We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 9 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed for one night and was very impressed. Rooms spacious, spotless with excellent facilities. Wide selection available at breakfast and excellently presented. Full Scottish breakfast will set you up for the day. All staff helpful and attentive couldn't do enough to make the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifersdownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here on a two night Itison deal in a lovely location overlooking the harbour.The bedroom was clean, comfortable, quiet and spacious and the excellent food in the restaurant (generous portions at that) was out of this world.
All the staff were very welcomming, polite and friendly and nothing was too much bother.
We would rate the Waterfront 1st Class and could not fault it in any way and enjoyed it so much will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My friend and I stayed there for 2 nights on a ITISON deal - what a FABULOUS stay we had. The hotel room was large, modern, clean and comfortable, the staff were very polite and helpful and the breakfast and evening restaurant food was near perfection. This hotel deserves all the praise it gets and I will certainly recommend it to all my friends. I will look forward to returning in the spring/summer to see this beautiful coastline in another season.

Room Tip: We had room 2 on the top floor. There is no lift so not suitable for anyone how struggles with stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 805janer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a Itison deal which was great value. The room was spacious with a double bed and also bunk beds which would suit a family, they had their own tv a set into the wall at the foot of their beds. The food was really nice and plenty of it. All staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. Anstruther is only 9 miles from St Andrews which is worth a visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for the second time in September, and were not disappointed, very clean room with daily fresh towels, and plenty of tea and coffee. The restauarant overlooking the harbour offers excellent food at reasonable prices, and the staff are very polite and helpful. Breakfast is superb, with a huge selection on the menu, all prepared fresh and without delay. Did not hear any negative comments from other guests, apart from a slight whinge about creaky floorboards, but the building is a converted bakery and grain store !
Wouls certainly recommend this place as a base for touring the East coast of Scotland.

Room Tip: Floorboard noise is less obtrusive in the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

As Anstruther residents we eat here regularly for family meals out and for special occasions and it's also a good place to meet up with friends. The Hight Tea option is always a good deal if you can eat that much! I can't manage tea/ coffee, toast, followed by a main such as local fish and chips and then cakes and scones with cream and jam. It's all very tasty but such large portions.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the toilets are clean and tidy.
I often have 2 starters instead of a starter and main, this allows me enough room for a desert. The calamari are gorgeous lightly breaded and served with salad and lemon wedges, beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dominicsaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Thanks to trip advisor and the reviews shared - we booked a few days holiday in Fife. This little gem is well worth a visit. The rooms are modern and well equipped. We had rooms in the bake house and were very happy. The property offers self catered as well as just beds - I am sure the self catering will be to the same standard.

The rooms are attached to the very fine restaurant - its menu and cooking is worth a visit in its own right.

We spent three days in Anstruther and Fife and the restaurant was full on every part of the day - breakfast and through to late dinner. Given Anstruther isn't the busiest in November - this was amazing. Having lived in many cities and towns in the UK - I know of many restaurants that would have been very happy to have as much custom!

Parking can be exciting - but persevere - the Waterfront is worth any effort to visit it.

Room Tip: Granary and Bake House venues are both located behind the restaurant and offer quiet and secluded ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
6.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,500 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
420 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
466 reviews
10.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 18/20 Shore Street, Anstruther KY10 3EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range: £55 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as "One of the treasures of the East Neuk," The Waterfront was proudly opened in May 2003, hosting a 55 seat a’ la carte restaurant. Personally run, The Waterfront has Anstruther’s finest location situated just a few steps from Anstruther’s harbour and marina with views over the Firth of Forth. During the warmer months we boast al fresco dining to the front and a mature courtyard for relaxing to the rear. We aim to cater for all tastes. Varied Seafood selections, chef’s specials, children’s menu, delicious coffee and cakes. The Waterfront seafood selection is surely there to impress boasting freshly delivered fish from local markets including oriental scallops, citrus salmon, stuffed sea bass, steamed mussels and a true Scottish favourite that has stood the test of time, good old Fish and Chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Anstruther
The Waterfront Anstruther, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing