We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”
Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lomond Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recently stayed & attended a wedding reception at this hotel... couldn't rate it any higher, staff were really helpful with excellent service, food was delicious & hotel itself was very clean & comfortable

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsbund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear mrsbund.
It was with great satisfaction that I read your review after your trip to stay with us for the wedding. Thank you!
I am doubly delighted that you enjoyed the wedding so much and your stay with us. I always say that our staff are the best assets we have here so it's lovely to read that you agree we have a fantastic team dedicated to caring for our guests.
We all hope to have the chance to look after you again soon.
Best wishes and thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Lomond Hills Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights here. Our bed was firm but comfortable. Shower hot and efficient. Liked the lime and lemon shower gel.
Lovely sitting area on the 1st floor. Wifi was free and very useful.
Breakfast was lovely. My teenage son particularly likes the pancakes with maple syrup and bacon.
We had dinner on Friday evening, good choice and quality. Husband liked the local Drover Ale.
Son likes Hunters Chicken which was only available on the high tea menu, but the Cajun chicken was served with BBQ sauce as a very acceptable alternative.
Staff very friendly and helpful, the owner, Ronnie seemed to be always on duty.
My nephew's wedding on Saturday was excellent, food good and hot despite a large number of people to serve.
Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel, nearest the road but we did not have any problem with traffic noi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolBeachlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello BristolBeachlover and thanks a million for your very kind review....from a senior tripadvisor reviewer too!!!
It was great for us looking after you and I am delighted that you enjoyed the fabulous wedding day here with us at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
Bride and Groom over the moon, guests all happy....job done for us!
The new addition of pancakes to our already varied breakfast menu was obviously well received too so many thanks for that.
Best wishes and very many thanks, we hope to see you again soon.
Ronnie and all the team of heroes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We needed to stay in a hotel due to work being carried out in our house. This was potentially a very stressful time for us, but Ronnie, Fay and the rest of the staff made us all feel very at home. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They were particularly good at making sure our children were happy and settled. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the food was delicious, but it's the friendly and attentive atmosphere that makes this hotel a very special place. I would recommend the Lomond Hills Hotel to anyone visiting Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hello Jane G and family and lots of thanks for posting such a positive review, it's very much appreciated.
What a disaster for you all that your house was flooded (hope the drains are now ok).
We all know staying in a hotel under such circumstances is not the same as being in your own home but it's great to know that during such a stressful time, you were happy and able to relax a bit here at The Lomond hills Hotel.
I know the kids, at times, felt that they were on holiday which is so sweet.
I look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Best wishes to all of you on your return home.
Ronnie and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Thank you Ronnie you made our trip excellent . I also must mentioned The front desk staff , A little rigorous about the hours of operation , but nice touch about the French and Scots flags .Again thank you all . Keep it up .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Allez France et merci beaucoup!
Thank you regard2014 for your review.
The Auld Alliance between France and Scotland is still alive and kicking and we look forward to your next visit to stay with us in Fife.
I am happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday and plan to return soon.
Bientot.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We recently had our wedding reception and a ceilidh in the Lomond Hills.From start to finish Ronnie the owner and Erica asst manager could not have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they clearly have plenty of experience in weddings. They were very helpful in the planning stages and gave us plenty of useful advice which was very reassuring.On the day Ronnie kept everyone right and was very welcoming to us and our guests. The staff were very well organised and Tracey had made sure the function room and tables were nicely decorated and took good care of my cake! The food both at dinner and the evening reception was excellent and all our guests had a great time. On the day we knew we were in safe hands and everything was taken care of so we did not have to worry about anything. We would recommend the Lomond Hills as a super venue as well as being good value to anyone planning their wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much Fiona M for your fab review after you wedding with us at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
A happy bride....nothing else I can add to that!!!
Best wishes for your life together. We all wish you health and happiness.
Ronnie et al.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We needed a room and it was on our way so we called in on chance and we were lucky.What a good choice we made. The reception by the staff was great. Our host new a bit about Australia and soon made us feel at home. We met 2 other Aussie couples at the bar, and to our surprise the staff had raised the Aussie flag on the front of the pub next to theirs. Overall very happy and would recommend it to any one going this way. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kandace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

G'Day Sports and what a brasser of a review....thank you! It was a pleasure looking after you during your short stay with us.
I love flying the flag for our many foreign visitors as a welcome to Scotland, which always goes down well and as a result there must be hundreds of photos of The Lomond Hills Hotel around the world now.
I enjoyed my chats with you which brought back happy memories of trips to Oz. Glad to know that you got home safely with warm memories of your visit to Scotland.
Best wishes, Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel - our second visit there. Comfortable, well maintained rooms with all the usual amenities. Good quality breakfasts served by efficient and friendly staff. We also had some very nice dinners. Real ales available in bar. Owner, Ronnie, very welcoming.

Freuchie is a picturesque village and well situated for exploring the many attractions of Fife.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Many thanks Lyndsay_13 from all the team at The Lomond Hills Hotel for your very kind review. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your trip to Fife, a truly wonderful part of the world!
I am pleased that our Real Ales went down well.... they take a bit TLC to look after but the effort is worth it with the many compliments we receive. They mix well with our range of over 50 Scotch Malt Whiskies that we stock.
I hope that we have the opportunity to spoil you again on your next visit.
Best wishes and thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
2.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
531 reviews
13.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
854 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range: £84 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie
Lomond Hills Hotel Freuchie, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing