We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love golf history you CANNOT miss this; so worth the short trip from St Andrews”

Kingarrock Hickory Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you love golf history you CANNOT miss this; so worth the short trip from St Andrews”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

A trip back in time to hickory shafted golf. Such an interesting and fun experience that anyone who loves golf will have a great time. Not for cart riding, cigar chomping loud mouths maybe... Thank goodness.
Take a step backin time and enjoy this treasure. Wonderfully friendly host who makes you feel like a welcomed guest and not a customer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank glenelg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vänersborg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golf old days”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Five friends came here on recommendations. We had fun all day. Took a cab from Leven and back. Fantastic storyteller!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bodil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Go before there's a waiting list!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Truly a wonderful experience. Dress up in vintage golf clothes, use hickory clubs and old golf balls, and have more fun on a golf course than you thought possible. The host is welcoming, funny and kind - lashings of ginger beer at the turn and at the finish, great stories, we can't wait to go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank multitrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A chance of a lifetime for a golfer!”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Kingarrock has become the most sought out and welcomed story of our golf trip to Scotland. Our delightful host at Ferrymuir Stables gave us the recommendation to try it. What a recommendation! Kingarrock is a memory we will never forget. The proprietor of the proshop--more aptly described as a mini-golf museum--gave us a fascinating talk of the history of the game and Kingarrock, along with some good scotch while we listened to his history. We picked out our hickory clubs--all 5 of them, and the accompanying bag, balls, and tees and set out to play the 9 hole course in the rain--how appropriate for Scotland. Playing with that original equipment gave us an incredible appreciation of the game first hand! We even had a few pars after getting the hang of it. Definitely an unforgettable experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All 4 seasons but a fantastic experience.”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Whilst celebrating a major birthday and staying at the St Andrews Coach Houses we booked up for the hickory challenge - most of us were avid golfers and reasonably competitive! The setting, layout and equipment were great and thankfully we had kiited ourselves out in the appropriate vintage attire (I'd recommend you do that, if possible, to get the most out of the day). Our host was a mine of information and really set the scene. We all scored really well, however, we did not have a hip flask between which means we failed miserably!
A great afternoons entertainment embellished by fine Scottish weather.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAEWColhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kingarrock Hickory Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing