We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility away from a busy day”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Troustrie House B&B
Ranked #2 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We needed a place to stay whilst travelling up from south of England to settle our daughter into St Andrews University. Our stay at Troustrie offered the perfect place to escape to in the evening after what was a stressful, busy and exhausting day. We were met by a wonderful hostess with a much needed cup of tea and shortbread, a beautiful bedroom with views to die for and a lovely victorian bath to soak in.

The spacious house is very homely but done out very tastefully full of books & magazines to relax with. Our breakfast was cooked to perfection with a variety of options available and the owner spoilt us with homemade pancakes on the side.

We left (reluctantly) knowing that this one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in and will definately return when we visit out daughter.

PS. We left a pen and hairclip in the room which was returned to us by royal mail! Personal touch? Definately!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello W&B - thank you so much for your review, and I'm glad the package arrived safely! Do hope your daughter has settled into Uni OK and perhaps see you again on your next trip north. Best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Had an excellent 3 night stay in a spacious (and very comfortable) four poster bed. The bathroom was spacious and the house old and full of character. The owner of the B&B was very friendly and welcoming and provided cake and drink upon our arrival, which was gratefully received. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, with a wide range of choices each morning.
Overall a lovely place to stay in a beautiful part of the country, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi D&H - thank you so much for your review and it was nice to meet you. Hope to perhaps see you again sometime and good luck with your studies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A wonderful B and B in a very attractive house. It is in the middle of nowhere so if you are walking, as we were, evening meals are a problem. The owner offered to take us the Crail in her car! Luckily there were fellow guests going and we had a sociable meal with them which was lovely. We had a fourposter bed and a huge bathroom to die for!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I hope you enjoyed St Andrews and a few more miles of the Fife Coastal Path. With best wishes to you both. L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed in the lovely twin room which had beautiful views and a spacious luxury bathroom. The owner is very welcoming and helpful and provides an excellent breakfast. A quiet and peaceful retreat with a comfortable guest lounge. A beautiful part of the world to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hello D&D. Thank you for your review. It was nice to meet you both and I do hope your son has now settled in. With best wishes, L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Although we haven't stayed at any of the other B&Bs in the Scottish coastal area, any other B&B would be hard pressed to beat Troustrie House. Situated in a quiet rural setting, but only a mile from the village of Crail and nine miles from St. Andrew's, Troustrie House offers that perfect mix of quiet contentment and close-in accommodation. The en-suite rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished (LOVED that four-poster bed!) and breakfast is hearty and plentiful, served with warmth and grace by Lesley, our charming hostess. For golfers, St. Andrew's is only 15 minutes away, and there are at least four links courses even closer and less pricey. Troustrie House was, fortunately, our first accommodation in Scotland. We hope that we'll be back many times more!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BackDoorTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Hi F & C - thank you both for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you and to hear all about your plans to research your Scottish ancestry. I hope you'll one day make another trip to the UK and to meet up. With best wishes. L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Excellent breakfasts, excellent rooms and even better welcome! We regularly visit St Andrews and this is our favourite place to stay; there is nowhere better to unwind from working life. Lesley always has a good recommendation for places to visit and dine - although the favourite always remains the Anstruther fish bar. I would certainly recommend this hidden gem of Fife above any other guest house in St Andrews.

Room Tip: Shelleycoat has a 4 poster bed and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you M&J for your review. Its always good to see you - whether you arrive by bike or car! Tea and cake in the walled garden awaits you if you want to escape the London heat! Hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Not much to add to the other reviews. A wonderful spot to relax and recharge and a great base for exploring the delights of the region.

Lesley keeps things simple (breakfasts are indeed excellent but not fancy) but is there with advice and help should you need her.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, one is a four poster double and the other is a twin. Both are roughly the same size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adamhornets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M, Owner at Troustrie House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your honest review - its always good to get the opinion of such a seasoned traveller. I hope your journey back to London was trouble-free and look forward to seeing you again if you're ever back in this corner of the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crail hotels
0 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
84 reviews
0 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
152 reviews
0 mi away
Kalliope House B&B
Kalliope House B&B
#6 of 9 in Crail
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sauchope Links Caravan Park
Show Prices

Been to Troustrie House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troustrie House B&B

Address: Third Part Holdings, Crail KY10 3XD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Price Range: £35 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly renovated traditional Georgian farmhouse, set in a quiet rural location. Troustrie offers four star quality in two south facing bedrooms with spacious en-suite bathrooms – a 5 ft fourposter for a romantic stay, or a twin room. Guests also have the exclusive use of a drawing room with cosy woodburner. All home cooking uses organic, free-range and local produce wherever possible. Plenty of off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Troustrie House B&B Crail, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing