We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a beautiful place and house, which could be...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
High Street Location Hand-turned oak!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Front of House
High Street Location
Hand-turned oak!
Breakfast in style
Relax in comfort
Dining
Plenty of Space!
Green and Serene
Twin bedroom
Champagne shower
Whirlpool bliss
Shower room
A peaceful sun-trap
Ideal for barbecues
Al fresco at The Covenanter
A Little Palace
Travel back in time
Pitching camp
Coffee and Violins!
View from front door
Church, Fountain, Palace, Pub!
Old meets new
Wonderful walks on the doorstep
Falkland Estate Woodlands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Falkland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lelly_12
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place and house, which could be made even better.”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This house looks fab on photos and does not disappoint. Every modern need is taken care of, although lounge TV is non HDMI and there is no DVD player for those who stay indoors. Treats are available on arrival, courtesy of the owner. The advice not to use underfloor heating was difficult as the kitchen floor in particular was very cold in the mornings! Beds in both double rooms are wonderfully comfortable.
Falkland is a beautiful town full of customs old and new. Ideally situated for touring Perth and Kinross area amongst others. Local pubs serve great food, Lomond tavern specials are not to be missed, booking is recommended.
Owner should be aware of the "musty" smell especially downstairs, likely due to no one having recently stayed. The twin beds are in the downstairs room which may benefit from swopping with the upstairs lounge, currently very dark. Lighting could benefit from thoughtful adjustments.
The garden was badly overgrown, so we were unable to use the BBQ on the date we had hoped. Also became entangled in a rose bush trying to access the key safe! However, the owner quickly sent an efficient gardener who did her best but only had time to clear one part of the back garden.
If a "return incentive" was offered we would be very tempted!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is super. A beautiful house which would benefit from more loving care.
Liked least: The musty smell, the unloved garden and the cold floors!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thanks very much for your helpful review. We are always looking for ways to improve and so welcome all feedback good and bad. Glad your overall impression of the cottage and village is a favourable one and we can only apologise for the areas in which you felt we fell short. The underfloor heating in the kitchen and bathrooms can be a god-send on chilly mornings and we are sorry you felt discouraged to use it. Please be assured this was not our intention and we supply usage instructions in the cottage welcome booklet. We turned them off for the summer as when the weather is good, the heat they produce can become stifling and we were concerned about receiving complaints to this effect. Musty smells can be a problem in very old buildings and we have now investigated the source (an ancient drain in the utility room which needed sanitising) and applied liberal amounts of caustic soda to dispel them. It's interesting you suggest swapping the living room with the downstairs bedroom as this is how we had the rooms arranged whilst living there ourselves but when we converted to holiday letting, we felt the downstairs room was a little space-constrained for larger parties of five or six. As for the garden, apologies our usual gardener has been unwell and we had to find someone to step in at short notice. We will also be dealing with the vicious rose that in true fairy-tale tradition seems to have got out of control and wrapped itself disobligingly around the key safe. We hope these experiences were not too off-putting and would be very willing to offer you a return incentive should you wish to stay again. Very best wishes, Tim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaica
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The minute we set foot in Ross House we felt instantly at home. The house has been decorated beautifully throughout. The welcoming kitchen us fantastic and we especially liked the underfloor heating!! Comfortable beds and relaxing bedrooms. Amazing shower and bathrooms!! The house had a lot of charm and character too! Loved sitting in the little room looking out to the garden. The owners left us lots of little things to get us started - which was a really welcoming nice touch. We could have moved in here - if you ever selling - let us know!!!!! Many many thanks. Ps. The village of Falkland itself is beautiful - quiet but full of charm and welcoming residents in the surrounding restaurants, bars, shops etc... We were very happy here and lots for kids to do in the surrounding area!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating!
Liked least: Did not find a dvd player
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Thanks so much for your glowing review. It's wonderful to hear you felt so at home in Ross House and found plenty to keep you and your young family occupied. Falkland is a very welcoming village and it's lovely to know you were well catered for during your stay. All the best and we would love to have you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gailio259
Lochmaben
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Absolutely wonderful holiday in the idyllic village of Falkland. We were made extremely welcome at Ross House on arrival. The house was beautiful particularly the exceptionally well kitted out kitchen and bathrooms. The secluded and secure garden gave us peace of mind for our 3 children and the lavender and mint smells from the garden were just lovely. We would highly recommend this cottage not simply on the basis of its quality but also due to the owners informal approach and ease of contact both before and throughout our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
It's wonderful to know you had a great time at Ross House and found everything to your satisfaction. Pleased also to hear you liked the village and found it a relaxing stay with your family. Hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Tim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhorie
Fleming Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This house was exactly what we hoped for and more, in an old historical village with the ability to walk to Falkland Palace and all restaurants and pubs. We arrived to a card and a wonderful welcome basket from the owner Tim. The house was amazing, old Scotland from the outside but very well modernized inside including underfloor heating in kitchen and bathrooms, great for us Floridians on a cold morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Parking for vehicle
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thanks so much - your comments are truly appreciated. It's great to hear you liked the cottage comforts and enjoyed the nearby facilities in the village. Hope to see you back again when you next cross the pond! Warmest wishes, Tim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM5280
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the beautiful, quiet location of this village. The Ross House was everything we hoped it would be--unique, beautiful, comfy beds, beautiful bathrooms, well-stocked kitchen, centrally located in Falkland, heated tile floors:))

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and we are so thrilled you chose Ross House as one of the accommodation venues for your Scottish holiday. Very best wishes and welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
541Lynda9
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay in Ross House”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Ross House was a lovely place to stay , it was very clean and comfortable . The welcome pack was much appreciated along with all the other small gestures such as flowers in the rooms. We had a nice time exploring the area and enjoyed our lunch in Campells . We would definitely return to Ross House and recommend it to family and friends..

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review. You are most welcome and we are glad you had a lovely time and were able to explore. All best wishes and hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and a great location”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Absolutely beautiful house in the middle of a pretty village. The house is of a very high standard and had plenty of small touches that made us feel very welcome, including lots of books and games. We spent the week exploring the region and were extremely happy with our stay. We are already recommending Ross House and can't wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house very well finished.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your holiday at Ross House and thank you so much for your kind comments. They are much appreciated. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing