We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, you won't regret it :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Guest House at Kames
Ranked #9 of 18 Cupar B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay here, you won't regret it :-)”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on a trip to see family. It's a lovely house in a quiet location; as you can see in the pictures it has huge windows which look out onto the surrounding countryside, perfect for a relaxing break. Plenty of off-road parking available and within easy reach of St Andrews, the East Neuk and the wonderful Peat Inn (where we had lunch - highly recommended). Slept in the Montrave suite - super comfy mattress (I want one for home) and nice wee decorative touches all through the house. Loved it and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HdotHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a great find this lovely guest house was. En-suite bedroom was gorgeous and had everything we needed. Breakfast set you up for the day! Delicious. We wanted a central base for visiting several of the resorts around this East Neuk of Fife and this was spot on, as only a short drive from them all. Hope to be able to return for another couple of nights when the East Neuk festival is on at the end of June.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mamacaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Second time here and just as good as I remebered. Lovely accomodation with splendid country views. I would recommmend this as a base to golfers, foodies, couples and anyone who wants value for money with all the added benefits of quiet lcoation but withing short drives of shops, bars and restaurants.

If you have never been to Scotland or if you are just looking for some nice accommodation on the east coast then this is the place.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the super king bed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this small guest house near Cupar in the Kingdom of Fife for an overnight. It has recently opened and the proprietors have created a beautiful and comfortable place. The spacious bedroom was gorgeous with super furniture and a superb shower room. The views all around are really lovely, and breakfast is served in an exquisite dining room which allows the scenery to be fully enjoyed.

There was a great choice on offer for breakfast. We opted for the full Scottish breakfast and were delighted with the standard. Craig and Morag have taken considerable effort to source very high quality products to serve and have focused on local produce. The presentation and taste were ideal, and we didn't eat again until the evening!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

On a business trip to Scotland this week I had the pleasure of being the first guest at this Guest House. It is set in a lovely rural surrounding, about 4 miles South of Cupar, and is of the highest quality. The rooms were spotless and to a really high standard. Craig the co-owner has traveled himself and knows what people need, and his partner Morag has added some really nice touches to the decor, furnishings and room refreshments. The traditional Scottish breakfast was amazing and kept me fed all day. Ideal for a business stopover but I will definitely be returning with my partner for a short holiday break as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cupar hotels
7.2 mi away
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigsanquhar
179 reviews
4.7 mi away
Redlands Country Lodge
Redlands Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladybank
104 reviews
7.8 mi away
Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
Brae Cottage
#4 of 9 in Cupar
5 reviews
4.1 mi away
Meadowside Bed & Breakfast
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Cantrip Cottage
#3 of 9 in Cupar
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House at Kames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House at Kames

Property: The Guest House at Kames
Address: 3 Kames Steadings | By Craigrothie, Cupar KY15 5PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cupar
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOUSE The Guest House at Kames was built in 1860 and was initially a Blacksmith's Smithy and barn. The building was renovated in 2006 into the steading that it is today. The house has two guest suites only upstairs, The Montrave and The Kames. Both offer accommodation of the highest standard and can be set up as a double, twin, or triple/family. The Guest House has ample private, off road parking for residents. There is also a patio overlooking rolling fields with phenomenal views for use on summer evenings. Freshly prepared breakfast is served in the stunning ground floor dining room at a magnificent dining table with wonderful views. THE MONTRAVE SUITE The Montrave Suite is well appointed with crafted Vietnamese dark hard wood complimented by cream leather furnishings including a chaise longue and recliner armchair. There is a king size bed with luxury linen and towels. A queen size bed can also be added to make a twin or a triple room. The large en-suite bathroom is fitted with power shower, electric shaving socket and Arran Aromatic toiletories. THE KAMES SUITE The Kames Suite is also well appointed and stylishly furnished with a super king size bed and gorgeous furniture from Glasgow's west end craft store 'Nancy Smillie.' The seating area in the room has a beautiful black leather sofa and we are building up an array of local, bespoke accessories to catch the eye and the imagination. The large en-suite bathroom is fitted with power shower, electric shaving socket and Arran Aromatic toiletories. In each suite you will find • Hairdryer • Free-Wi-Fi • Docking station for I-pod, • Television • Tea and cafetiere coffee making facilities with fresh milk, and Scottish tablet or handmade chocolates. • Bottled water and a welcome dram is complimentary on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Guest House at Kames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guest House At Kames Cupar, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing