We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
308
161
23
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
161
23
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips family room itison deal staff were attentive high tea main course scallops single room both nights first class bottled water breakfast menu huge bed tea or coffee waiting staff well worth a visit comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a Itison deal which was great value. The room was spacious with a double bed and also bunk beds which would suit a family, they had their own tv a set into the wall at the foot of their beds. The food was really nice and plenty of it. All staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. Anstruther is only 9 miles from St Andrews which is worth a visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for the second time in September, and were not disappointed, very clean room with daily fresh towels, and plenty of tea and coffee. The restauarant overlooking the harbour offers excellent food at reasonable prices, and the staff are very polite and helpful. Breakfast is superb, with a huge selection on the menu, all prepared fresh and without delay. Did not hear any negative comments from other guests, apart from a slight whinge about creaky floorboards, but the building is a converted bakery and grain store !
Wouls certainly recommend this place as a base for touring the East coast of Scotland.

Room Tip: Floorboard noise is less obtrusive in the upstairs rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

As Anstruther residents we eat here regularly for family meals out and for special occasions and it's also a good place to meet up with friends. The Hight Tea option is always a good deal if you can eat that much! I can't manage tea/ coffee, toast, followed by a main such as local fish and chips and then cakes and scones with cream and jam. It's all very tasty but such large portions.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the toilets are clean and tidy.
I often have 2 starters instead of a starter and main, this allows me enough room for a desert. The calamari are gorgeous lightly breaded and served with salad and lemon wedges, beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dominicsaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Thanks to trip advisor and the reviews shared - we booked a few days holiday in Fife. This little gem is well worth a visit. The rooms are modern and well equipped. We had rooms in the bake house and were very happy. The property offers self catered as well as just beds - I am sure the self catering will be to the same standard.

The rooms are attached to the very fine restaurant - its menu and cooking is worth a visit in its own right.

We spent three days in Anstruther and Fife and the restaurant was full on every part of the day - breakfast and through to late dinner. Given Anstruther isn't the busiest in November - this was amazing. Having lived in many cities and towns in the UK - I know of many restaurants that would have been very happy to have as much custom!

Parking can be exciting - but persevere - the Waterfront is worth any effort to visit it.

Room Tip: Granary and Bake House venues are both located behind the restaurant and offer quiet and secluded accommodation. Our room (10) on the ground floor did have a very squeaky set of floor boards outside that did wake us up when other guests walked past.. so try to avoid room 10!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Lovely food, fresh taste and large portion sizes. We visited twice because the kids and adults enjoyed the dinner we had.

Burgers were really tasty and kids had tortilla wraps whichever they enjoyed. Would go back as it was good value for money for the portion size.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank monkey210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews