We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Wonderful Waterfront”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 10 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Wonderful Waterfront”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My partner and I recently stayed here on a Groupon deal.£129 for two nights bed and breakfast,bottle of wine,3 course dinner on one night and two drinks vouchers to the value of £6 to be used at the sister hotel The Bank. Probably the best deal weve ever bought. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. Our room in the annexe was lovely and the food 1st class.Thank you The Waterfront for a lovely break!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karin186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    128
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
81
225
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely B&B. The room was fabulous and the breakfast exceptional- great choice. We'll definitely be back! It was an excellent base for walks along the coast to Pitenweem and St. Montana. Anstruther was very picturesque.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights, enticed by an ItIsOn voucher, and weren't disappointed by the accommodation. Our room was actually in a nearby building, but it was really comfortable, clean and well-appointed. Despite the fact that the shower-screen in our en-suite had no seals and leaked lots of water onto the floor, the room dried quickly and was kept clean. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

The restaurant was fine, too – we stuck largely to fish things – but one small complaint with the food; a couple of the things were overcooked. Bizarrely this included a piece of breakfast black pudding, and a dinner piece of hake, where both of us had ordered the same dish yet one was overcooked and the other perfect. Visitors should also be aware that the famous Cellar restaurant round the back is (at time of writing) about to reopen; leave an evening free to visit that.

But overall this was fine, and Anstruther is the pick of the towns round there in terms of buzz.

Room Tip: Consider the scrambled egg and smoked haddock/salmon + croissant for breakfast. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormpetrel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just returned from a lovely couple of days at the Waterfront. We were on an Itison Deal and it was one of the best value deals I have ever experienced. The rooms were beautifully decorated and spotless with plenty of storage, toiletries and vey well equiped. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful and must be commended for making us feel so welcome. We would happily have stayed much longer than our two days. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the menu was huge - as were the portion sizes! The food was delicious and there was also a great choice of food on the breakfast menu. Thanks to everyone at the Waterfront for a great stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tainshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Been before.
2 couples stayed for 2 nights on an Itison deal.Could not fault it. Accomodation first class, good choice of well cooked tasty food, friendly helpful staff. Great value. Good base for walking parts of the Fife Coastal Way and a trip to the Isle of May in the summer is a must. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed at the Waterfront for 2 nights using an Itison voucher. Great value, very nice welcome from friendly staff the meals taken in the restaurant were first class with choices from the full menu as opposed to a limited choice which you sometimes get when using a voucher. The quality of the evening meals and breakfast were first class. Found the room to be very comfortable, floorboards very creaky however, "The Granary" is an old building and if you are a light sleeper you may experience a disturbed nights sleep. As identified by another reviewer, the shower is in the bath and can be quite difficult to get in/out as it is quite slippy when wet. A handrail would be a welcome addition from a safety point of view.The small courtyard and alleyway leading to it could also benefit from a spring spruce up/ steam clean which would enhance the general first impression. Notwithstanding the foregoing comment, the Waterfront is well worth a visit and we will be delighted to return

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you may benefit from a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longforganlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at The Waterfront whilst visiting my parents who live in Cellardyke. The room was comfortable but a bit small with the furnishings in it. There was only one chair and no room for another which could be a problem if you wanted to stay in the room for any length of time, but as we were out and about visiting during the day this was not a major problem for us. I understand there are larger rooms in the complex. Breakfast is served in the restaurant. What a pleasant change to have your breakfast cooked to order rather than the normal buffet breakfast, and the choice on the menu is the best I've come across in any hotel. All of the staff were attentive and polite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.7 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
6.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 10 in Anstruther
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 18/20 Shore Street, Anstruther KY10 3EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as "One of the treasures of the East Neuk," The Waterfront was proudly opened in May 2003, hosting a 55 seat a’ la carte restaurant. Personally run, The Waterfront has Anstruther’s finest location situated just a few steps from Anstruther’s harbour and marina with views over the Firth of Forth. During the warmer months we boast al fresco dining to the front and a mature courtyard for relaxing to the rear. We aim to cater for all tastes. Varied Seafood selections, chef’s specials, children’s menu, delicious coffee and cakes. The Waterfront seafood selection is surely there to impress boasting freshly delivered fish from local markets including oriental scallops, citrus salmon, stuffed sea bass, steamed mussels and a true Scottish favourite that has stood the test of time, good old Fish and Chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Anstruther
The Waterfront Anstruther, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing