We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Hotel With Local Character”
Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Golf Hotel With Local Character”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

If you're on a golf trip to Scotland and want to stay at a place with local character, The Golf Hotel, fits the bill. The hotel is nestled in Crail, a beautiful and quaint fishing village 15 minutes south of St. Andrews. I spent four nights in late September and used it as a jumping off point for trips to Crail's golf courses and St. Andrews. Rooms are comfortable, and best of all you don't have to travel far for entertainment or dining. The hotel has it's own lively pub scene and an excellent restaurant serving breakfast and dinner. Hotel proprietor, Graham Guthrie, is totally focused on making sure his guests have a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    45
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
48
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Golf Hotel in Crail on Saurday 22nd September 2012 the staff were great and very helpful, the rooms were very clean and the room we were in had a great shower.
We had an evening meal and a very large breakfast the meals were fantastic.
The pub was busy and the locals were very friendly, great atmosphere in the bar.
A big thank you to Graham and Jackie for looking after all of us so well, we will be back next year.

Played golf at the Balcomie links very good course.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddtgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The food was excellent and the service was good. We ate there twice... The first time it was very busy but we had reserved table so no problem there.. We were a bit disappointed that the room we were in was set out like a cafe! The tables were set so close together it wouldn't do for romantic meal!! The second time we went the place was empty except for one table and guess where they sat us? Next to the occupied table! Another couple came in and guess what... they were seated next to us! A little more effort on the dinning area wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lister-Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We came to The Golf Hotel in Crail during our yachting holiday!!! We had deep fried Brie and mushrooms and a small ploughmans salad!!! The food was super and so was the friendly and very pretty young waitress!!! All in all a great place that's not to be missed!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schepdaal, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was the last of 5 hotels before going home. The Golf hotel is a charming but very busy hotel. There is a lot of attention for people in the restaurant, not enough for people staying overnight. There are only 4 or 5 rooms and the one we got was very clean and comfortable.
Crail is a friendly village and so are Anstruther, Pittenweem, St. Andrews, St. Monans etc. We were lucky : the weather was beautiful and we enjoyed 3 splendid days/nights in the area. Food was good but not special. The staff is friendly : one morning there was no fresh fruit as mentioned on the menu, immediately someone run to the nearest shop to buy strawberries and cherries. Thank you, if we are in the area, we will certainly come back.

Room Tip: After all, you get a lot for only 40 £. I heard that some people paid exact the same price for a B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

A first class small hotel,rooms ok,food v good, fish and chips first class,book in advance,close to all east nuek golf courses. close to harbour and town center.plenty for golfers and kids to do.Balcombie golf courses.
Parking is ok and only 5 mins from

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I use this hotel as a last resort for food. There is nothing wrong with it for food. Simple pub grub. The young staff try hard to keep it flowing as it gets really busy. They all smile and try hard. One girl even tried hard to welcome and speak French to a French couple: nice to see in monoglot Scotland!

My biggest issue is the unsmiling downright frosty non welcome in the bar.
There is a real feeling of ,you are not a local, so you can come in ,but we are not too happy about it! Go for a meal, but avoid the bar. They are not contenders for charmers of the year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluediamondtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.4 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Property: The Golf Hotel
Address: 4 High Street South, Crail KY10 3TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golf Hotel is a quality hotel, bar and restaurant in a 18th century Grade A listed building, perfect for a relaxing weekend away or golfing holiday. Situated in the picturesque village of Crail and with fantastic facilities and great food, visit us to wind down or for a weekend getaway. For golfers, Crail has two links courses and is perfectly situated for a trip to 'the home of golf', St Andrews. If you're simply looking to relax, the scenic coastal paths offer a fantastic opportunity to explore the stunning eastern coastline of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel Crail, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing