoyed the trip and your comments are appreciated. "A must do if you ever get the chance" says it all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My brother and I visited last year and decided to try to make it an annual event. The boat journey is around an hour each way and you get to spend up to 3 hours on the island, which is enough time to see and photograph all the species. The trip over and back was a bit choppy but nothing to be scared of. I would advise that people take drinks and something to eat while on the island, though the boat does sell drinks and snacks. Also take a warm jacket as it can get cold, even on sunny days. For the price you pay, it is excellent value as you will see and photograph birds that you rarely ever see and from up close too.

Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G, Owner at Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the excellent review, and glad that you have now made it an annual event. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our trip to the Isle of May. The boat was fully booked, but with seats for all passengers. There’s a small bar which also serves tea, coffee and light snacks, and there’s also a toilet on board.
The crew-members were friendly and helpful, and lots of information was given about the seals and various birds to be seen on our trip.
We were fortunate with the weather...strong gusts of wind, especially on the cliffs, but bright and sunny during our three hours on the island.
The puffins are definitely the stars on the Isle of May, but for me, the terns came a close second...despite some aggressive behaviour!
We loved this trip and highly recommend it , whether you’re a keen birdwatcher or not. A great day out!

Thank coruisk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G, Owner at Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for giving us an excellent review. "Fantastic trip" says it all and we are glad you enjoyed a great day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

The Isle of May is absolutely beautiful! On our trip we got to see seals, puffins and other sea birds. The customer service on the boat was great, we were made very welcome. It was really a trip to remember, and for the price it was well worth it!

Thank Rose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G, Owner at Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The title for your review says it all, " a must if you are in the area". Really glad you enjoyed the trip and thanks for the excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing