We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday”
Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lomond Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Every week in the 1950's I passed the Lomond Hotel en route to Edinburgh never thinking that one day I'd be a guest.The hotel was much bigger than I remember.
The single room had everything I needed and was clean.
The restaurant facilities and food were excellent and was one of the best breakfasts and dinner I've had in a long time.
The hotel staff were friendly and efficient and the owner was constantly making sure everything was in order.He was most helpful.
The only criticism if I had to make one is that the entrance from the main road needs updating.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and hope to return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello Karin W and thank you so much for taking the time to post such an encouraging review after your recent family stay with us at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
I'm delighted to read that memories of the 1950's have been rekindled when you were here!
It is really pleasing to know that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast so much that they rank as the best you have had for a long time. How nice of you to say that!
It's also great to know that you found our excellent staff (best assets we have) friendly and attentive to your requirements.
I can't, however, work out what you mean about the front entrance needing to be updated. The hotel was built in 1733 and the huge amount of improvements I have carried out since buying it ten years ago have been sympathetic to the age of the building, both inside and out, to maintain it's character. I really want the place to be welcoming, comfortable and not like a modern, plastic "Holiday Express Lodge" type of hotel.
I am delighted, however, that you enjoyed your stay so much and have happy memories to remember that you plan on a return trip. We certainly look forward to looking after you again.
Best wishes from all of us and thank you very much again for your lovely review.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    107
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
138
198
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We recently stayed and a great time was had by all , staff very friendly and helpful, excellent choice at meal times, rooms very comfortable and the facilities and hospitality second to none overall great stay and we will be back . Strathclyde Finest Bowlers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Well hello to Strathclyde's Finest and to Grace G in particular!
I'm so glad to know that you all survived your bowling trip to Fife and made it home safely (I'm a bit surprised you didn't leave anyone behind!!!).
It was a pleasure looking after such a jovial party at the weekend. In a group of 29 as you were, there are normally one or two that are difficult to please, despite our best efforts but not on this occasion. It's great to know that each and every member returned home with happy memories.
I am especially pleased that you found our wonderful staff "friendly and helpful". That is exactly what is impressed on them constantly, despite the fact I know they are so good at it!
We all look forward to your next visit and wish your team success for the season ahead.
Best wishes and thanks for your kind review.
Ronnie and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here due to attending a wedding and they contacted us prior to see if we wanted a table for evening meal (which are very popular!) and reserved one until we called them back to confirm. The rooms have a decent hair dryer and heating with hot chocolate as well as tea and coffee in the room which was a bonus. Staff were lovely and the wedding was great too. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello Debsmurray and many many thanks indeed for your kind review.
It's great to know that our fab staff looked after you (they are the best thing about my hotel) and that you had a enjoyed the wedding which really was a huge success, with the Bride and Groom were so happy when they left on Sunday.
It's nice to know that the little extras in our bedrooms (a good hairdryer means everything to ladies in their hour of need ha ha) added to your comfort.
Thanks for your five star review and hopefully we can look after you again soon.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The overall impression is of a very welcoming hotel,. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the cuisine excellent - a large menu with plenty of choices. Room prices are on the high side, but there are on-site facilities included in the price - for example a gymnasium and swimming pool which make this an above-average hotel. It is very much `in the country` but for many people this would be an advantage. A short car drive will take you to all the main towns, including the city of St Andrews.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you very much David S for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
I always say that our brilliant staff are the best assets we have here and I am so happy to learn that they looked after you so well. Thanks also for stating that you were so pleased with our extensive menu and the food you selected. We have a string of superb suppliers (fresh butcher and fish supplies six days per week).
The hotel dates back to 1733 and, as you say, is located in a beautiful village but is within easy reach of Perth, St Andrews (where the prices are markedly higher than ours!), Dundee and Edinburgh so there is no shortage of places to see and visit.
Glad too that you enjoyed our leisure centre and we all look forward to looking after you on your next visit.
Best wishes and thanks again.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I recently stayed for a few days at The Lomond Hills Hotel in Fruechie. The welcome was warm to say the least, with outstanding hospitality and friendly service throughout. The restaurant has an exceptional menu, and the food was incredible.

I'll be back, and looking forward to it.

Paul

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks a million Paul D for your wonderful review.
We strive very hard to ensure all our visitors and guests have a relaxing, enjoyable stay and it makes it all worthwhile to hear that we achieve that aim.
I am particularly delighted to read that you found our wonderful staff so attentive and that you enjoyed the food we serve.
I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lomond Hills Hotel on your next visit to Fife.
Best regards and thanks again.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The owner and staff at this very friendly hotel try very hard to make your stay enjoyable .Two recent single night stays have confirmed this

.. whilst the standards of bathrooms with individual rooms vary ,reflecting perhaps an ongoing programme of refurbishment the cleanliness and general ambience is good .

some rooms seem to to be susceptible to noise however

The excellent relatively compact swimming pool with sauna are very welcome, and available at an early hour --useful for business visitors .


the choice of breakfast ingredients which are effectively and promptly served whilst varied, are somewhat uninteresting and lack an obvious local food sourcing connection

i look forward to staying again in the near future

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back or side of the hotel which may then be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howardfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you howardfarm for taking the time to review The Lomond Hills Hotel after your recent stays with us.
You are quite correct when you say that we are almost done with a bathroom renovation project and that some bathrooms are more modern than others but cleanliness is not compromised!
I'm delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our swimming pool, sauna and spa. Don't forget on your next visit that we also have a large gym ha ha!
It's nice to know also that you found our breakfast is served "effectively and promptly". I can't, however, understand that you found the choice "uninteresting and lacking in local food connections"..................!!!
Just to let our many readers and yourself a little insight into our breakfast product suppliers....here goes (a little laugh here).
Our porridge is milled three miles from the hotel.
Our sausages, bacon and black pudding travel all of four miles from our "local" butcher.
The delicious, huge, free range eggs we serve with breakfast are from a farm less than four miles away, often delivered the same day they are laid!!!
Bloomer bread used as required at breakfast and potato scones come from a small craft bakery in Perth (20 minutes journey time).
Our delicious smoked haddock and kippers are purchased from a traditional fishmonger in St. Monans in The East Neuk of Fife.
We serve local soft fruit in summer (strawberries and raspberries) with locally made pancakes and Fife cream........granted with Canadian Maple Syrup. Outwith local fruit season I have to admit we serve Spanish blueberries.
In season, we always have a large basket of fresh fruit on the breakfast table, with apples from the garden next door to the hotel and plums and pears from local trees.
I have tried (unsuccessfully to date) to source Scottish bananas, oranges and mandarins but will keep searching for one. If you can help here I'd be delighted to know about them!

I hope you and other readers can see, with a little mirth involved, that we do indeed have not one but many "Local Food Sourcing Connections".

I look forward to your next stay and hope you enjoy the breakfast offerings.
Best wishes and thanks again for your kind review.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed just the one night. Very friendly welcome, room just fine, dinner excellent & spoiled for choice being both vegetarian. Breakfast equally as good, lovely relaxed but effecient atmosphere , can't to find an excuse to go back. It' a really good 3 star and good value for money situated in a lovely old village.

Helpful?
Thank Reikibob
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Reikibob.
I am delighted to read your review after your recent stay with us at The Lomond Hills Hotel...."friendly and fabulous" is indeed a great accolade, especially from a seasoned Tripadvisor reviewer. We all strive to be friendly but unobtrusive toward our guests and if we can be fabulous at the same time we have hit the jackpot!!! Thanks for that.
It's nice to know that you were happy with our range of vegetarian options on our menu (I know you especially enjoyed the Full Vegetarian Breakfast ha ha).
I have pinned a copy of your review on our staff notice board as everyone likes a wee pat on the back for their efforts from time to time.
As you say, Freuchie is a charming village in a gorgeous part of Fife so hopefully you will be able to find that excuse to return soon. We look forward to looking after you again soon.
Best wishes and thanks again for your kind review.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
2.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
511 reviews
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
828 reviews
13.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
17.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Property: Lomond Hills Hotel
Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie
Lomond Hills Hotel Freuchie, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing