We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boudingait

The Boudingait
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Cupar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: Scottish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SCOTLAND'S RETAIL BUSINESS AWARDS 2016 'BEST LICENSED PREMISES IN SCOTLAND' WINNER If you live in Cupar, it's time to discover what's on your doorstep. If you're passing through, then stop off for lunch or just a coffee. If you're having a break in Fife, take an afternoon to explore the town and discover for yourself why there's no need to go anywhere else! The Boudingait is situated at the top of Lady Wynd in the heart of Cupar, providing a warm, family-friendly environment for all, offering a quality menu of freshly cooked pub lunches & evening meals using quality, locally sourced produce ... making it the first choice destination for a traditional pub experience.With a popular menu of freshly prepared bar meals served daily from 11am to 8pm (9pm on Friday & Saturdays, combined with great staff & excellent service in a charming and friendly atmosphere...... you're guaranteed a great time, EVERYTIME at The Boudingait! Offering a 'home from home' atmosphere for the over 25's, where you can hear the people you're with over the music, and with live music, weekly pub quiz, great banter and an excellent selection of Wines, Real Ales, Whiskies, Draught, Teas and coffees and the best bar meals in Town.... there's no need to go anywhere else. The Boudingait is situated in the the old market town of Cupar, which lies in the heart of the Howe of Fife. Easy to get to, easy to park in, and easy to find most items on your shopping list.Where the streets and shopping malls of larger towns and cities offer the same predictable collection of chain stores, Cupar provides a more satisfying experience and most of Cupar's businesses are family owned and run. We want you to come back again, so we will go the extra mile in making sure you are satisfied.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Visited for lunch with eldest daughter.Very pleasant ambience,good friendly welcome,which is standard from many of the staff. Quick efficient service,nice food-and plenty of it.Reasonable prices.Excellent real ale from the local St.Andrew's Brewery.More than ample stock of quality malt Scotch Whisky.An asset to the town as a quality pub & eatery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    80
    20
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having looked at reviews we thought this sounded a wee gem - we were disappointed though. The service was good & friendly but the food was a major disappointment - decidedly average & definitely not worth the money! Sorry Boudingait but we won't be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llidderdale, Owner at The Boudingait, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I was very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to The Boudingait, especially considering the positive reviews we do indeed receive on a regular basis. Can I ask if you spoke to the staff at the time of your visit? It is greatly appreciated when our customers provide their feedback, and allows me to take appropriate action where required. With this in mind I would be very grateful if you felt able to contact me directly on 01334654681 to tell me what you had and discuss in more detail. I do hope that you will accept my sincere apologies and that you give us the opportunity to demonstrate that while your visit was unsatisfactory, this is certainly not the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We went to the Boudingait with friends who had been before and who recommended it. I can see why. It's quite small but the tables are set far enough apart to allow for privacy. We had the table by the window. The waitress was friendly, the service efficient and the food was good. I had the beer battered fish, chips and salad. We also enjoyed an excellent bottle of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. If you are in Cupar and looking for a place to eat this is it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s3rjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llidderdale, Owner at The Boudingait, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It is a delicious wine, and a new addition to our wine list so I am so pleased you enjoyed it. It's wonderful to pass good feedback on to the Staff. Thank you, and we hope you will return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Small & friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Smallish traditional pub, good quality beers and friendly service. I can't recall the name of the waitress but she was very good and deserved the tip. The food - nachos starter were very nice, main course burger was ok nothing more and it wasn't the cheapest and I suspect the price was inflated by the drinks. We did enjoy and would probably go back at some point in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinecraftSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORBIHAN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"The way it should be"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Probably one of the best venues for good food and good service. Clean, tidy and the atmosphere which allows you to speak and be heard whilst still having good background music. Having eaten in many of the "listed" eateries in and around the St Andrews area the Boudingait easily competes with them on all fronts! Good Food, Good Drink and Good Atmosphere and you don't need a second mortgage when the bill arrives!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THEFGAGROUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llidderdale, Owner at The Boudingait, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review, It is wonderful to hear that we have provided the environment, experience and atmosphere that we pride ourselves in and I will be sure to pass your great feedback to the Staff. Thank you, and we hope you will return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boudingait also viewed

 

Been to The Boudingait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing