We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 10 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had an overnight stay here. Weather was pretty atrocious but the room was light & airy with plenty of space. Bed was very comfortable too. Plenty of gratis refreshments available in room, ranging from hot beverages to still & sparkling water. Only downsides I would mention were that it was impossible to get online from the room itself. This may have been due to the weather as there was supposed to be a connection but it did not show up in available networks on an iPad - & was hugely unstable on a Hudl. Bear in mind that if the weather is bad, there is no phone in the room, & you may not get a signal on your mobile either - you may need to trudge round to the restaurant if you have any queries, etc. As I say, the accommodation was good, ensuite, & spacious…but you may just want to consider these aspects if the weather is inclement.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    128
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
81
221
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Just had a fantastic lunch today Tuesday 13th May. We just decided on spec to go for a wee trip and lunch out and we certainly were not disappointed!!! Food was outstanding and staff friendly and efficient. We will be back well worth the 60 mile round trip for a day out on our holidays.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ajscotland59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel before and enjoyed a very comfortable stay with good food and service. This time, we were very disappointed in our room and the food.

Our room, room 10 had a shower head which did not fit the bracket properly. As a result, the water came out horizontally and soaked the floor. The glass shelf above the wash basin was loose. It subsequently fell off into our hands. The light above the sink did not work. In spite of informing an older lady the next day at breakfast these things were not fixed. Clearly, the shower was a bigger job to sort out but surely someone could have taken a screwdriver to the shelf and put in another light bulb.The room itself was a good room otherwise. There was no apology or indication that these issues would be addressed.

At dinner I ordered a pasta dish which was tasteless and should have had a breast of chicken. Small chicken cubes were through the pasta which was nothing like the menu promised. I had ordered the Caesar salad but was told that 'we are out of Caesar salad.

We noticed that the hotel was advertising for a chef and kitchen staff at the time and wondered if something was going on re kitchen staff at the time.

The breakfasts were great, well cooked and generous in contrast.

This is a lovely little place where we enjoyed staying but we were most disappointed this time at the lack of attention to detail and maintenance in our room. previously we stayed in a room on the floor below and there were no problems.

The young members of staff were very friendly and helpful. The older lady to whom we reported our complaints did not apologise or arrange to have anything seen to which was disappointing.

It makes us wary about returning to the Waterfront in case these problems have not been addressed which is a pity.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandpapocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Myself and a mate stayed in an ensuite twin for 7 nights during a Fife golfing trip. Wonderful friendly staff led by Pat and Kerrie, nothing was too much trouble, loved the cooked brekkie(no haggis or BP for me) and the fish & chips was the best. Fosters on tap worked well for us Aussies. Ainster is a truly lovely town and we will remember it for a long time. best wishes G &G

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked in on a great rate for dinner, bed and breakfast. Rooms are a good size, well appointed and only a very short walk to the Harbour. Food in the restaurant - which overlooks the harbour - was varied and very well cooked.

Room Tip: All good, no onsite car parking but should be able to find parking in public car park on harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutherland77070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I will keep this short by just saying stay here! Perfect in absolutely every way. The rooms were spotless, large, well decorated, comfortable, clean and well appointed. Toiletries were in proper dispensers and there was a wide range in our rooms. Light, airy and spacious rooms in a quaint annexe. Staff were lovely and couldn't have been more friendlier or helpful. The star of the show was the food though. We ate there for our evening meal and the food was simply stunning. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, beautifully cooked to order and plentiful. Amazing value for money and well worth the journey just to experience this stay. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Everywhere looked lovely but the family room in particular was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I took my other half up to stay at the Waterfront on March 31st for a couple of nights as a wee birthday jaunt for him.
The hotel is beautiful, although it was only the 2 of us we were in the lovely family room. Or the penthouse as David liked to call it. It was really well decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was superb with lots of choice.
We ate both nights in the restaurant as we had enjoyed it so much on the first night.
Staff were also lovely, ten out of ten.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fluff28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.7 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
6.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 10 in Anstruther
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 18/20 Shore Street, Anstruther KY10 3EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as "One of the treasures of the East Neuk," The Waterfront was proudly opened in May 2003, hosting a 55 seat a’ la carte restaurant. Personally run, The Waterfront has Anstruther’s finest location situated just a few steps from Anstruther’s harbour and marina with views over the Firth of Forth. During the warmer months we boast al fresco dining to the front and a mature courtyard for relaxing to the rear. We aim to cater for all tastes. Varied Seafood selections, chef’s specials, children’s menu, delicious coffee and cakes. The Waterfront seafood selection is surely there to impress boasting freshly delivered fish from local markets including oriental scallops, citrus salmon, stuffed sea bass, steamed mussels and a true Scottish favourite that has stood the test of time, good old Fish and Chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Anstruther
The Waterfront Anstruther, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing