We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Icing on the Cake”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 18 Cupar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banchory
1 review
“The Icing on the Cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We booked for dinner at Ostlers Close Restaurant for a special occasion and needed a handy B&B so we booked into Ferrymuir Stables. It was stunning. A little cocoon of peace and tranquilityafter a long journey and we wallowed in the sheer luxury of five star facilities that would challenge and surpass most five star hotels. Mary and John welcome you into their stylish home as though you were family friends and send you off in the morning after a more than ample breakfast. It was a great visit. Ferrymuir Stables was the icing on the cake. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanJackBanchory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryscottmillar, Owner at Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you both for taking the time to write such lovely comments.It was lovely to have you to stay and we very much look forward to your next visit. See you both soon!
Best Regards
Mary and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
100
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hooton Pagnell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for four nights last week in the most luxurious B&B you've ever seen!
We've stayed in many 5 Star, and even 6 Star Hotels around the world, and this is on a par with all of them.
Mary and John, the owners, are the epitome of Scottish hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble. Arrive back in the afternoon to have a pot of tea and home made biscuits provided.
Our room, a twin, was extremely comfortable, well stocked with coffee's and teas, biscuits and fruit.
The toiletries provided were first class, and always replenished, and the linens are of the finest quality, and bathrobes are provided.

Ferrymuir Stables is a wonderfully quiet, relaxing and very welcoming, not like a B&B at all, more like a top class hotel.

....and finally, the breakfast!
The choice is amazing, everything you can think of is on the menu, beautifully cooked and presented, always with a smile!

....we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryscottmillar, Owner at Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
I cannot tell you how delighted we are to hear that you had such an enjoyable time here at Ferrymuir. Thank you for all your lovely comments! It was a pleasure having you both to stay and we look forward to seeing you both sometime in the future.
Best Regards
Mary and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My wife and i stayed for one night, if only we had known how good Ferrymuir is we would have stayed longer. We were simply blown away by the place on arrival and it only got better. Mary and John could not have been more hospitable, it was like staying with friends and nothing was any bother. We were attending a ball and John dropped us off at a friends house to save us taking our car and having to back for it the next day, thanks John. Breakfast was a delight with superb choices and all cooked to order. Superb setting and my wife tells me I'm taking her for another visit. Mary and John, thanks again for an unforgettable stay. David and Rebecca

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carver54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryscottmillar, Owner at Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your beautiful wife and we very much look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards
John and Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Queensferry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

What a beautiful property. From the moment we arrived we felt at home - Mary and John were the perfect hosts and our room and ensuite bathroom was stunning with lots of sample toiletries for our use. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble for them, in fact, they drove us down to our restaurant in the town in the evening.

The breakfast offered us anything and everything you could ever wish for and was beautifully presented in a spacious dining area. It was a wonderful experience and one that we will enjoy again when we return!!!!!

Marilyn and Bryan Ritchie

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pitlochry97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryscottmillar, Owner at Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you both for a really lovely review. Our aim is for our guests to feel at home here and we are so glad to hear that you did. It was lovely to have you to stay. We are hugely delighted that you had a such a wonderful experience and very much look forward to you returning in the not to distant future. See you both soon.
Best Regards
Mary and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here for the weekend whilst going to a friends wedding nearby. The first thing to say is don't trust your sat nav when trying to find the place. We rang Mary and she guided us in through a brand new, exclusive housing development.
Once located, you drive through a gate and into the grounds of a lovely house. Both Mary and John greeted us and escorted us to our room.

The room and the en-suite would frankly put most exclusive London hotels to shame. The property is newly developed and to an amazing standard. Everything is fresh modern and made to clean. Both Mary and John have put their heart and soul in to developing this old Stable House. The room we where wanted for nothing it even had a laptop available for surfing the local attractions.

Breakfast! Again a menu in a B&B that would put some of my regular London restaurants to shame and served perfectly. The food was outstanding and the banter with John witty and charming.

Ordinarily you could end a review at this point, but I think pertinent to add that both Mary and John offered us a level of courtesy that just went above and beyond. They dropped us off at a restaurant in Couper that evening (review to follow). They advised which taxi to get back with a card detailing number and return address. if that wasn't enough they offered to drop us off at the wedding venue the following day. Now I'm not suggesting this is the norm but for us it went more than the extra mile in to making the stay magical.

I can't recommend the Ferrymuir Stables enough. A truly outstanding expereince.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimbobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryscottmillar, Owner at Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
We cannot begin to tell you how thrilled we are that you have taken the time and thought to write such a fabulous review and to make such delightful comments about your stay here at Ferrymuir. Thank you. You were truly lovely guests to have in our house and we hope you come back sometime..

PS. We had a delicious curry and a bottle of wine at our local Indian restaurant with the huge tip you left! Thank you once again!
Best Regards
Mary and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemnay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We wanted a relaxing break and got just what we ordered. John and Mary have beautifully restored the stables and the detail they have put into making your stay as comfortable as possible are 2nd to none. The rooms are equipped with everything you could think of and more and the only problem with the breakfast was to make a choice from everything on offer. In addition to this John and Mary were superb hosts, very welcoming and their offer to drive us to the restuarant in the evenings was really appreciated and appove what you would expect. Fantastic - would recomend to anyone who wants 5 star relaxation. Phil and Lisa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryscottmillar, Owner at Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thank you both for choosing to come to stay here at Ferrymuir. It was really great fun, comparing notes, seeing the progress, the photographs, and hearing the ins and outs and ups and downs about the ruin which you have recently transformed into a beautiful home. I hope you are loving it!
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that you liked it so much here and we look forward to seeing you both sometime again in the future. Best Regards.
Mary and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baie-saint-paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Loved the cottage Ferrymuir Stables. When I arrived we were accueuilli as if we were part of the family. The prorpiétaires of, where people are very attentive and devoted to their hosts. Always ready to help you if and servives vosu a problem. J, speaks knowingly. The place is beautiful, the rooms are of a comfortable and highly spacious bathrooms. The cottage is simply splendid. The lunch is completely delicious, fresh and succulent. Without question I Referers there anyone would like to spend quality time in incredible comfort, where you can take time to relax and never want for anything. Thank you for your incredible hospitality.
Donner son avis sur la traduction

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleonore d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryscottmillar, Owner at Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Google Translation
Nous avons senti priviliged pour vous avoir et votre famille pour rester avec nous pour une occasion très importante ici en Ecosse. Cet été qu'un plaisir qui vous accommode tous, vous et votre famille est juste charmante ! Nous avons aimé avoir vous ici à Ferrymuir. Merci beaucoup. Les meilleurs Egards
Mary et John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupar
3.9 mi away
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigsanquhar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Meadowside Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Redlands Country Lodge
Redlands Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladybank
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
6.0 mi away
Eden Mansion
Eden Mansion
#7 of 77 in St Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ferrymuir Stables Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ferrymuir Stables Beechgrove Rise, Cupar KY15 5DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cupar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferrrymuir Stables provide luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in Cupar, 9 miles from St Andrews in Fife. The 3 double bedrooms are contemporary or traditional in style and the breakfast is "unmissable". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ferrymuir Stables Bed And Breakfast Cupar, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing