We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crail never fails”
Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Golf Hotel in Crail is an absolutely great pub - the bar is one of the warmest, friendliest places you will find to have drink anywhere and the food is always great. I had haggis timbale and chicken curry last night (a very busy New Years Day) and it was brilliant. The wee dining room is very cosy and the bar is one my favourites anywhere in the world. The staff are great and always up for a chat making you feel very welcome. Love it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank brifish67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfadmin, Manager at The Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you, we really do appreciate your review. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is situated in the centre of the village, lots of nearby parking. It is in an ideal spot for the Golf Course and for Crail Airfield/Raceway.... We eat here quite a few times during the year and without fail we always get good friendly service and excellent food. Lots of fresh local produce. We sometimes book for between 15 to 20 folks for a meal and they always arrange for us to have a big seating area together and accommodate all the different food needs eg children and vegetarians. The staff always look smart and chat away to you with a smile on their faces. We have had friends stay there and they have always been very happy with the accommodation and service. I would definitely recommend The Golf Hotel....

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cossyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After a visit to St Andrews and not been able to find an honest advertisement of a dog friendly pub we travelled to Crail. Our dog was most welcome in the bar area of the golf hotel and was even given a biscuit .
We ordered our meals, starter and main course which were absolutely fantastic and great value for money . There was no hesitation from the staff when we ordered chicken strips for our dog as his holiday great.
Will definitely return and will most certainly recommend .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryDoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have eaten many times in the Golf Hotel over the years but more consistently this year. The hotel has character is very old and has lots of character. The small bar is very cosy. There is a good selection of food ranging from fish and chips, salad, chilli, steak pie etc. High teas and rates for OAP's also available. There is very little choice in Crail for food but I would recommend the Golf Hotel for if you are looking for food in a relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant could do with a facelift but the food is good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieQE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Was originally heading to the honeypot for breakfast but that was shut so opted for the golf hotel, wasnt disappointed, my son had full breakfast and I had the pancakes, eggs and bacon, fussy daughter had lots of toast, no complaints here great value for money £17 including drinks, waitress nice and friendly, will go back next visit to crail

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ailsaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stopped for an evening meal in the Golf during early July 2013. Restaurant feels a bit dated and décor has an early 1990s feel to it, but I am not going to be overall negative about that because it was clean and I would imagine that some guests like a more ‘traditional’ setting.

Food was quite bland and standard pub fare, in my opinion it was quite expensive. Menu consists of pretty standard fish and chips, stake pie etc. Again I realise that this is a pub/ restaurant but for the money I was left disappointed by the choice and quality.

Staff and service was good so no complaints there.

Overall, the Golf is fine, but don’t go there for something special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Called 5 minutes before descending on them for an unplanned family meal. Ended up dining at 5pm on a Friday evening and the restaurant was already full. We were happy enough to sit in the small lounge where the staff were happy to push tables together to accommodate us. We decided to have the high tea menu. The food was up to its usual high standard and staff were happy to top up the tea throughout. Only disappointment was the pancake and cakes - felt they were all of the same kind of idea but home made cake none the less. Pancake could have been used as a frisbee but edible! Will be back soon no doubt

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Papasmurffsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfadmin, Owner at The Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for giving us such great feedback on your TripAdvisor review following your visit to our establishment. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it. I have shared all your kind comments with our team and we are all very appreciative. I note your comment about the cakes and pancakes and will look into this.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Graham Guthrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.4 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
83 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,318 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 9 in Anstruther
429 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
441 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambo House, Cambo Estate
Cambo House, Cambo Estate
#2 of 3 in Kingsbarns
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Address: 4 High Street South, Crail KY10 3TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Price Range: £87 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golf Hotel is a quality hotel, bar and restaurant in a 18th century Grade A listed building, perfect for a relaxing weekend away or golfing holiday. Situated in the picturesque village of Crail and with fantastic facilities and great food, visit us to wind down or for a weekend getaway. For golfers, Crail has two links courses and is perfectly situated for a trip to 'the home of golf', St Andrews. If you're simply looking to relax, the scenic coastal paths offer a fantastic opportunity to explore the stunning eastern coastline of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel Crail, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing