We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With a few tweaks this could be excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ZAIQA - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
ZAIQA
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: ZAIQA INDIAN RESTAURANT IS THE NEWLY REFURBISH RESTAURANT IN CUPAR. ZAIQA'S CHEF IS BEING WORKING IN AN INDIAN RESTAURANT FOR LAST 25 YEARS. FRONT OF THE HOUSE IS IN HANDS OF ZEESHAN WHO HAS WORKED IN THE RESTAURANT BUSINESS FOR LAST 15 YEARS. ZAIQA'S ROMANTIC ATMOSPHERE WILL MAKE YOU VERY RELAX AND HAPPY. SO COME AND ENJOY.
St Monans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“With a few tweaks this could be excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Went with my husband on 30 June 2012. Met with Radio 1 type music (we are in our 50s) so asked them to put authentic music on which they did. Setting was beautiful - all the carved wood and inlaid tapestry under the glass tables. Food was very good - well presented and tasty. Now for the tweaks - staircase up to restaurant - badly needs painting - how about some colours of India to entice you in? Also the door into the place was like an old toilet door - can be easily revamped by panelling and a change of handle. Napkins were small and cheap - easily rectified - - bright yellow to go with the tapestry would look stunning. The wine glasses were cheap - in Edinburgh the indian restaurants we have been to have crystal glasses and boy does that make the difference. I am not really moaning just giving the management some pointers how inexpensively to up their game to compete with the rest. Also as the interior is so lovely how about a few pictures at the main entrance of the interior. We will be back though!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jillbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't eat here, even if starving!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We ate here on Saturday 16th June 2012 and arrived at 18:30 hours. Early warning signs were that there was a sign up saying 'bank card machine not working' on the front door and that it was completely empty. In fact they looked shocked to see people. We got presented with a surprisingly expensive al a carte menu- (and this was before we had eaten, more surprising after) and so had to ask for the pre-theatre special (£10 for 3 courses, yes its quite cheap although third course is tea/coffee or ice cream) which was displayed outside the restaurant.

I totally flumaxed the waitress by asking what the kadie part of the tikka kadie was. There were only three variations of meat on the special menu so I was surprised she had to summon help with this. The main man came on and mumbled about onions and peppers so I went for that option. Boyfriend went for the chicken tikka masala. Our starters were ok, main problem was the totally tasteless curries and fact the chicken tasted a bit odd. Boyfriend actually had to spit a bit out and has been very unwell for over 24 hours now and had to miss work today. Was going to phone and complain but what is the point?? The customer service is dire, you are made to feel unwelcome and the curries are bland to say the least. Food poisoning appears to be an optional extra.

The fact they turned the lights up to full head-bursting blingtastic level shortly after we arrived and then blasted an appalling mix of tunes out making talking near impossble, meant overall this was a sensory and culinary experience I would never wish to experience again! I have also been unwell since eating there and it's got one star only because it wouldn't let me put none. Don't do it. Even Iceland's own curries are nicer, cheaper, won't be borderline rude to you, blast awful music and lighting at you, or poison you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah77h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

I ordered a home delivery from this resaurant, never again! Similar to the last two reviews I found the food bland, poor quality ingredients and not at all authentic.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor Takeaway”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Ordered a Saturday night takeaway in April 2012. Had initially thought that the restaurant was still under previous owners, 'Passage to India', ordered from that menu. Upon delivery the cost was drastically more under the current ownership, compared to prior. Lamb Bhuna and Chicken Biryani were extremely bland; Peshwari nan pretty good. Free of charge were the Poppadoms and Onion Chutney; which the delivery driver made a point of saying they were free; little consolation given the price of the overall order. I have no vendetta against this place, but the expense combined with one of the poorest currys I've had has motivated me to speak up. I wouldn't order again, the more reputable venue in Cupar is alot more reliable!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank muzza1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We were recommended to try this restaurant and it didnt disappoint. Excellent food freshly prepared and served promptly. Good house wine. A very positive expereince and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing