We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resting on it's Laurels”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 10 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Resting on it's Laurels”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Third stay here in recent times...built in around my Cancer appointments so an important getaway for us.

Since the acquisition of 'The Bank' things feel like they are simply 'ticking over' at the Waterfront..rooms are lovely but really due a least a freshening lick of paint. by now.

Breakfast is random..wet scrambled eggs served on soaked toast with no seasoning one day..then seperate the next..flabby bacon one day, crisp the next.. A huge dish of ubiquitous 'brown or red' sauce to serve the whole restaurant...bring your own spoon..bleeurgh.

Evening menu needs some fresh dishes

Am fearful that over diversification will lead to a watered down waterfront.

That would sadden me.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    129
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
81
225
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stated for one night as part of a trip to Fife. On arrival at the Waterfront we had a really warm welcome and were shown straight to our room. It was on an upper floor but did not create a problem for us. In fact the rceptionist asked if we would prefer lower. The room was well equipped, plenty of towels and tea coffee etc. Everything was well maintained and very clean. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent, likewise the breakfast where the choice was very good. Overall a great stay woud return without hesitation and gladly recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iain48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Had lunch and evening meal in the Waterfront,5* service and food,ex view over the marina.deserve an award for their fish and chips,cheers, will return..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sethmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villereal, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The room was spotless and full of goodies - tea,coffee,chocolate,biscuits and bottled water. The staff were very friendly. We had a delicious dinner which was beautifully presented and a marvelous breakfast. The restaurant looks out over the marina - we were lucky with the sunset!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We're just back from two nights at The Waterfront and it ticked so many of the B&B boxes: spacious, comfortable room and en-suite; good porridge, excellent smoked salmon and all round good breakfast; great location. The rooms are at the back of the building off an attractive courtyard - someone has taken care over the creation of the accomodation. Don't worry there's no view: in 30 seconds you are at the harbour'd edge and Anstruther is well-worth a wander around.

Why only very good and not excellent? Another chair in the bedroom, an MP3 docking station - and the wooden slatted ventetian blinds did need a dust!! Also, whilst the breakfast was very good we did wonder what happened to the kitchen in the evening: dinner was a different experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-RReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at the Waterfront Hotel from Sunday 18th til Wednesday 21st the room was spotless ans there was a vase of fresh flowers on table, a nice touch. We ate in the hotel restaurant two of the three nights and can thoroughly recommend it. The food was delicious! Breakfasts were lovely with a large choice of dishes. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Nothing was too much trouble. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hopefully we will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maidmarion49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perthshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This was lovely - clean, spacious and modern. Lots of nice little touches e.g. bottles of water, good selection of teas, etc., nice toiletries and fresh flowers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.7 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
6.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 16 in St Andrews
3,067 reviews
10.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 10 in Anstruther
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 18/20 Shore Street, Anstruther KY10 3EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as "One of the treasures of the East Neuk," The Waterfront was proudly opened in May 2003, hosting a 55 seat a’ la carte restaurant. Personally run, The Waterfront has Anstruther’s finest location situated just a few steps from Anstruther’s harbour and marina with views over the Firth of Forth. During the warmer months we boast al fresco dining to the front and a mature courtyard for relaxing to the rear. We aim to cater for all tastes. Varied Seafood selections, chef’s specials, children’s menu, delicious coffee and cakes. The Waterfront seafood selection is surely there to impress boasting freshly delivered fish from local markets including oriental scallops, citrus salmon, stuffed sea bass, steamed mussels and a true Scottish favourite that has stood the test of time, good old Fish and Chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Anstruther
The Waterfront Anstruther, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing