We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$215
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Old Manor Hotel(Lundin Links)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$471
US$437
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunvegan Hotel(St Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
230
23
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
230
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstawny lodgehot tubcherry blossom cottagecopper beechst andrewsdecking areagames roomworking farmlaundry roommountain ashhigh standardamazing viewsdouglas firunderfloor heatingduck pondwithin an hoursecond visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We recently returned from a lovely break at Balmeadowside Lodges. We stayed in the Kingfisher lodge. A beautiful lodge. Very spacious, spotlessly clean well furnished with excellent kitchen, bathrooms, etc. The bed in the master bedroom was the comfiest I have ever slept in. Needless to say the hot tub was great. Beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. Very peaceful.
There is a lot to do in the nearby area for families with young children. The Scottish Deer Centre was a good day out as was Tentsmuir Forest & Beach and our boys loved The Secret Bunker.
The only downside was the tracks leading to the farm and up to the lodges. They are very rough and need very careful driving.They are the only thing which would make us think twice about returning. They are fine for quadbikes, farm vehicles and 4x4s, but not the average family car.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newatthisGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmeadowside, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Thank you for your review. I agree the road is in need of repair - it is on the "to do" list! Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Lodges & just had to write a review to say how fantastic it was!!

Firstly though i do have to start off with a slight negative.... After our original booking i was sent out my confirmation stating that the lodge would be ready with key in the door @ 4pm. Thinking that this was a bit late we decided to add on an early check in (2pm) So we arrived @ 2pm to find the key in the Lodge.... So we went inside & found the lodge looking in my opinion clean & ready to use.. However the door was opened behind us & we were asked (by a blonde haired woman who never at any point told us who she was) rather abruptly 'can i help u??' after explaining our situation.... we had a booking/early check in etc she informed us that there must have been some mix up as our lodge wasnt ready!! To be honest im not really a complainer but i felt like the way she spoke to us it was our fault that she wasnt ready & she didnt apologise at all!! She asked us to 'go somewhere' & come back @ 4pm!! We explained that we didnt know anywhere nearby to go to & that we had the dog in the car who had been there for the hours drive up she just looked at us blankly & didnt offer any suggestions!! WE finally suggested that we would take the dog a walk & come back!! She then informed us that it would be around half an hour & she would call us to come back.... An hour later @ 3pm she called on us & we were able to get into our lodge... I will say at this point she did apologise however im not quite sure it made up for the rudeness & abrupt way that she had spoken to/treated us at first!!

Anyway once we got into our cabin this incident was quickly forgotten... Silver Birch was spotlessly clean & stunning!! Huge living area, modern bedroom & the bathroom was lovely!! Outside decking area & hot tub & the views were amazing!!

We spent most of the weekend chilling out in the hot tub & taking our German Shepherd Lola walks & enjoying the countryside!!! We hardly seen anyone about & it was so peaceful we felt like we were the only 2 people there even though all the cabins seemed to be full!! We took a drive into Coupar to stock up on more wine & some supplies to cook a nice dinner but other than this we hardly left the cabin... but when ur sitting in 40 degrees hot tub looking at some amazing views with a glass of champagne in your hand.... who would!!!

One other thing if taking a dog there is a wee black lab that was running about & although very friendly with humans it didnt seem to like our Lola much & growled @ her everytime we passed!! :-( Poor Lola (who was the bigger of the 2) was a wee bit scared!!! lol!!

Will deffo be back as it was a fantastic relaxing weekend & i will miss that hot tub!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmeadowside, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Thank you for your review, Hayley. I am glad you enjoyed your stay but apologise for the poor start to it. On reflection, I perhaps should not have accepted your request for early arrival, as we had so many lodges to turn round in a short time that day. I would be happy to offer you early arrival foc (subject to availability!) should you wish to come again. I have also spoken to the staff member concerned who apologises and says she did not mean to be rude, although I appreciate that this is how she came across. As for Erin, her days are numbered if she harasses guests! Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We arrived on 28 dec for approx 1 week. The cabins were 1st class the hot tub was superb, always clean, top up every day and 40 degrees with a glass of champagne in your hand does not get much better. 20 mins to St Andrews 15 mins to Perth 20mins to Dundee, what a great location. Stunning views for miles on the south facing decking.There for the bells and thoroughly enjoy it. Lovely meal in the Ship Inn a couple of miles along the road. As Big Arnie said " I`LL BE BACK"

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulcfc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Can't rate these lodges higher! Where do I start??? We arrived on a VERY snowy 30th December and got stuck on the hill up to the farm... A problem you'd think, not at all! One phone call and we were towed straight up to our lodge! Once in we couldn't believe our luck, the most perfect, cosy and beautifully set lodge we had ever been in! Complete with gorgeous Christmas tree! We spent a super new year in the hot tub, went some lovely walks on the walks marked out around the lodges and ventured to St Andrews for the day. The service from Donna was superb... She was over to check the hot tub every day and even gave us sledges to make use of the excellent hill behind the lodges! Don't miss out on this fab place - we're going back for a pre christmas chill out and ate thinking if booking again for new year 2011/2012!!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainheath-Ltd, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2010

Thank you for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is looking lovely here again with the snow. Nothing better than a nice cosy lodge to come back to after playing outside making snowmen. New Year for 2010 has been fully booked for a while now so make sure and book in advance for next year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews