We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Thanks Morgan for your great hospitality and saving our holiday which started out in the awful Balcomie Links Hotel. Our room was enormous with beautiful seaview.It was a very cold weekend but the heating in the room was on at all times. I loved all the quirky antiques scattered around the hotel. The breakfast room was amazing with a baby grand piano in front of a beautiful fireplace which was lit. The full breakfast was lovely and there were lots of other things to choose from such as cereal,fruit even tea for hangovers! It was great eating our breakfast while appreciating the amazing sea view.Lovely garden at the back of the hotel with tables and chairs and steps leading right down to the sea.The staff were very friendly,polite and helpful. Thank goodness we had such a bad experience in the other hotel otherwise we may never have discovered this gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    29
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
21
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portobello, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Our recent stay at the Marine Hotel for a family renuion was nothing short of magical! The perfect host Morgan could not do enough to ensure we were comfortable and well looked after.

The rooms are stunning and immaculate! The breakfast is wonderful and the staff are incredibly welcoming.

Stay at this place!

Mr and Mrs McIntosh - Portobello

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fuby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel for a pre booked weekend stay we were greeted by the owner, Morgan. As has been said by other reviewers, Morgan is a very colourful character, though was pleasant and courteous, and offered advice on places to visit and to eat in the local area. After a slight mix up with our booking, which was quickly resolved, he carried my bag up to our room which was much appreciated as it was on the top floor and, being female, I don't travel light.

The hotel occupies an excellent position in the town, close to the harbour and local shops etc. The garden is lovely though the hotel itself does seem a bit dated and in need of a makeover, the decor throughout is very tired and the lounge/dining area is pretty cluttered. We have no complaints about our room which, though mismatched, was spacious and clean, with excellent views of the sea. Breakfast certainly wasn't a highlight of our stay, with some items over or under cooked, so we opted to have a lie in on the second morning and have a late breakfast elsewhere.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable weekend. Crail itself is a lovely place to visit and we were fortunate enough to have good weather, which allowed us to explore the town and enjoy walks along the harbour and seafront. There are some nice cafe's and resteraunts close to the hotel. We had a lovely meal on both nights in the nearby East Neuk Hotel, as recommended by Morgan. The fruit scone's at Julie's cafe on the High Street are delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed at the Marine for one night and wished I could have stayed longer. The views from the garden were way more than I could have wished for. Morgan who owns the hotel is so much part of the hotel; both complimenting one and other. Before I left, I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We agree with all the positive comments about this hotel. The owner Morgan is full of life and charm and made our visit more pleasurable. He gave us fantastic advice on where to go in St Andrews and into the Highlands. The views from the hotel over the sea are stunning. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and filled us up for the remainder of the day. Excellent value for money. Well done Morgan!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

A quirky hotel, with lots of character. Good value for money with a great location, lovely views and a fab breakfast. The owner, Morgan, is a real character, and delivers quite a unique experience. Don't expect luxury, but expect a warm, friendly and eccentric Scottish welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK-KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

You haven't been to Crail, if you haven't met Morgan the owner of The Marine. Yes he's relaxed but then so did we. He wants you to have fun and enjoy our stay. A bit like visiting your naughty uncle that your not supposed to like. The Hotel has great views from the cliff top garden. I don't know how often the piano gets used in the bar but it looks good. Music fills the air keeping up the feel good air and charm. More choices on the breakfast bar than you can point a fishing spear at. No it doesn't have any high bling bathrooms but the shower was better than most of these I have used recently, i.e. plenty of strong hot water. Accidentally left a bag behind, it was safe in Morgans Hotel till I returned.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.4 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
0.1 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: 54 Nethergate South, Crail KY10 3TZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please come and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Crail, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing