We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our regular haunts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boudingait

The Boudingait
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Cupar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: Scottish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SCOTLAND'S RETAIL BUSINESS AWARDS 2016 'BEST LICENSED PREMISES IN SCOTLAND' WINNER If you live in Cupar, it's time to discover what's on your doorstep. If you're passing through, then stop off for lunch or just a coffee. If you're having a break in Fife, take an afternoon to explore the town and discover for yourself why there's no need to go anywhere else! The Boudingait is situated at the top of Lady Wynd in the heart of Cupar, providing a warm, family-friendly environment for all, offering a quality menu of freshly cooked pub lunches & evening meals using quality, locally sourced produce ... making it the first choice destination for a traditional pub experience.With a popular menu of freshly prepared bar meals served daily from 11am to 8pm (9pm on Friday & Saturdays, combined with great staff & excellent service in a charming and friendly atmosphere...... you're guaranteed a great time, EVERYTIME at The Boudingait! Offering a 'home from home' atmosphere for the over 25's, where you can hear the people you're with over the music, and with live music, weekly pub quiz, great banter and an excellent selection of Wines, Real Ales, Whiskies, Draught, Teas and coffees and the best bar meals in Town.... there's no need to go anywhere else. The Boudingait is situated in the the old market town of Cupar, which lies in the heart of the Howe of Fife. Easy to get to, easy to park in, and easy to find most items on your shopping list.Where the streets and shopping malls of larger towns and cities offer the same predictable collection of chain stores, Cupar provides a more satisfying experience and most of Cupar's businesses are family owned and run. We want you to come back again, so we will go the extra mile in making sure you are satisfied.
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our regular haunts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fairly local, so eat her at lest twice a month. Tasty food at a reasonable price. Usually have one of the Eden Brewery's ales on draft. Service always very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milliemicron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    80
    20
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderful pub in the heart of Fife. Excellent local music every Thurs (at time of writing). No slots, no TVs, no flashing lights, just good food and good fun. Very friendly staff, and deservedly highly rated. Ps Kitchen could stay open a bit later than 8 ? (on evening of visiting)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJohnCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful find - great food AND service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Recommended by Maisie & Mac (lovely little store in town). We wandered in to find the most wonderful small pub. Warmly greeted by our server Fionna, we settled in for the most delicious lunch. Their specialty cottage pies were out of this world - two "Baa Baas", a Venison (with a wee bit of haggis) & a meat lasagna - all outstanding. All of this was made even better by Fionna who was very knowledgeable about the ales and couldn't have been more helpful. Would certainly return if and when we come back (we're all from western Canada).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Visited for lunch with eldest daughter.Very pleasant ambience,good friendly welcome,which is standard from many of the staff. Quick efficient service,nice food-and plenty of it.Reasonable prices.Excellent real ale from the local St.Andrew's Brewery.More than ample stock of quality malt Scotch Whisky.An asset to the town as a quality pub & eatery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having looked at reviews we thought this sounded a wee gem - we were disappointed though. The service was good & friendly but the food was a major disappointment - decidedly average & definitely not worth the money! Sorry Boudingait but we won't be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llidderdale, Owner at The Boudingait, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I was very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to The Boudingait, especially considering the positive reviews we do indeed receive on a regular basis. Can I ask if you spoke to the staff at the time of your visit? It is greatly appreciated when our customers provide their feedback, and allows me to take appropriate action where required. With this in mind I would be very grateful if you felt able to contact me directly on 01334654681 to tell me what you had and discuss in more detail. I do hope that you will accept my sincere apologies and that you give us the opportunity to demonstrate that while your visit was unsatisfactory, this is certainly not the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boudingait also viewed

 

Been to The Boudingait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing