We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!!”
Review of The Bruce Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bruce Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Falkland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We enjoyed a,meal for our second wedding anniversary in this lovely restaurant. The girls serving us were so nice and helpful and our meals were amazing! The food was delicious and huge servings with a large selection to choose from. My hubby was also able to enjoy a glass of real ale with his meal. Keep up the good work guys! We will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jan6262_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smurf16, Owner at The Bruce Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Hi, a little delayed, but thank you!! See you next time around? Peter & Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for The Bruce Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

The chef and staff are excellent! The staff and owners made us feel more then welcome, almost like family! We ate here almost every day-sometimes twice a day with our family whilst we stayed in Faulkand for 2 weeks over Christmas! Do not miss this one! The menu is fab!

Room Tip: Everything on the menu is great!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We enjoyed a lovely meal at the bruce with the food tasty, well presented and great value for money.

Real ales were in good supply and this helped make sure the night was relaxing and memorable.

Certainly worth a return trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The Bruce Inn is a picturesque pub opposite the lovely Falkland Palace.

It's very nice inside, very typical of a traditional pub. It was clean and welcoming.

The waitress was polite, attentive and welcoming. She was very friendly.

My husband had the scampi, a huge portion he couldn't finish! Excellent value for money.

However, when I asked what gluten free options they provided (their menu stated they were "familiar with gluten free diets") the waitress was very unsure and rather than check with chef, she took an educated guess at some items that were probably ok.

As someone who has only recently followed such diet, I didn't want to make a fuss and proceeded to just have soup. No gluten free bread or oatcakes to have with it. Although waitress said they usually do have gluten free bread available. She also offered some nachos with the soup so at least she did try and be helpful.

It's excellent value and the food was tasty but I Ieft hungry and wishing we had gone elsewhere.

If you do follow a gluten free diet, best call beforehand and ask what they can do.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LL_Apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just back from a Mother's Day tea. Service was fantastic. Waitresses were so kind and helpful. Food was home cooked and not a fault with all 7 meals. Large portions. Sticky toffee pudding was delicious. Very very generously priced too. Would definately recommend for a meal.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Simonewatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smurf16, Owner at The Bruce Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Hi, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Bruce. Always nice to get genuine positive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back again. Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband and I spent one night at The Bruce Inn which we found through Groupon. We stayed on a saturday night and what a great time we had! The village of Falkland was very lovely. Sadly the palace was closed whilst we were there. However, beautiful to look at from the outside. When we went to The Bruce, the owner and manager Peter showed us to our room and a great room it was.
We had a few pints there and met some colourful locals. We dined in the restaurant and the food was great. Good pub food at proper pub prices. Big servings as well.
We went back to the bar where our lovely barmaid Susan kept the pints flowing and enjoyed a great evening with live music.
Will definitely make the effort to go back to The Bruce Inn. Great pub! Great time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were fortunate to stop here for lunch today. We had read the previous reviews so were expecting beautifully cooked scottish food, and we were not disappointed. I chose to have the two course lunch deal for £7.95, this consisted of potato and leek soup followed by a large portion of unusual (BUT DELICIOUS) haggis and pork sausages with mash, veg and a beautiful red wine gravy. My wife decided to miss a starter and went for the special of local venison casserole. She found the venison to be really tender, and the gravy to be exquisite. We also shared 3 drinks and the bill, amazingly came to £30.

Service was very friendly, however we did wait sometime to have our drinks order taken, but this was down to a large group of wedding guests descending on the pub. However at times like this, you do wonder if you have been forgotten about, which can lessen the overall experience.

We had a really pleasant time and would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank fifediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkland
1.9 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
575 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
14.3 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberdour
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Greenside Hotel
The Greenside Hotel
#7 of 9 in Glenrothes
40 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
3.8 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bruce Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bruce Inn

Address: 23 High Street, Falkland KY15 7BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Falkland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Falkland
Price Range: £64 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bruce Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming former 15th-century ale house opposite the fabulous historic Royal Palace of Falkland, former Royal hunting lodge and home to Rob Roy, Mary Queen of Scots and numerous Kings and Queens. Friendly, warm, welcoming! This traditional family run Inn, with 3 letting bedrooms, serves excellent homecooked food 7 days a week. With a Beer Garden/Courtyard offering a lovely sun trap in the summer months and a wood burning stove in the bar you can be sure of a cozy experience on colder days. We hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bruce Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bruce Hotel Falkland
The Bruce Inn Falkland, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing