We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Troustrie House B&B
Ranked #2 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a welcome - cake, shortbread and coffee on arrival. And the impeccable standards were maintained throughout our stay. Four poster bed, immaculate decor, birdsong on tap and friendly, efficient, first class service from Lesley.
Views to die for, fascinating, well-travelled guests but peace and quiet inside and out should you wish. Nothing is too much trouble for Lesley. Fantastic breakfast menu, with locally sourced organic food.
Trust me, you should try try Troustrie.
Michael and Lorna B

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjfbaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review and it was wonderful to meet you both, albeit by chance. I hope to perhaps see you again the next time you come up to visit your family or you need a breath of fresh Fife air. And of course some marmalade! With best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Troustrie House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Excellent three night stay, tastefully decorated, quiet with good views, great varied breakfast and hospitality from Lesley, can only recommend if visiting the East Neuk/St. Andrews area. One of the best places we've stayed at in the UK over the last few years.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntBrBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to meet you both. Wishing you good luck with your plans for the future and I hope to perhaps see you again at Troustrie some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I decided with my husband to select Troustrie house based on the comments on Trip advisor together with various pictures online. I would highly recommend that anyone who is considering this accommodation to take on board all the comments, as in my opinion, they fit to a tee. When we first arrived, Lesley was there to greet us with great enthusiasm and couldn't be any more helpful. We stayed in the Shelly coat room containing the four poster bed and I can only say - absolute luxury. The room was very spacious, especially the bathroom and the bed was really comfy. Breakfast is arranged the night before which is great because we didn't have to wait long to eat, plus whilst you wait, Lesley provides you with a selection of fresh fruit. In terms of things to do, me and my husband went for lovely a walk that surrounds Troustrie. The brilliant aspect to this accommodation is where it is located. There are many attractions within a reasonable traveling distance such as Anstuther and St, Andrews. Overall I would highly recommend Troustrie house not only because of what i have mentioned so far but, specifically because of how much you are made to feel at home and how peaceful the accommodation is.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope to do so again at sometime in the future. Good luck, A, with the studying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We have stayed in lots of bed and breakfast accommodation and Troustrie House compares very favourably. We particularly appreciated the friendly but unfussy welcome, the quality of the bedroom and en suite facilities,the sense of space from the view, the relaxed atmosphere and the top notch, delicious breakfasts. Our future visits to Fife and the East Neuk will be enhanced if there is a room for us at Troustrie House.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thank you for your review. It was good to meet you both, and I hope you had a good journey home. Looking forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. With best wishes and keep on running!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is a great place to stay. The accomodation in Troustrie is superb. The furnishings in the house have been meticulously chosen, from the bedroom to the lounge ,where you can relax in the evening, to the dining room where you are served a great Scottish breakfast, freshly cooked by Lesley. The house is in a great rural location allowing you to enjoy the tranquility ,and explore the many walks from the house to the surrounding coastline. An ideal base for us to play the famous golf courses in this area.We will be back to stay again soon.
David and Valerie

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidd191277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thanks for your review and it was good to see you both once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had an excellent 2 nights at Troustrie House.

We got a very friendly welcome in this traditional Scottish house, beautifully located in the field, with a great view. It is very quiet. The interior is very stylishly decorated. We ended the day with a small drink in the cozy and comfortable drawing room with the wood burner for added atmosphere.

The bedroom provided very good beds, the bathroom was spacious and well equipped. Next morning we had a fully cooked breakfast to our choice, great ingredients and very well prepared. All this on a nicely set up breakfast table with fresh peeled fruits and all other items.

All in all superb hospitality in a great surrounding.

We will definitely come back next time we will visit Crail. (and we will, sadly we could not play any golf, because of the snow…..)

Vincent and Boris (father and son)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thanks Vince and Boris - it was nice to meet you both, and hope to do so again later this year when surely the weather will be better and you'll get your game of golf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We discovered Troustrie over five years ago and have been regular visitors ever since. Troustrie House is a haven in the Kingdom of Fife, commanding magnificent views of the Firth of Forth. Lesley provides comfortable and relaxing hospitality in a friendly yet professional environment. The house is immaculately kept, and after an excellent breakfast, provides easy access to all the attractions Fife has to offer, including the fishing villages of the East Neuk, the coastal paths and, not least, the golfing ‘mecca’ of St. Andrews.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, General Manager at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for your review and I look forward to seeing you both once again in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.0 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 9 in Anstruther
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troustrie House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troustrie House B&B

Address: Third Part Holdings, Crail KY10 3XD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Price Range: £35 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly renovated traditional Georgian farmhouse, set in a quiet rural location. Troustrie offers four star quality in two south facing bedrooms with spacious en-suite bathrooms – a 5 ft fourposter for a romantic stay, or a twin room. Guests also have the exclusive use of a drawing room with cosy woodburner. All home cooking uses organic, free-range and local produce wherever possible. Plenty of off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Troustrie House B&B Crail, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing