We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I don't need a sentence! Perfection!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Stylish cottage by the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stylish cottage by the sea
Master Bedroom Master Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Stylish cottage by the sea
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom 2
Master bedroom
Living room 1
Living Room 2
Kitchen
Cottage above harbour
Second Bedroom with twin beds
Second bedroom with twin beds converted to a super king bed
Local fishing boat
The cottage from Shoregate
Nearby East Neuk village of Anstruther
View from terrace
Cottage from Castle Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WelyDoug
Welwyn Garden, Herts.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I don't need a sentence! Perfection!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

First you see a fantastic site and exterior and then it gets better! The house is beautifully furnished an equipped. The welcome basket was much ... welcomed! All the components of a lovely house seem to have been incorporated. ( I'm not really a bed connoisseur but we never had less than a full nights sleep during our stay.) Crail itself hasn't really changed since my last visit several decades ago but contains all the shops (Coop open until 10.00pm) and services (Buses connecting with St Andrews and Leven) you could wish for. The house has an amazing range of CDs, DVDs and reading matter to fill up any spare time, - should you have any..

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2017
We appreciate it when our guests take the time to give us feedback - and this is wonderful feedback. Glad you mentioned the very comfy superking bed in the master bedroom. Glad too to hear that Crail has not changed in decades - thats the way we like it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alec p
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife booked no.21 as a surprise for us inc our Steve the puggle
WOW, what a beautiful location , spotlessly clean , beautifully presented and well worth the 9 hour journey which inc 2 hrs worth of stops
The Fife coastal path walks are a must
We walked both up and down but for us the walk north ending up in Kingsbarns (9.7 miles)was the one
Walking alongside literally Crail golf course and ending up at Kingsbarns which is out of this world to look at
On both walks we caught the no.95 bus back
We stayed for 5 nights but we all said we could have stayed for another week
Coming home after long walks to settle down to good old fashioned board games in the kitchen diner was a perfect end to our busy days
Very well kitted out kitchen and nothing missed off inc torches, spare lamp bulbs which I replaced one of , treats for our puggle, a lovely welcome basket of local treats plus Xmas cake which we brought home to finish off and did so today whilst visiting the inlaws now we're back
Thank you no.21 - a truly great find and surprise, my Emma did us proud !
The puns

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Your review is a great start to the New Year for us at 21 Shoregate: glad to hear you had a go at the board games and enjoyed the Christmas cake - it's made by a friend of our housekeeper's mum in her country kitchen, we love it too. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob592
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic seaside cottage, perfect.”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at 21 Shoregate for a week in early October 2016. Such a delightful, cozy, beautifully decorated cottage in one of our favourite places, Crail in East Neuk of Fife, Scotland. The whole experience, from booking onwards was a pleasure. The position of 21 Shoregate was amazing and perfect for anytime of the year. It is just a couple of minutes' walk to the charming ancient harbour and right in the centre of Crail. The back garden was a lovely setting to read, have a meal or tea and enjoy the views of the Firth of Forth and the North Sea. The location allows one to easily explore all of Fife, including St. Andrews. Although we live far away from Scotland, we will definitely try to haste ye back. Wish we could give 6 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say....it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you for the glowing review - we greatly appreciate it and love your comment about 6 stars!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine P
Park City, Montana
1 review
“Such a delightful cottage!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were looking for a place to stay in Crail and this property was all we could hope for and more. Charming cottage. Would absolutely recommend . Easy access to bus,market, and coastal walking paths.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
So glad to hear you were charmed by the cottage - thank you for the lovely review and haste ye back to bonny Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice M
2 reviews
“Perfect !”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is the perfect home away from home. The location to town and the harbor made it the ideal pkace to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location...location...location.
Liked least: Nothing...it was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the cottage and its location above the harbour - thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy61201...
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“East Neuk Heaven”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Myself and my wife have just returned from a fabulous short break in 21 Shoregate.
The cottage is excellent in both decor and location, the east neuk is a special part of Scotland. Highly recommended for enjoying lovely walks, pubs and eateries all on your doorstep.
We will certainly return.
Many thanks Susan the cottage met all our requirements and more !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
Delighted to hear how much you liked the cottage and the East Neuk of Fife. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davey1tom
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“21 Shoregate”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have holidayed in Crail for the past 14 years .... And this place was a hidden gem. We've walked past so many times and having stayed here now, we're kicking ourselves!

Everything about 21 Shoregate shouts quality. Fixtures & fittings. Soft furnishings. Nick knacks, ornaments ... etc. all bring a homely welcoming feeling as soon as you step through the front door.

Nothing has been forgotten including a really thoughtful welcome basket. This fisherman's cottage is truly inviting. The bed is super comfy and like the cottage, cosy, warm and and clean. It's a little bit of beautifully decorated heaven.

Thx to Susan for arrangements, ensuring our visit added another Crail memory.

Read the rest of the reviews .... They all embody 21 Shoregate.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Can't believe you walked past the door for 14 years - glad you finally came in! Thanks for your fantastic review. Haste ye back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing