We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Crail!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hazelton Guest House
Ranked #3 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend watching the Dunhill Golf and stayed at the Hazelton Guest House, near Kingsbarns and St. Andrews. Karen and Dave were so welcoming on arrival and we just loved our ensuite room, so beautifully decorated. The lounge eating area took our breath away, huge open fire surround and again a delightfully room. Breakfast was delicious, beautifully cooked Scottish/English breakfast, not a scrap left on either plates. Plenty of cereals, fresh fruits, juices and toast too to choose from. An ideal place to walk (to walk off the breakfast!!), golf and to explore the local area and village. Fingers crossed we can get back next year, but thank you Karen and Dave, you made our short stay so worthwhile and a long lasting memory of the east Scottish coast.

Room Tip: Only one little tip . . book the Hazelton before anyone else does!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaGraphicsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Karen and David warmly welcome you to their home in lovely Crail, about 10 miles south of St. Andrews and far from the bustle of that beautiful town. The only down side is the need to drive to restaurants, but we're talking about 5 to 10 miles. Room 5 has a view of the North Sea (a 5-minute walk from the guest house), and is a bit small. We'd recommend room 4. Crail is peaceful and very picturesque and a good base for exploring castles, gardens, the beauty of the land and St. Andrews. Breakfast can be full Scottish, or eggs or salmon, they'll prepare what you want. There's also a selection of fresh fruit, cereals, coffee, etc.

Room Tip: Select room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Hazelton is beautiful property, well cared for by the owners, Karen and David who are charming, welcoming hosts. Our room #4 on the top floor was spotless, very spacious, with a view of the water and the bed was super comfortable. We are light sleepers and really appreciated how quiet it was. Breakfast room is lovely - all tables have fresh flowers and crisp linens. Excellent breakfast and must try Karen's home made granola with yoghurt and fresh fruit. We were lucky to leave with Karen's home granola bars for the drive to Inverness. Also recommend going to The Grange for dinner just outside of St. Andrews 15 mins away. Loved our 2 night stay at The Hazelton!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor so you get a view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed three nights in Crail at the Hazelton Guest House. David and Karen are the best hosts anyone could ever ask for. Everything from the moment we arrived was perfect! Clean, friendly, and a great breakfast. Next time we are in Crail we will definitely be back at the Hazelton Guest House! Thank you David and Karen for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjfitzuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were on our annual Open trip and stayed for total of 5 nights with the wonderful hosts Mr and Mrs Rae at this absolutely beautiful B&B. Location served us really well for our own golfing purposes at Crail, St.Andrews and Elie. Also not too far from Muirfield. Service by Karen and David was, and I am certain, always is warm, caring, helpful, easy going and very professional. Not a spot was found, all very clean and neat. Breakfast always as agreed and rich with variety. Dinner reservations, instructions how to get to places, the wether forecast and morning paper was delivered with a nice personal touch. All and all just perfect B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilkka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Hazelton has to be the best B&B I have ever stayed in, and this includes quite a bit of business and personal travel across the UK. From sumptuous rooms and tasteful decor to friendly and well-travelled owners, we couldn't have asked for more. When we arrived, feeling very hot and tired, we were fed a cooling cordial (at no extra charge) and swapped to a quiet room facing the back of the house. I can honestly say that I've not experienced better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I'm extremely well travelled and this is one of the best places I've seen. Crail itself is a fantastic place with two wonderful golf courses. It is also very convinient for St Andrews - around 15 min with a taxi.

The guest house is perfect. Location, cleanliness, style, breakfast and especially the warm and professional service. You will not find anything better than this in Scotland nor anywhere else. I cannot reccomend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: First floor has a great "master" bedroom, but anything is just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
152 reviews
3 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kalliope House B&B
Kalliope House B&B
#6 of 9 in Crail
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sauchope Links Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Guest House

Address: 29 Marketgate North, Crail KY10 3TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hazelton Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a former merchant's town house dating back to the 19th Century, The Hazelton enjoys a prominent position on the broad and attractive Marketgate in the heart of the village. Owned and run by Catherine and David Fraser, The Hazelton makes an ideal base for exploring the pretty East Neuk villages and beaches, walking the Fife Coastal Path, cycling, golfing, bird watching or just winding down. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hazelton Guest House Crail, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing