We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Perhaps a little understaffed and the kitchen looked like a bomb site, but enjoyed two super nights here, with fantastic sea view and good breakfast. Service was fine and friendly, decent value and we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIAFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2010

loved the holiday, beautiful area, great view. the owner is a character and v relaxed. quite a nice change. felt very welcome. the breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and just ask to have things cooked any way you choose. as other reviewer said, he apparently didnt have time to check the room!! The room was fine, and he was happy to do/give anything we asked. plenty of chat about the local area and how and where to go crabbing etc. i would agree with previous reviewer except this relaxed style suited us. I can see how it could be irritating. I would say though that the evening meals are not very nice, in fact the sauce on my steak was inedible. We are not picky, and i definately would not eat dinner there again, rather have a poke of chips! Never-the-less we may go back this year for the view, the weather and the chat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RufusRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I stayed in the hotel for the 12th of august to the 15th, we were greeted by the owner who was very nice and sorted the rooms out and showed us around, when we booked the hotel he did mention the fact of a party on the first and that we were welcome to go for a while and enjoy the fireworks display. the music wasnt at a very loud volume so we were able to get to sleep with no problem, the morning after the lounge and dining room were all clean and it looked like a party hadnt even happened, even though the staff did look like they had had a good time. throughout our stay all the staff were very nice giving us advise on where to go and what there was to do in the village, all in all the trip was very good and i am hoping to book the marine for this year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

my husband and i spent 3 nights b/b 10thaugust2009
we were met by owner dressed in sarong and flipflops .
he told us our room top floor .quote i hope it is okay i have not checked the room .
breakfast 0830/0930 fine says i
first morning we waited 40 minutes for our bacon and egg may i add along with the rest of the guests 20 in total i can only guess one frying pan.
second morning 20 minute wait and third morning no breakfast at all .thus i will explain
the owner held a party the previous evening loud music and firework display .
for his friends not guests .i did wonder if i was in Ibiza or crail .
so the next morning staff hung over did not report for work until 0845hrs .
looking as though they had been up all night .
the sittingroom/ dining a mess from the party stinking of stale booze . stale cigs ,glasses lying about in other word a shambles
hence no breakfast for the guests at this time i did ask the owner where we
were having breakfast who in turn asked if we could bear with him .
in otherwords he still had to prepare tables etc etc .
so my answer to that was no way i had an appt in Glasgow
and we could not wait bear in mind each day they took ages to serve you cooked breakfast so you could imagine what time we would have to wait .
no chance so my advice to people out ther do not book the Marine hotel .
the only good thing about the marine is the view from your backbedroom window .

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank FifeScotlandBuntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ROBINADIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Be om havsutsikt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannaspangberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.4 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
83 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,315 reviews
13.3 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
0.1 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
148 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 54 Nethergate South, Crail KY10 3TZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please come and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Crail, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing