We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
304
159
23
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
159
23
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish and chipsfamily roomitison dealstaff were attentivehigh teamain coursescallopssingle roomboth nightsfirst classbottled waterbreakfast menuhuge bedtea or coffeewaiting staffwell worth a visitcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stopped here on the way back home from the North of Scotland - and had been planning to visit the East Neuk for a while. We were not quite sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised when we were shown the room in a private courtyard area behind the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable - and as a nice touch had fresh flowers. We ate both nights in the restaurant where the food was good and plentiful. And also went to their sister establishment/pub The Bank for drinks in the early evening.

The proximity of the harbour was a bonus. I would also recommend the walk along the coast to Crail (about 4 miles) and there is a bus back if you want.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barneywoodham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was really looking forward to staying here. The location was perfect and the rooms on the website looked inviting. As we were travelling with our elderly father and planning to stay for 4 nights, on booking I asked for 2 rooms close together with as few stairs as possible. This request was apparently not passed on to the hotel who allocated us rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor up very steep and narrow staircases. This was never going to work and even though they were fully booked, the lady on duty did everything possible to get dad a room on the ground floor for the first night. Thank you for that. Regrettably we decided to find a more suitable hotel, so we only spent the one night. We were surprised and very grateful that the hotel didn’t charge us for the cancelled nights – again thank you. In any case we enjoyed an afternoon of cocktails followed by a delicious dinner. We enjoyed it so much we returned 2 nights later for dinner with friends.
This is a lovely boutique hotel with very well appointed rooms, super comfortable beds and all the facilities you would expect with a 4 star rating. This is not your average hotel with a lobby and 3 floors – instead a quirky conglomerate of nooks and crannies, laneways and courtyard that has loads of character and if you don’t mind a climb to your room, it’s a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room near the couryard. Easy to access and a nice spot to sit outside on a sunny day
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Waterfront; a small, but delightful hotel, for four days.
The staff was wonderfully helpful and very professional, the the ambiance of the hotel was perfect to the setting and the meals were excellent and well presented. The entire stay was a pleasant experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeeGeeThompson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We ate here on a busy Friday evening in August and were very pleased that we had pre-booked as people were being turned away. Good menu with good food, efficient service and a good atmosphere. Staff were smartly presented, polite and attentive without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mowbreck61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

On our first visit to Anstruther this attractively appointed and located restuarant seemed the most up-market venue in town
We were warmly welcomed and given a window table to accomodate my wife's request for brightness due to being partially sighted, and they did this even tho it was a reserved table and the place was chocco! Full marks.Fabulous fresh mussels and great homemade pie.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dumbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews