We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, large portions, friendly staff.”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 9 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh food, large portions, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, fresh taste and large portion sizes. We visited twice because the kids and adults enjoyed the dinner we had.

Burgers were really tasty and kids had tortilla wraps whichever they enjoyed. Would go back as it was good value for money for the portion size.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    131
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
85
227
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The room which we stayed in was beautiful and so clean. I really want to head back again next summer! The staff were nice and helpful too and of course, Anstruther was lovely as always. I would highly recommend this if anyone needs a good and affordable place to stay in the area.

Parking around the area can be a bit of an issue but there are plenty side streets if you take the time to look around.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

An evening out with some friends and the idea was good food and good catch up. We were not disappointed. Excellent choice on the menu, plenty of choice for non fish lovers. We all had starters and my only complaint is they were far too big for starters. We all ordered fish type main meals. It was apparent the fish was all fresh and very well cooked. Despite having two massive courses a few people fancied trying a sweet however requested a half hour break to enjoy some wine before ordering desert. This wasn't really adhered to by the waitresses who asked every 5 minutes if they were ready to order. Therefore a few people backed out of having deserts.
Nothing would put us off from going back and would highly recommend anyone give it a go and don't be put off if your not a fish lover as there's is plenty choice on the menu.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Papasmurffsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Ex accommodation large room with comp water and tea coffee etc. ideal location for visiting east Neuk and St. Andrews. Great choice of breakfasts and restaurant food lovely. Staff welcoming and friendly.would recommend and definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 863Wilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a 2 night break last weekend, The accomodation is lovely we had a huge room and my mother in law a small single. We booked on a bed and breakfast deal and the breakfast was freshly cooked, whatever you wanted and staff very friendly. Would have no hesitation booking again.

Room Tip: The resturant gets busy in the evening so book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

My family and I have just been to the waterfront for high tea (05/10/13) and I have to say it was excellent.

You get a very large, home made, main course, toast, tea and a selection of homemade cakes and scones for £12.95 so a total bargain.

I had the fish pie which contained a good selection of fish and with decent sized pieces (some places it's just fish pulp). My parents had fish and chips which were cooked to order and very large. They came with a good salad which had apple and grapes as well as the usual. The coleslaw was also very good.

We couldn't finish the cakes as there were so many of them. The scones were hot, jam good and the cream was out a can so ok.

Regarding the staff, our main waitress was fantastic, helpful, cheerful and very polite. We did have another lady being our drinks and frankly she was awful which was a shame but it didn't take away from our visit.

All in all its value for money and well worth a visit.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great spot to explore Fife. Hotel overlooks the pretty harbour. Rooms are to the rear, without views but are in good modern condition and are very clean. Bathroom also excellent. WiFi a little intermittent! Breakfasts good. Helpful and friendly welcome. Good value for money and the adjoining restaurant is the best in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.6 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
6.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,159 reviews
10.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 9 in Anstruther
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 18/20 Shore Street, Anstruther KY10 3EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as "One of the treasures of the East Neuk," The Waterfront was proudly opened in May 2003, hosting a 55 seat a’ la carte restaurant. Personally run, The Waterfront has Anstruther’s finest location situated just a few steps from Anstruther’s harbour and marina with views over the Firth of Forth. During the warmer months we boast al fresco dining to the front and a mature courtyard for relaxing to the rear. We aim to cater for all tastes. Varied Seafood selections, chef’s specials, children’s menu, delicious coffee and cakes. The Waterfront seafood selection is surely there to impress boasting freshly delivered fish from local markets including oriental scallops, citrus salmon, stuffed sea bass, steamed mussels and a true Scottish favourite that has stood the test of time, good old Fish and Chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Anstruther
The Waterfront Anstruther, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing