We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chip Lunch”

Anstruther Fish Bar
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Anstruther
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Edenfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fish and Chip Lunch”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is the third time we have visited this fish restaurant, but its been over a few years. the standard though, remains very high, our fish had a excellent light batter and cooked to perfection, the chips were also first class and the potatoes used were obviously of high qualiy. We always judge the standard of fish and chips by how much grease is left on the plate, these had hardly a sign of any. This brings me on to my only gripe, when eating in any standard or price range of restaurant I really would prefer a proper plate, a cardboard tray unfortunately does no justice to the quality of the food

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philinda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    496
    262
    110
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“superb fish n chips”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was the second time we visited Fish Bar. Finger licking good!!!
It was raining and we were hungry so we opted for takeaway which had a shorter queue
We sat in the car and had our haddock n chips, and all one could hear was 'munch munch" and little sighs of ecstasy now n then. Done to perfection with a crisp thin batter and seasoned well it was a simply superb meal. Keep it up guys. We're coming back for sure!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank radhikaminhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had longed to go here ever since they won the national fish and chip award. That was back in 2009 and they are sitting on their laurels as this was not the best of chippies.

It is a pain to queue but in anticipation of great fish and chips, we felt it worthwhile. It wasnt. We were simply on a treadmill of automation, disposable crockery, cutlery, weak tea, dry bread and so, so fish and chips. The fish was certainly fresh, the chips dry and well cooked but nothing that any chippy can turn out.

Talking to locals seems the chippy has new owners. Ah well. I left it too late but never mind. I'd go back but only for a take out, but I would have to be very hungry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodandTravel-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Busy”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Food good and queue well organised. Order taken in queue so food ready when you arrived at the counter, but can take up to an hour to get served at busy times, with queue down the street for take away and eat-in.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OlympicFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best fish and chips”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Freshly cooked, very tasty and cheap. The fish is excellent, nice crispy batter and the best chips I have had in long time. The only bad point is it is always very busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dede149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anstruther Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to Anstruther Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing