We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great staff, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 10 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen,
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 9 month old son through an Itison deal, although I have stayed before with work several years ago.

I can only echo what other people have already mentioned. Staff are wonderful and very accommodating.

The breakfasts are hearty & very tasty, and our evening meal we had on the 2nd night was superb. When our baby was restless during our meal, we decided to leave without desert but the girls suggested we order & they would take them up to us, the same offer was extended the next day when my husband couldn't make it down for breakfast.

Some of the waitresses are young, so you could be forgiven for thinking they might be inexperienced, but not at all. All the staff were very friendly, helpful & efficient & went out of their way for us.

The rooms are large, have comfy beds and decent sized bathrooms with showers. We had bottled water & tea, coffee & biscuits in our room, which was unexpected for a three star hotel, as well as a large flat screen TV. Unfortunately the walls in our room we're paper thin, so you could hear people walking across the floor upstairs, but that would be our only criticism in an otherwise perfect stay.

We will definitely return soon.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank G-zer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    125
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
78
219
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Chose this hotel on reading previous reviews. Stayed for two nights but was not given the room we had booked as my wife has problems climbing stairs. The room was adequate and bed comfortable but the floorboards were a problem with squeaking. The second night there were people above us and the noise was bad. The insulation was also a problem, you could hear everything. Other than that the meals were first class and we would return as anstruther is very picturesque, but only if we had a less noisy room. Staff were also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead.Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed at Waterfront with my wife on a Groupon offer.Really warm welcome on our arrival and we were delighted with our room.Comfortable,warm and large.All toiletries provided and plenty drawer and cupboard space for our clothes etc.Menu in evening was awesome....what a choice...and the food was excellent(very generous portions)My wife and I had fish dishes and they did not disappoint.Breakfast for next two mornings was terrific.At all meals our service was first class.On Saturday evening we tried the Waterfront "chipper",,,haddock and chips were superb.We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Anstruther and St Andrews,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Breathtaking location, lovely accommodation, great food, friendly staff. In fulfillment of a dream that was exceeded in every possible way thanks to The Waterfront.

The only place to stay in Anstruther - or Fife!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the uppermost floor - some other guests have no consideration for others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I love this place.

It's like going home or getting into a big warm bath and I have visited many times over the past 4 years often between some unpleasant Cancer treatments.

The staff are wonderful, competent, warm and friendly. The food is superlative and the rooms beautifully decorated and extremely well appointed.

However...if you are staying in the courtyard be aware that the noise levels can be quite something at night and in the mornings. If you are a late bedder, after 2am up and 'at 'em at 6am then you will have no worries but be warned that you can hear everyone in the building having a conversation/ argument/ bath/shower/going to the loo/ getting intimate etc.... during the night.

Should you actually manage to drop off .. At 6.30 the staff start moving about ..there's clanking bottles,..chattering and worst of all..fire doors banging shut. There are no carpets ( lovely wooden floors!) and the beds creak so It is not for light sleepers.

Over the 2 nights we were there I slept for 25 mins on the first and about 3 hours on the second. I came home and slept for 13 hours straight and yes. it did ruin an otherwise perfect break.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

stayed 2 night end of November 2013 with family. 2 adults and 3 children. lovely large room. spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds. service was consistently friendly and helpful.
breakfast both days were delicious and on par with 4-5* much larger hotels.
we ate both nights at the restaurant and food was great. they accommodated our family without any fuss and were made to feel welcome.
the fish and chips we had was the best my wife or i have ever eaten.
the sirloin steaks were full of flavour and well cooked.
even though we live over 1h away we are already planning on coming back for a meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed for one night and was very impressed. Rooms spacious, spotless with excellent facilities. Wide selection available at breakfast and excellently presented. Full Scottish breakfast will set you up for the day. All staff helpful and attentive couldn't do enough to make the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifersdownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.6 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
6.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#3 of 10 in Anstruther
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brackness House Luxury B&B
Brackness House Luxury B&B
#4 of 10 in Anstruther
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 18/20 Shore Street, Anstruther KY10 3EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as "One of the treasures of the East Neuk," The Waterfront was proudly opened in May 2003, hosting a 55 seat a’ la carte restaurant. Personally run, The Waterfront has Anstruther’s finest location situated just a few steps from Anstruther’s harbour and marina with views over the Firth of Forth. During the warmer months we boast al fresco dining to the front and a mature courtyard for relaxing to the rear. We aim to cater for all tastes. Varied Seafood selections, chef’s specials, children’s menu, delicious coffee and cakes. The Waterfront seafood selection is surely there to impress boasting freshly delivered fish from local markets including oriental scallops, citrus salmon, stuffed sea bass, steamed mussels and a true Scottish favourite that has stood the test of time, good old Fish and Chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Anstruther
The Waterfront Anstruther, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing