We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I cannot say enough good things about these lodges! We booked it for our best friends hen weekend and they could not have been more perfect. Beautiful location, beautiful interior, beds were so comfortable, everything was spotless, we were given amazing privacy and the hot tub was pretty much fantastic. 10/10 :) I'd definitely recommend these lodges to everyone! Only not this time every year, cos were going back ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolidLuxury1, General Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Great! Thanks so much for a wonderful review!

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Lizzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was our third visit to Balmeadowside. This time we stayed in Skylark and twice previously in Kingfisher. Both lodges are fitted out to a high standard, but I did find the plumbing or boiler situated outside the main bedroom at Skylark very noisy through the night. I don't remember having this issue in Kingfisher. Also, I can't be sure the hot tub was actually cleaned every day. On previous visits we have always caught sight of/ heard the staff outside cleaning/ checking it, but not this time and it has to be said by the end of our week the water was a touch cloudy.
The hot tubs and views are still excellent though and to top it off we had the heatwave whilst we stayed.
The road is still a bit on the rough side going up to the 'birds' lodges. I noted that the two new owl lodges have better approaches and wonder why the same cant be done throughout.
There is still lots to do in the local area, if you feel inclined to be out and about. Our third visit and we haven't repeated days out!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newatthisGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolidLuxury1, General Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thanks for such a good review! You couldn't have picked a better time to visit, the heat wave was wonderful! One more on its way we hear!

The farm road to Balmeadowside has been gradually resurfaced and we're working on finishing off the last bit in time - just make sure you are using the entrance to Balmeadowside and not coming over the farm track from Parbroath Farm.

The hot tubs are checked first thing every morning as a priority for our Handyman - just let us know in future if you're not sure and we can have maintenance attend - happy to help!

Looking forward to having you all again - remember to bring the good weather next time too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My boyfriend and I recently went on a driving holiday in Scotland and were looking for something a little bit special to end our trip on... Balmeadowside was *definitely* it!! The cabins are simply amazing! Incredibly clean and spacious, they are kitted out with everything you could possibly need. We even opted for the champagne and chocolates on arrival, just for that extra bit of decadence!! The views from the wrap around balcony were stunning, and spending the evenings watching the sun go down whilst sitting in the hot tub is a luxury I barely have words for... Perfection!!

The area itself is beautiful. There are lots of countryside walks that you can do, or you can venture into St Andrews or Dundee, which are only 15 minutes away. Depending on your needs, you could either find lots to do, or never leave the cabin and just catch up on some serious R&R. We mainly opted for the latter!!! I wish we'd stayed longer... We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Silver Birch-as an end cabin it has a bit more privacy. I can't recommend it highl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolidLuxury1, General Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to put a review up on Trip Advisor.

Sounds like you really made the most of the site and the area and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

All the best,

Lizzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed at Balmeadowside last weekend for 2 nights for my birthday with the family and had a fantastic time. Lodges are luxurious and very clean. Everything is inside that you will ever need, comfy beds, good showers, freeview and good wi-fi, all you need is food obviously. Hot tub was fantastic and kept the kids amused. Very peaceful and quiet. Dundee etc is only 10 miles away, Chinese was 10 mins away and the food was up to a good standard. We were left alone to enjoy our weekend which is a plus for me. Some nice walks marked out by the owners, duck pond etc. I would personally give Balmeadowside 10/10 and I will be returning. We stayed in the Kingfisher which had the hot tub for 4 and was set in a nice private position away from the other lodges. Well done to the owners of Balmeadowside, keep up the good work and thanks very much for making our stay so nice.

Kirk Family from Kilwinning.

Room Tip: Choose the Kingfisher for a family of 4, hot tub is positioned the best I feel for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirky944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at Kingfisher Lodge at the end of May for a week with our two teenage sons and a friend. We had great weather, made maximum use of the hot tub and terrace with stunning views and sunsets. Our little dog came too and he loved the walks around the estate. The lodge had everything we needed, very spacious. All of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will book again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place! V near St Andrews which is a great day out. The cabins are fabulous.. everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. Lovely bedrooms.. modern bathroom. Hot tub is a fun bonus! Lots of seating in living room, dining area & decking area. I will defo be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaczEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in the Kingfisher lodge last year and enjoyed it so much we booked for a week in May this year, yet again we had a fantastic time, the lodges are so comfortable and cater for your every need, hot tub just fab at night after long walks with our dog Kai, saw Erin again but Kai unfortunately was jealous so poor Erin didn't come walkies with us this year. The scenery is beautiful and as we stayed in the Woodpecker this year the deer were right up at the fence and it was beautiful to wake up to and sit outside with morning tea and watch the deer & wildlife, bliss. Lots to see and do around Cupar and beyond, St. Andrews, Dundee etc.. Thanks again for a fantastic week at Balmeadowside, we have already booked another week for August, can't wait!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags186543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you for such great feedback!

The weather has been beautiful over the last week and the deer are becoming increasingly friendly!

Look forward to seeing you in August!

Best wishes,
Lizzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupar
7.4 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
577 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,171 reviews
9.4 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
12.7 mi away
The Hideaway Experience
5.0 mi away
Redlands Country Lodge
Redlands Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ladybank
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages

Address: Balmeadowside Farm | Cupar, Cupar KY15 4NT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Cupar
Price Range: £95 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmeadowside Lodges are modern lodges and cottages set on the south facing slopes of a working farm overlooking the surrounding countryside of Fife. While the setting itself is peaceful and relaxing, the central location means Dundee, St Andrews, Perth and even Edinburgh are not far away. With one king size or Super king size bedroom and one twin bedroom in each lodge, Balmeadowside Lodges are ideal for your romantic break or self catering family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmeadowside Country Lodges And Cottages Cupar, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing