We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just passing by”
Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lomond Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We needed a room and it was on our way so we called in on chance and we were lucky.What a good choice we made. The reception by the staff was great. Our host new a bit about Australia and soon made us feel at home. We met 2 other Aussie couples at the bar, and to our surprise the staff had raised the Aussie flag on the front of the pub next to theirs. Overall very happy and would recommend it to any one going this way. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kandace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

G'Day Sports and what a brasser of a review....thank you! It was a pleasure looking after you during your short stay with us.
I love flying the flag for our many foreign visitors as a welcome to Scotland, which always goes down well and as a result there must be hundreds of photos of The Lomond Hills Hotel around the world now.
I enjoyed my chats with you which brought back happy memories of trips to Oz. Glad to know that you got home safely with warm memories of your visit to Scotland.
Best wishes, Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Lomond Hills Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel - our second visit there. Comfortable, well maintained rooms with all the usual amenities. Good quality breakfasts served by efficient and friendly staff. We also had some very nice dinners. Real ales available in bar. Owner, Ronnie, very welcoming.

Freuchie is a picturesque village and well situated for exploring the many attractions of Fife.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Many thanks Lyndsay_13 from all the team at The Lomond Hills Hotel for your very kind review. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your trip to Fife, a truly wonderful part of the world!
I am pleased that our Real Ales went down well.... they take a bit TLC to look after but the effort is worth it with the many compliments we receive. They mix well with our range of over 50 Scotch Malt Whiskies that we stock.
I hope that we have the opportunity to spoil you again on your next visit.
Best wishes and thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed there for five nights. The rooms are on the smaller side, but the staff and particularly Ronnie the owner set the tone to make the stay of our group of eight golfers a wonderful experience. These people could not be friendlier. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much coloman_13 for your extremely encouraging review! I am particularly pleased to raise your kind praise for our fab staff. I always say that the employees form the best asset we have and I too am delighted with the jobs each and very one of our team perform. The Lomond Hills Hotel dates back to 1733 so I am very much aware that the continual on going improvements and day to day maintenance of such an old building occasionally lead to slight shortfalls in standards expected by our guests but the staff more than compensate for those.
I am delighted that your golf party enjoyed their stay and look forward to welcoming you all back on your next trip to the world's number one golf destination here in Fife!!!
Best regards to all and thanks again.
Ronnie..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Absolutely fantastic day at the Lomond Hills Hotel, the staff were extremely helpful on the day and also before the wedding. Nicole and Mark were able to choose what they wanted for their meals and didn't have to stick to a set menu which was extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The meal was delicious and we weren't kept waiting between courses. The function room was laid out beautifully and there was plenty of room for everybody on the tables. Guests weren't kept too long when the function room was being cleared for the Evening Reception and were invited through to the Lounge Bar to wait. The rooms were clean and tidy the bed comfortable and the en suite was also very clean. It is obvious the staff work to a very high standard and care about the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. A huge selection available and again the staff extremely helpful. This was a very special day for my daughter and it was made a day to remember for the rest of our lives. My husband and I had our wedding reception here in 1987 and so it meant a lot to us that my daughter had chosen this venue which lived up to our expectations and more. Thank you again for looking after us all and making this special day one we will never forget. Jacqui and Sandy Peebles

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks you JacquiP for your "wonderful review" after a "wonderful day" at The Lomond Hills Hotel. We are all over the moon that your daughter and new son in law had a fantastic time (as did your guests) and left with happy memories for ever.
It was such a pleasure looking after everyone and so rewarding, after all the hard work and planning that goes into a wedding day, to see you all leave looking so happy.
I would like to wish Nicole and Mark all that is good in their new life together.
Best wishes and thanks again for taking the time to post your kind review.
Ronnie and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I would like to thank Ronnie, Faye and Erica for looking after us during our beautiful wedding on Friday. We had the perfect day and the staff were absolutely fantastic, looking after us and our guests. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the conservatory in which we had our ceremony was perfect and the Adams suite was set up beautifully for our meal and then again at night for our reception. The turn around from the meal to the reception was slick and efficient meaning our guests weren't left waiting around for too long. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff even when we forgot a few things like charms at the last minute! Our wedding meal was beautifully cooked and served very swiftly, as were the stovies at night!

Our room was beautiful, comfortable bed and everything was very clean and tidy. Breakfast the next morning was served quickly and was again absolutely delicious.

I would recommend the hotel again and again for functions, meals and for a nights stay and we couldn't fault them. Thank you so much for allowing us to use your venue for our special day and looking after us so perfectly.

Nicole and Mark Bell

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hello Mr and Mrs Bell and wow....what a wonderful review. Thank you!
Any good review is very welcome but such a "perfect" review from a bride and groom is especially rewarding as we realise your wedding day is the most exciting and important day of your lives.
The fact that you and your guests left with happy memories that last a lifetime personally gives me a kick that we did our job so well.
I always say that it makes our job so much easier to look after nice people and that was certainly the case last Friday. It was a pleasure looking after such a stunning bride and your guests.
All of the team at The Lomond Hills wish you both a happy, long and healthy life together and thank you for choosing to hold your big day with us. I am very much aware that there are lots of venues to choose from.
Congratulations again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Excellent service, facilities above expectations, location very good for area, nothing to much trouble for the staff. Dinning lots of options and extremely flexible Gym had everything needed and a pleasant relaxing swim after.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidkni31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear davidkni31.
It was nice to see you again on your recent return visit and we are all delighted with your very kind review....thank you!
I'm pleased to read that you enjoy using our gym and swimming pool and our choice of dinner.
Looking forward to your next stay and thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Faultless. Very friendly family run and family oriented hotel. Stayed over for my brother's wedding and would recommend to anyone. Great staff, welcome and hospitality. I can personally endorse the kippers for breakfast!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank timandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Many thanks timandjoy for taking the time to write such a great review after your stay with us at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
It was such a pleasure looking after you both and it's good to know that you enjoyed the wedding. It is always pleasing that guests leave after a wedding with happy memories that last a life time.
Glad to read that you recommend the kippers for breakfast!!!
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to look after you again on your next trip to Fife.
Thanks again and very best wishes from all of us.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
2.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
530 reviews
13.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
853 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range: £83 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie
Lomond Hills Hotel Freuchie, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing