We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely flat”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Old Granary

The Old Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Granary
Lounge/Diningroom Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The Old Granary
Lounge/Diningroom
Kitchen
Hall
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Crail Harbour
Pitenweem fish market where you can buy fresh prawns
Lighthouse on May Island
Boat leaving May Island
Crail Golf Course Club House
Beach at Crail Golf Courses
The launching of our boat at Crail Harbour
Seals on May Island
18th Hole at the balcomie course at Crail golf courses
Cooked lobster caught from our boat
Live lobster before it was cooked
Crail Harbour
Beach at east of Harbour
Sand sculpture of the May Island at Crail Festival
Beach at East of Harbour during Crail Food Festival
Crail Harbour during food festival
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely flat”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Excellent accommodation, lovely spacious flat in the middle of a lovely village. very well equipped.with everything you could need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location great and accommodation excellent
Liked least: WiFi hit and miss and no phone reception
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review 'The Old Granary'. We frequently stay in self-catering accommodation ourselves and find it really makes such a difference when the facility is comfortable and well-equipped. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope to see you again. With best wishes,
Susan and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alastairh...
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a very relaxing week here in Crail staying at the Old Granary however we did not have a sea view which we had on previous visits. The apartment is very well appointed and modern; everything you need is there for you. The welcoming bottle of wine was a nice touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review 'The Old Granary'. - I am delighted that you had a nice, relaxing week and found everything that you needed in the apartment. Unfortunately, the apartment doesn't have a sea view but is only a few minutes walk to the harbour and beaches. With very best wishes, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenkatslo...
Nederland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a few very good days in The Old Granary/Seagull's Rest. It was very clean and very good equipped with pans and pots and so on. A very good wifi-connection. The apartment is a short walk away from the little harbour of Crail and shops/restaurants. We had a very good meal by the neighbours (East Nuck Hotel) and the fish/chips restaurant in the village. We recommand The Old Granary when you will stay in Crail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your very kind review! We were delighted to welcome you Crail and very pleased that you found the apartment clean and well-equipped. Great also to hear that you enjoyed some good meals in Crail. Best wishes,
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steiff
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at The Old Granary and had a lovely few days there, the house is very comfortable , with everything you need for a relaxing break. It is only minutes from picturesque Crail Harbour and beach. ..great for children with rock pools and a swing park..Susan the owner provided tea , coffee, and lovely toiletries which is a lovely gesture. The beds are comfy and there are plenty of books and games to keep you busy if you are nit out and about the lovely Fife coast. The bus stop is just round the corner to St. Andrews and Anstruther. . Nice little local shops with a very good chip shop and butchers.Would recommend this little holiday house for a restful few days away from it all. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and overall presentation of the accomodation
Liked least: Footsteps and noise from above , but not too bad
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review 'The Old Granary'!

I very much appreciate your kind comments about the apartment and am delighted that you enjoyed your break in Crail.

With very best wishes,
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frogonast...
Lancashire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely little place in a lovely little village”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for a week whilst visiting the Open Championship in St Andrews.

The accommodation has everything you need for a comfy stay with crockery, glasses, guide books, games and free wi-fi. The rooms are spacious and beds comfy. The only negative is that is an old property and you tend to hear every movement from the upstairs apartment which isn't ideal if you are a light sleeper.

The apartment is an ideal location for exploring Crail on foot and the rest of Fife by Car.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review 'The Old Granary'.

I am glad that you found the apartment well-equipped and comfortable and hope that any sound that you heard from the apartment on the first floor didn't spoil your stay.

Best wishes,
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamonR
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very comfortable apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 4 nights with the dog for a short break. The apartment is well equipped, clean and comfortable. We were welcomed on arrival by Susan the owner who made us feel very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: Some noise from upstairs when occupied.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope that we may welcome you back to 'The Old Granary' or 'Seagull's Rest' again sometime! best wishes,
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C
York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very well presented appartment”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We just spent a happy week in Crail. This apartment is beautifully presented and every thought has gone in to providing all that is needed for a self catering holiday. Our dog was also welcome and finishing touches like a bottle of wine and tasty cookies along with amazing toiletries really made it special. Thank you Susan, we loved it.
The only down side is a general lack of mobile phone signals in Crail ... so wi fi would be so helpful. However I also recommend 'Coast' coffee shop in Pittenweem - great food and free wifi :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Many, many thanks for your kind review! We have tried hard to provide everything's that's needed for an enjoyable stay in both our 'Old Granary' and Seagull's Rest' holiday apartments and it is really gratifying when we hear that this has helped make for a pleasant stay! Several of our guests have suggested that Wi-Fi would be a welcome addition to the apartments and we are actually just in the process of having it installed in 'Seagull's Rest' and hope to have it installed in 'The Old Granary' later this year! Again, many thanks! With very best wishes,

Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing