We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect spot from which to explore county...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crail Posthouse

Main Bathroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Main Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset
Sitting Room
Crail Harbour
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner
Lobster creels at Crail Harbour
Main Bathroom
Kitchen Diner
Castle Walk
2nd Bathroom
Local Ceramic
Staircase
Main Bathroom
View from Sitting Room: Crail High Street
Roomebay
Beach near Balcomie, Crail
Heron, Roomebay, Crail
Pittenweem
Crail Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect spot from which to explore county Fife, far (but not too far) from the madding crowd.”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a great place to spend the week. The house was well equipped, the common living room kitchen is spacious as are two of the bedrooms, and the upstairs bath. Wi-fi worked well enough. The welcome basket with coffee and biscuits was much appreciated.

Yes you can buy postage stamps with your phone, but honestly everything digital could stop tomorrow and Crail wouldn't skip a beat. The green grocer, chemist, co-op, baker, butcher, post office, chip shop and pub are all within a stones throw of the Posthouse and each other.

We hated to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thanks very much Mark. And hadn't really thought about Crail not needing the digital age but you're right! We do hope you'll return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparklywa...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful winter weekend break!”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I booked the post house for a relaxing winter break and got exactly what we had hoped for. The house is as described on the website and is well equipped throughout. The added extras such as toiletries and an arrival pack made it even more special.
For us the fact that the post house welcomes dogs was a huge bonus with our labrador retriever also thoroughly enjoying her stay!
Crail is a beautiful village with interesting shops to peruse. The coastal walk is also very enjoyable. We found all the people we met to be welcoming and friendly. Crail is also an excellent base to explore other areas of the Fife coast and we enjoyed doing this.
Every part of our stay from initial enquiries to booking was as simple and straightforward as possible, we would recommend the post house to anyone considering a stay in Fife and hope to be back again ourselves very soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
1 review
“A stylish, relaxing, dog friendly property right in the heart of Crail!”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Crail Posthouse is a stylish, yet easy to feel at home in property, in the very heart of the village.
Parking outside was not normally a problem and the the property has main door access between the very good fish and chip and a small gift shop.
The Posthouse is situated above the gift shop and there is zero noise from either the shop or the chippy. No chip smells either!
The place is very easy to step into and feel right at home from the off.
Think...oak floors, original windows, big leather sofas, coal effect gas fire, big kitchen with everything you need and more. Comfortable beds with crisp white sheets, a toilet/shower downstairs and a huge shower and free standing bath in the big bathroom on the top floor. There is a small but cosy room to relax and read or play chess in on the top floor and you can definitely see the sea from here and also the master bedroom. Touches like quality toiletries in little baskets and big white fluffy towels and bathrobes and a little basket of coffee and shortbread etc. on arrival add to the quality experience.
We enjoyed watching village life, the sea and fantastic sunsets life from the big corner window in the living room, in fact this is what makes the place so extra special. We found passing traffic was minimal we didn't even notice any noise pollution.
Step outside and you have a quality butcher on the opposite side of the street as well as a cafe/gallery and a little further along a very good greengrocer with a fresh fish counter.
100m or so on the same side is a co-op which opens until 11pm and a wholefood shop which is very well stocked with quality produce. We didn't try the pub but everyone says it is very good.
The harbour is a few minutes stroll a way and there are numerous walks along the coast. St Andrews is 20 minutes away by car - handy for shooting back if you accidentally leave the kids scooter in a car park like we did!
Prices to stay seem average for the area.
We loved our time in the Posthouse and can recommend a holiday here as the place is in a great location and a lot of thought and detail has gone into making it a bit special.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2008milks...
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful winter weekend!”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My husband and I wanted to book a long weekend break, not too far from home, to enjoy some quality time together after being apart for a few months due to work.
I had previously seen this property recommended on a Facebook thread about dog friendly accomodation, and thankfully the name of the house had stuck in my mind.
Communication with David was great from start to finish - an absolute pleasure in fact!
When we arrived I admit I was slightly concerned to see a fish and chip restaurant adjacent to the house, however there is absolutely no smell of cooking/frying within whatsoever. And although we did not visit the restaurant it looks charming and we saw many patrons enjoying a 'sit down chippy tea'...many accompanied with a bottle of wine. Very civilised!!
The house itself is exactly as described on the website, and is beautifully furnished and finished throughout. My personal favourite room is the top floor bathroom, for both the bath and the stained glass window.
The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you may need, and the welcome hamper is a nice touch. All appliances are easy to use and the property is spotlessly clean.
We were very comfortable, and warm, during our stay.
The village itself is lovely and is served well by various shops and a couple of pubs. Despite being situated on the High St, the house is private and there is only minimal noise from outside.....it's not exactly a bustling metropolis!!
We had a great time, as did our dogs, and would love to return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thanks very much Kathryn -delighted you enjoyed the house and Crail and do hope you'll return with your dogs some time! David & Marysia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil K
Denny, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“crailposthouse delivers”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

stayed at posthouse from sun 30th oct for 4 nights,what a fantastic break we had along with our dog Oscar.our stay got of to a great start with a welcome pack waiting for us on arrival. house was in great location right in heart of Crail close to all amenities and with access to great walks on fife coastal path. house itself was clean and cosy with open fire in lounge which was needed after long walks. two toilets and 3 bedrooms offered more space than we required with upstairs bathroom superb with walk in shower and roll top bath. all in all a fabulous house in beautiful setting and we will most definately return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house itself and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPCHenley...
Henley on Thames
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really sorry to say this was not as we expected. It is billed as a luxury house and that is what I thought we had paid for. Firstly, it's not a house, it's at best a maisonette in that you go in through the ground floor front door and go up the stairs to the living accommodation. So there is no ground floor space and no outside area whatsoever. It is located in the middle of the high street, a relatively busy street, and the day is punctuated with the sounds of buses and lorries going past. It is also next door to a fish and chip shop. So there are people outside, parking and queueing and driving off and you hear all of it from the front room, the front bedroom and the upstairs bedroom. You also have the smell of the frying a good deal of the time. You walk in straight off the main road and if you park right outside then you are running the risk of eager fish and chip shoppers parking a little too closely when you want to get out.

Also, luxury? It's not so luxurious. The living accommodation is basically one room with the kitchen through to the living room. The main light and one side light are the only available lights and we ended up bringing a light in from one of the bedrooms so we were not sitting with the main light on all the time. The kitchen fittings are "fragile". Doors don't fit brilliantly. The amazing rose head shower in the top floor bathroom is lovely as long as you don't shower for more than 4 minutes as otherwise the plug cannot cope with the water and it overflows onto the floor, as evidenced by the damp patch on the kitchen ceiling.

You are also told that you will get a basket of local products (admittedly replaced when necessary) but (amongst other items) a loaf of Warburtons and some co-op jam wasn't really what we were led to expect. The local shops are Amazing, a great butchers, bakers, deli/grocery. As well as the little co-op supermarket. Local cheeses are also easily available (really recommend Ardross Farm Shop) and the little hamper was just a bit disappointing as a result. This isn't significant in the usual run of things but it's just another example of where we thought we were paying for one thing and got another.

Simply put it's just too expensive for what it is. We paid £660 for a week. We walked along the sea front and saw amazing looking houses with views right over the sea (see attached for the actual view from the front bedroom at the Posthouse) and they are at most the same price (admittedly I don't know how many bedrooms there are). I wish I'd read the review of the 4th February 2015 as would have to agree with it. I feel that we were overcharged and that the website is frankly misleading. The photo of the "View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset " is a mystery to me, it must have been taken with a camera with a significant zoom lens.

The owners seem lovely. there was a misunderstanding about linen and it was fixed in a matter of minutes. They have followed up with another query. I am sorry that I felt this review necessary but I would not recommend this place - particularly at this price - and do think the website and write up could be a little more accurate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rose head shower was nice. Also the lovely bed linen.
Liked least: Noisy, expensive and not as described.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thanks for taking the time to give a review. We do appreciate that it is disappointing if you feel that a property doesn't meet your expectations. However, we do try to provide full and accurate information so potential guests can make informed decisions and so feel we need to respond to your comments in some detail.
1 We're rather perplexed by your comments on luxury. I guess it depends on what you consider luxurious. All we can say is that we have fitted/furnished the house with quality leather settees, solid oak floors and stone tile floors, mostly solid oak furniture, up today TV & Audio, local artworks and one-off photos, quality textiles, a very large main bathroom with freestanding bath, feather quilts & pillows, royal doulton crockery and cutlery....We think that's fairly high spec and just as described in our website.
2 We do not say on our website or listing that the house has a ground floor or garden. It is the middle and top floor of the former Post Office House. Yes there is some street noise during the day as we are in the centre of a (mostly relatively quite) functioning village. That may or may not suit some people.
3 We made the kitchen/diner and the sitting room partially open plan because we like that and so do a number of people. The sitting room is a reasonable size with 2 double settees - and there's a small 2 seat additional sitting room upstairs with a cast iron heater.
4 We note your comment on the sitting room lighting and may buy another lamp (though the overhead spotlights do dim of course)
5 No one has previously mentioned a problem with the shower draining - if you'd told us we'd have fixed it.
6 Our included welcome pack includes prosecco (champagne in the winter), butter, free range eggs, kettle crisps, green and black's chocolate, shortbread and fair trade ground coffee. Sometimes we provide equivalents if we've run out. We don't say we provide specifically local produce except the bread is usually local organic if available. We don't provide co-op jam - someone must have left that.
7 The kitchen is a reasonably expensive John Lewis kitchen. We are surprised you find at fragile and poorly fitting. We've had the same kitchen in our own house for 10 years and find it well made and attractive.
8 There is no mystery about the photo you mention. Later in the year the sun moves south and sets over the lower rooftops. The photo was taken from the top floor bedroom with a not very long lens. Many people seem to like the views from the top over the roofs and along the (mostly 18th c) street.
We will however review our website and listing in the light of your comments to see if anything needs clarification or updating. As you'll have seen almost all our (unsolicited) reviews from a wide range of guests are excellent and although we can't suit everyone we do recognise the importance of meeting expectations!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dog friendly heaven”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I found this place to stay on a dog friendly website, that said we emailed to check it was ok to bring our beloved whippet with us on this trip to see my wife's family who are all over Fife & Edinburgh We live a long way away and for us we need a real shoulder drop haven for a week of R & R running the dog on the West Sands in St Andrews

For us this place has special memories as her aunt and uncle lived just up from the harbour and we have returned several times in the last decade but never stayed in Crail So this week has a very high meaning for us as a family and we were excited by the photos and very friendly emails from David when we booked

Walking in was instantly a shoulder drop of epic proportions, my daughter is a budding photographer and loves the art and pictures on the walls, the house is decorated beautifully in the Scottish vernacular with lots of tartan rugs and curtains It is massively homely with sofas, tvs and welcoming beds

There is a deep soak a day a way bath that is to die for and beds that make you fall into a wonderful sleep

Jazzy (our whippet) is also catered form with bowls and a dog blanket and loves the small beach by the harbour as her watering spot

Crail is as beautiful as ever, I think we are just so pleased that we chose this place to stay as its making our week one we will talk about for years and want to return to often so its not just dog heaven but also our heaven

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No garden but it wasnt advertised and we didnt expect it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing