We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
314
164
23
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
164
23
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips family room itison deal bunk beds high tea main course staff were attentive single room scallops cullen skink both nights huge bed breakfast menu bottled water first class tea or coffee waiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

As Anstruther residents we eat here regularly for family meals out and for special occasions and it's also a good place to meet up with friends. The Hight Tea option is always a good deal if you can eat that much! I can't manage tea/ coffee, toast, followed by a main such as local fish and chips and then cakes and scones with cream and jam. It's all very tasty but such large portions.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the toilets are clean and tidy.
I often have 2 starters instead of a starter and main, this allows me enough room for a desert. The calamari are gorgeous lightly breaded and served with salad and lemon wedges, beautiful.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dominicsaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Thanks to trip advisor and the reviews shared - we booked a few days holiday in Fife. This little gem is well worth a visit. The rooms are modern and well equipped. We had rooms in the bake house and were very happy. The property offers self catered as well as just beds - I am sure the self catering will be to the same standard.

The rooms are attached to the very fine restaurant - its menu and cooking is worth a visit in its own right.

We spent three days in Anstruther and Fife and the restaurant was full on every part of the day - breakfast and through to late dinner. Given Anstruther isn't the busiest in November - this was amazing. Having lived in many cities and towns in the UK - I know of many restaurants that would have been very happy to have as much custom!

Parking can be exciting - but persevere - the Waterfront is worth any effort to visit it.

Room tip: Granary and Bake House venues are both located behind the restaurant and offer quiet and secluded accommodation. Our room (10) on the ground floor did have a very squeaky set of floor boards outside that did wake us up when other guests walked past.. so try to avoid room 10!
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Lovely food, fresh taste and large portion sizes. We visited twice because the kids and adults enjoyed the dinner we had.

Burgers were really tasty and kids had tortilla wraps whichever they enjoyed. Would go back as it was good value for money for the portion size.

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank monkey210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The room which we stayed in was beautiful and so clean. I really want to head back again next summer! The staff were nice and helpful too and of course, Anstruther was lovely as always. I would highly recommend this if anyone needs a good and affordable place to stay in the area.

Parking around the area can be a bit of an issue but there are plenty side streets if you take the time to look around.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

An evening out with some friends and the idea was good food and good catch up. We were not disappointed. Excellent choice on the menu, plenty of choice for non fish lovers. We all had starters and my only complaint is they were far too big for starters. We all ordered fish type main meals. It was apparent the fish was all fresh and very well cooked. Despite having two massive courses a few people fancied trying a sweet however requested a half hour break to enjoy some wine before ordering desert. This wasn't really adhered to by the waitresses who asked every 5 minutes if they were ready to order. Therefore a few people backed out of having deserts.
Nothing would put us off from going back and would highly recommend anyone give it a go and don't be put off if your not a fish lover as there's is plenty choice on the menu.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Papasmurffsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews