We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed is like sleeping in a cloud!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hazelton Guest House
Ranked #3 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bed is like sleeping in a cloud!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Firstly, David & Karen are wonderful hosts! They are genuinely friendly people who really give excellent customer service. It was a delight to meet them!

The B&B itself is an old Victorian building with good dimensions and is tastefully decorated. It's located in Crail which is a beautiful small harbour village, very near to St Andrews & perfect for a place to rest for the night if you're doing a tour of the east coast.

We stayed in the Superior King Size room with the sea views at the front of the house. The room is spacious, has a table & chairs, a sink in the room itself, as well as an en suite. The en suite is a bit small, and the shower isn't as powerful as some people may like, but it is adequate. One thing that I loved was the bed! SO COMFORTABLE! Definitely didn't have any problems sleeping.

Breakfast is perfect. Plenty of fruit, yoghurt, & cereals to choose from and the Full Scottish cooked breakfast is delicious. There are also other options if you're not a fan of a big breakfast.

Overall our stay at The Hazelton was a lovely experience & if we're ever staying in the area again I would not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: Superior King Size room has sea views, very spacious & a VERY comfortable bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
103
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The Hazelton B&B was excellent. & The décor was lovely (both stylish + comfortable). & David & Karen were outstanding hosts. They were very friendly & helpful, & nothing was too much trouble. Their attention to detail was outstanding! The Rooms were lovely & comfortable, & the luxurious toiletries were a great touch. & As for their lovely breakfasts = Excellent! I recommend The Hazelton B&B. Sigrid Light

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siggles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Excellent Guest House ... Lovely rooms with comfortable beds ... Attention to detail in all areas from the home baked shortbread and handy toiletries to the first class breakfast freshly cooked using local produce ... The Guest House is perfectly located to visit this beautiful part of the coastline and ideally situated for all the fabulous golf courses in the area ... David and Karen are perfect hosts very friendly and have a great knowledge of the area ... We can greatly recommend a stay at the Hazelton and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

David and Karen were very gracious and attentive to our party of four. We started the day with a full Scottish breakfast, which featured delicious home made marmalade. For dinner we crossed the street to the Golf Hotel Restaurant. Accomodation was comfortable and tastefully appointed. The printed walking tour hand out was very helpful in directing us to interestinig historical sights nearby.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russ Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Having never stayed in a B&B , i was wonderfully suprised by the large tastefully decorated double rooms. The sheets were the finest crisp white cotton and the cleansliness second to none. Breakfast was a treat, with lots of fresh fruit and an array of choice to be had, with the inclusion of the best, full scottish breakfast ive ever had. The personal touches karen and david (the proprietors) provide make this a little gem, in a beautifull part of the world and i couldnt recommend enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My friends and I had the good fortune to stay for 2 nights (June 4and 5) at this very lovely guest house. Karan and David are great hosts. They are warm and friendly and very helpful. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the breakfasts were excellent and very generous! We would highly recommend the Hazelton to anyone travelling to Crail. The location is perfect for enjoying the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We truly enjoyed our 4-night stay at the Hazelton Guest House over May Bank Holiday weekend. Crail was a nice base for St. Andrews, East Neuk villages and even trips further afield to Scone and Falkland Palaces.

Karen and David were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome without being overbearing. Breakfast was delicious and just the right portion (some places simply serve too much). The fresh fruit was a nice touch as was the homemade shortbread.

We had rooms 1&2 on the 1st (i.e. 1 up from the ground) floor for our family of 4. It was nice to have the larger room 2 for the adults particularly since we were there for 4 nights.

Wifi was great. The only niggle would be the low water pressure in the showers (at least in #2) but that's not always in their control.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_in_indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.3 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
79 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,067 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
132 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 10 in Anstruther
227 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 10 in Anstruther
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Guest House

Property: The Hazelton Guest House
Address: 29 Marketgate North, Crail KY10 3TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hazelton Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a former merchant's town house dating back to the 19th Century, The Hazelton enjoys a prominent position on the broad and attractive Marketgate in the heart of the village. Owned and run by Catherine and David Fraser, The Hazelton makes an ideal base for exploring the pretty East Neuk villages and beaches, walking the Fife Coastal Path, cycling, golfing, bird watching or just winding down. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hazelton Guest House Crail, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing