We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lomond Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Thanks to Ronnie, Faye and the Staff for making our anniversary such a special day. The food and location were excellent, including the catering for some of our guests with special dietary needs. The staff were extremely helpful, all in all fantastic day at a great venue and fantastic value for money. We have booked again for another function for 20, yes - we will be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimMS564JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks lots JiMS564JR for taking the time to post such a great review after your recent Ruby Wedding Dinner with us here at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
I'm delighted to know that you, Diane and your guests enjoyed your dinner. We look forward to looking after you on your Golden Wedding Anniversary but hope to see you before then!
Congratulations again from all of the team.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

At our first stay we were made to feel very welcome ,on further visits we we were greeted more like friends/family rather than paying guests, on last visit on seeking breakfast outwith the set time ( Mine Host ) sait sit down and produced coffee, said breakfast chef had arrived took us to dinning room and served up the delicious meal the real deal and got us on our way a first class service, many thanks to Ronnie and staff. be back shortly Bill and Dot.

Room Tip: Room 18 Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you so much Bill M for such a glowing review.
It's great to know that you feel like friends when you are here now. That is exactly what we strive so hard to achieve!
It is very rewarding for our wonderful staff to read the feedback from our guests so I have printed a copy of your comments and pinned them on the staff notice board.
I'm glad that our Full Scottish Breakfast satisfied you on your early departure and look forward to welcoming you back to The Lomond Hills on your next visit to Fife.
Best wishes and thanks again for your very kind review.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had to book a hotel at very short notice near to a local hospital. Both Gillian and I have stayed in a number of hotels but the Lomond Hills takes some beating for value for money, customer service, food and friendly atmosphere. Many thanks to Ronnie, Faye and all the Staff for making our stay with you the last few weeks very enjoyable during a stressful time. We will be back again soon and look forward to it. Thanks again Gillian, Glyn and Family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hi Glyn W.
I really do appreciate the time taken by you to post such a lovely review when, perhaps, you have other things more important on your mind.
My staff and I were so happy to be able to look after you and make you feel comfortable during your recent stay with us to be near to a local hospital.
It was great to see you leave happy and relieved and hopefully we will see you and your lovely family back again soon under happier circumstances.
We all wish you both and especially Andrew, all that is good in the future.
Very best wishes and many thanks again.
Ronnie and all the staff at The Lomond Hills Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst in Scotland on business.
The hotel is a lovely little place. The staff could not do enough to help from offering to help with my bags, offering the use of the leisure facilities and recommendations if places to visit/eat.

The only problem I found was the the hotel seemed very dated, a traditional looking hotel is fine but the rooms did look very old and in need of decorating, also a lot of the flooring on the first floor seemed like it needed fixing as 75% of the floor boards either creaked or sank as you walked on them, some to the extent that you panicked that you were going to join those below you.

Overall a really nice little quiet hotel with perfect staff. Just a little attention needs to be made on the look of the place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank ElliottOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you ElliotOwen and thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.
I am delighted to read that we looked after you during your recent business trip to Fife.
It's good to know that our fab staff looked after you and helped with your bags and local knowledge.
As you say, we are a "traditional" hotel (built in 1733) and I try to keep it that way. In the ten years since I bought the hotel, (and lots of upgrading later) it still retains the traditional appearance and feel, rather than that of a new "plastic travel express" type of hotel.
Much of the hotel has been re-wired in the last few weeks, hence some repairs to slightly worn floorboards being required. Not, however, 75% of them ha ha. I will attend to this asap so that you notice the improvement on you next visit. All points mentioned in reviews are taken on board and I appreciate you mentioning this. I can assure you that there is no more loved hotel in Scotland, either by our wonderful staff or by the owner (me in this case).
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards, Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

What a lovely hotel. From the superb food, to the owners and staff who couldn't do enough for us. We were very pleasantly surprised with the pool and gym, what a treat to have a wallow in a decent sized swimming pool after a days work. We stayed for four nights and whilst the room we had on the first night was quite small (they were fully booked) we were moved to a much larger room for the remainder of our stay, the mini fridge in the room being a very nice touch btw. Outstanding selection of whiskey and the real ale was not to be missed, including a local brew lovingly produced in somebody's garage! Sorry we left with the keys, hope you've had them back. Will look forward to staying again on our next trip to Fife.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank JacquelineIreland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Hello JacquelineIrealand and thanks so much for your fabulous review.
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us recently. Apologies for your first night, when we had a twin room reserved for you rather than a double. Also that the only room with a double bed we had left is normally used for single occupancy. It did the job, however, as you say, for one night until we could give you a larger room to work in.
I am delighted that you found the food so good and the staff helpful.
Hopefully we can look after you again in the future.
Best wishes and thanks again for taking the time to post your review.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is an ideal location whether you are planning your wedding or just looking for somewhere nice to have a meal. Me and husband first came across the hotel when we were booking our wedding almost 2 years ago and since then we have returned as often as we can. The hotel is very reasonably priced and food is fantastic. It is fair to say that Ronnie and his staff run a first class hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Catherine S.
A nice review after a meal is great, a good review after a stay is better but a great review from a bride is just fantastic!!!
I am so happy that you had a great day with us and left with memories which will last a lifetime and, as you say, all at a reasonable cost for such an expensive day!
We are VERY AWARE how important a wedding day is and always make is as special as is humanly possible.
I am delighted to know that all our efforts as a team worked so well for you and take this opportunity to wish you all that is good in your new life together.
Very best wishes and thanks again for deciding to hole your wedding day with us here at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is within close proximity of St Andrews and Dundee and great for touring in that area.
We chose the hotel as prices in St Andrews are becoming excessive.
The hotel is reasonable priced and gives good value
A good menu and a fine selection of beers.
The staff are all warm, friendly and welcoming. Well worth the visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi Jim D and special thanks for such a great review from a Tripadvisor Top Contributor!
as you say, we are ideally placed in a quiet village but very close to many attractions and destinations.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed our food (I've informed our Head Chef) and our range of Real ales and 50 plus whiskies.
I hope that we have the opportunity to look after you again when you plan your next trip to Fife.
Best wishes and many thanks again for taking the time to post such an encouraging review.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
2.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
8 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
552 reviews
13.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
15.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
537 reviews
17.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range: £87 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie
Lomond Hills Hotel Freuchie, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing