We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VFM excellent”
Review of Crichton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anstruther
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crichton House
Ranked #6 of 10 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“VFM excellent”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nice clean B&B, family friendly, Anne is excellent,Food great,My wife has Coeliac and was Catered for very Well,gluten free options and very high standards.nice fresh cooked Breakfast and plenty of hot Tea and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedp6873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
91
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Trust all the many accolades. It's all been said before.
Tons of hangers in room 2's unpromising-looking wardrobe, fresh fruit and bottles of water each day in room. Bedside lamps have wooden base with a little 'well' really handy for rings etc.
Amazing fruit salad at breakfast, overflowing its bowl. Tangy chives with perfect scrambled egg. Unlike most places we've stayed, our request for toast and tea/coffee served at same time as cooked breakfast was granted with no problem. (Why do so many people settle for cold toast?)
Mixer tap in basin would be nice, but you can't have absolutely everything in life, and Crichton House provides more than most. We found no mobile signal around here and were unable to access Wi-Fi but this wasn't important for us.
Location very convenient for harbour and town. Pretty decent meal at Golf Club just a short walk away. Excellent dinner at Craig Millar's in St Monans.
We were visiting for the wonderful East Neuk Festival. For one of our seven concerts we got the bus to Crail and walked back along the coast. All in all a pretty-near-perfect few days in this very attractive corner of Scotland.

Room Tip: Room 2 a good size with bay window, twin beds and full-length bath with shower over. Overlooks road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My daughter & I are just back from trip to Anstruther it is were my dad came from & when I was young spent my summer holidays here with my Gran It was fantastic at the Crichton. So welcoming , rooms spotless. Everything you could want. Breakfast was best I have ever had. Ann was interested in my family .If you go to Anstruther this is place to stay. Plan to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

just back from an absolutely fantastic weekend break ,thanks to our wonderful hostess Anne , we were made so welcome , what a great bb simply the best one ,I,ve ever been to , the reviews for it were great and I can certainly see why , nothing was any bother , for this lovely lady who had a smile the whole while , so welcoming , thanks again Anne , we,ll certainly be back , because your brekkie was second to none .











,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and 5 other golfers have stopped here for the past 5 years now and it just gets better. Wonderful friendly and kind are the words id use for Annie and her breakfasts are second to none. Counting down the weeks for next year already!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed recently for a special birthday and couldn't have chosen better!! Crichton House is a fabulous B&B and Ann is just the best hostess. We had a wonderful stay, the room was spotless and the hospitality was just perfect.The breakfast was first class and we would highly recommend this accomodation for a stay in Anstruther. Hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boydtrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very clean and in a quiet location, Ann is friendly and helpful. Parking space available and good sized rooms. Great value for money. Breakfast was great and advise from Ann for dinner and drinks was spot on!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
6.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 10 in Anstruther
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brackness House Luxury B&B
Brackness House Luxury B&B
#4 of 10 in Anstruther
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crichton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crichton House

Property: Crichton House
Address: High Street West | High Street West, Anstruther KY10 3DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Crichton House Anstruther, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing