We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 9 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I will keep this short by just saying stay here! Perfect in absolutely every way. The rooms were spotless, large, well decorated, comfortable, clean and well appointed. Toiletries were in proper dispensers and there was a wide range in our rooms. Light, airy and spacious rooms in a quaint annexe. Staff were lovely and couldn't have been more friendlier or helpful. The star of the show was the food though. We ate there for our evening meal and the food was simply stunning. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, beautifully cooked to order and plentiful. Amazing value for money and well worth the journey just to experience this stay. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Everywhere looked lovely but the family room in particular was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    131
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
85
227
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I took my other half up to stay at the Waterfront on March 31st for a couple of nights as a wee birthday jaunt for him.
The hotel is beautiful, although it was only the 2 of us we were in the lovely family room. Or the penthouse as David liked to call it. It was really well decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was superb with lots of choice.
We ate both nights in the restaurant as we had enjoyed it so much on the first night.
Staff were also lovely, ten out of ten.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fluff28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed a Saturday to Monday single room with a double. £52 for the lot.

The accommodation is accessed via a small courtyard to the side of the restaurant. It is like a small town house with your own front door key.

My room was wonderful. Fantastic how shower, free view tv, draws and small walk in cupboard / wardrobe. Complimentary shortbread, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, soap, shower gel and shampoo.

There was wifi but it worked best in the restaurant itself. I wonder if this was a local issue as 3G coverage was on and off.

I didn't eat in the restaurant bar the amazing complimentary breakfast each morning. The best breakfast I have EVER had!

A word about the staff - they are so polite and cheerful! They look genuinely happy at their work!

Getting there by bus from Edinburgh - X60 stagecoach bus from Princes Street - £10.45 single or mega rider for £10. Takes 2 and a half hours.

Of course you must try the Fish Bar - fantastic!

If you are looking for a bit of exercise try the walk to Crail. The views are amazing!

I loved my stay here, can't recommend enough!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on an Itison deal and were impressed with the size and cleanliness of the room, and the fact that the deal included the full menu to choose from for dinner. Breakfast was also very good, with choices from the full menu again. In the room was our complimentary bottle of wine (we chose red, and were delighted with a lovely carmenere) which we took to dinner. Bottles of still and sparkling water were replenished daily. We were also very happy with the 2 vouchers for a free drink at the sister hotel, The Bank, which had a lovely bar and restaurant and even mid March, we were able to enjoy the spring sunshine in the pleasant beer garden. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, visiting the neighbouring coastal villages of Crail and Pittenweem as well as making the short drive to St Andrews. The east neuk is so picturesque and rugged, and having The Waterfront at Anstruther as our base was perfect. We will definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights bed and breakfast. Very comfortable attic room with en suite facilities and complimentary toiletries. Flat screen tv.
Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. We had high tea both evenings which was also excellent. Fish and chips with bread and butter scones pancakes cakes with tea or coffee. Friendly staff. We left the car and took the bus to Kingsbarns where we took up the coastal path and walked to Crail where we had lunch then continued the path back to Anstruther. Some 10 miles or more. The fish pie went down a treat. After a visit to St Andrews the following day we returned home.
An enjoyable short break.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eilrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Like many previous reviewers, stayed here on an itison deal but it was the small details which made the difference. Free water in rooms, bottle of wine being exchanged for a cold one when we took it from room to restaurant and extremely pleasant staff. My gran even went as far as to say it was "the best holiday she's ever had"!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pennyt3427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My partner and I recently stayed here on a Groupon deal.£129 for two nights bed and breakfast,bottle of wine,3 course dinner on one night and two drinks vouchers to the value of £6 to be used at the sister hotel The Bank. Probably the best deal weve ever bought. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. Our room in the annexe was lovely and the food 1st class.Thank you The Waterfront for a lovely break!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karin186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.6 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
6.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,146 reviews
10.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 9 in Anstruther
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 18/20 Shore Street, Anstruther KY10 3EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as "One of the treasures of the East Neuk," The Waterfront was proudly opened in May 2003, hosting a 55 seat a’ la carte restaurant. Personally run, The Waterfront has Anstruther’s finest location situated just a few steps from Anstruther’s harbour and marina with views over the Firth of Forth. During the warmer months we boast al fresco dining to the front and a mature courtyard for relaxing to the rear. We aim to cater for all tastes. Varied Seafood selections, chef’s specials, children’s menu, delicious coffee and cakes. The Waterfront seafood selection is surely there to impress boasting freshly delivered fish from local markets including oriental scallops, citrus salmon, stuffed sea bass, steamed mussels and a true Scottish favourite that has stood the test of time, good old Fish and Chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Anstruther
The Waterfront Anstruther, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing